Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

The Deepest Secret

By Carla Buckley
ISBN-13: 9780345535245
Publisher: Random House Publishing 
Publication date: 2/4/2014
My Rating: 5 Stars
 
For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay,
 
The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.
 
Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.
 
Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control—and some secrets that not even love can conceal. Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful,
 
The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power—a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.  
 
 

My Review

 
Wow! The Deepest Secret was true to its name in so many ways! Everyone has a secret and family members are protecting one another. This is my first book by Carla and was blown away! I had a 12 hr drive ahead of me, and the audio kept me engaged for the duration of my long road trip from NC to South Florida. 
 
Without giving away the details – the novel was brilliantly written, emotional and suspenseful from beginning to end. There was so much going on with each of the characters, drawing you in to uncover each of their secrets. Reminds me of Wisteria Lane, (Desperate Housewives), as you never know what goes on behind closed doors.
 
The family dynamics were at an all- time high in this neighborhood! I especially loved the character, Tyler and his daily struggle with the rare condition of XP and UV rays, living in darkness. In addition, his mom, Eve was a strong woman, making it her life’s mission and obsession to protect her son at all costs.
 
The Deepest Secret is about love and forgiveness and family. You cannot even put yourself in this family’s position, until you live their life. A page turner, this novel would be ideal for book clubs and further discussions from different viewpoints of the characters. 
 
I have read all of Jodi Picoult’s books and a huge fan, and yes, if you love her work, you will love this compelling – “The Deepest Secret” (movie worthy)! I look forward to reading more from this talented author!
 
Review Links: 
Goodreads
Booklikes
Feb 2014 Must Reads 
Buy the Book 
Top 30 Books of 2014 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins