Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

The Inn At Last Chance

By Hope Ramsay
ISBN: 781455522316
Publisher: Forever (Grand Central Publishing)
Publication Date: 4/29/2014
Series: Last Chance #7
Format: e-book
My Rating: 4 Stars
 
"Last Chance captures the essence of Southern charm and quirkiness. I'm totally captivated!" --- Sherryl Woods, New York Times bestselling author
 
Jenny Carpenter is the unrivaled pie-baking champion of Last Chance, South Carolina's annual Watermelon Festival and the town's unofficial spinster. With her dream of marriage and children on hold, she focuses on another dream, turning the local haunted house into a charming bed-and-breakfast. But her plans go off course when the home's former owner shows up on her doorstep on a dark and stormy night . . .
 
 
Mega-bestselling horror writer Gabriel Raintree is as mysterious and tortured as his heroes. His family's long-deserted mansion is just the inspiration he needs to finish his latest twisted tale, or so he thinks until he learns it's been sold. The new innkeeper proves to be as determined as she is kind, and soon Gabriel finds himself a paying guest in his own home. As Jenny and Gabe bring new passion to the old house, can she convince him to leave the ghosts of his past behind-and make Last Chance their first choice for a future together?
 
 

My Review 

 
A special thanks to Forever (Grand Central Publishing) and NetGalley for providing a complimentary ARC in exchange for an honest review.
 
My first book by Hope Ramsay, as was drawn to the B&B sign (nice cover), as tend to gravitate to this subject, as a marketing consultant, having worked with many bed and breakfast inns across the country, as well as hotels. There is always some sort of action (guests and owners) within the walls of these quaint establishments.

The Inn at Last Chance, SC definitely adds some flavor for the “haunted” and mystery inn lovers at the old Jonquil House, when persistent Gabriel shows up on a rainy stormy night at Jenny’s door step, prior to opening her charming inn.

Jenny does not like this annoying interruption to her plans for establishing her new business, and all her well laid plans and preparations for baking, website, gardens, marketing, and all the fun things to do when running a new B&B.

However, mysterious Gabrielle (the former owner’s grandson), is a successful mystery thriller writer and best-selling author, in dire need of seclusion (writers’s block) and wants to rent a room long term to finish his next twisted book, in order to meet his deadlines, as he feels the old family mansion would provide inspiration. 

Jenny is torn, as she does not want this rude and demanding guy intruding on her space; however, the money will be good, as he can afford it.

She allows him to move in and shortly thereafter the ghost and haunting begins (a light version), just to make the novel interesting. There are secrets from Gabrielle’s past he has to confront, regarding a tragedy and his brother’s death some twenty something years ago. Zeph, another characters- the family handyman was involved with a connection to ghosts and battered animals. 

Through all of this drama, somehow Gabrielle and Jenny provide some romance and sparks to this old haunted house, and become close while they figure out the mystery, and learn more about themselves in the process. Jenny has to convince Gabrielle to leave his ghosts behind in order to move forward. 

A light easy Southern small town read with quirky characters, some romance, and newfound writer, which I enjoyed. Look forward to reading more from this author, and may go back and pick up the earlier books in the Last Chance series.

Fans of Sherryl Woods, Mariah Stewart, Susan Mallery, Debbie Macomber, and Nora Roberts would enjoy this author and Home Sweet Home.
 
Goodreads
Booklikes
 
Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins