#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Inn At Last Chance

By Hope Ramsay
ISBN: 781455522316
Publisher: Forever (Grand Central Publishing)
Publication Date: 4/29/2014
Series: Last Chance #7
Format: e-book
My Rating: 4 Stars
 
"Last Chance captures the essence of Southern charm and quirkiness. I'm totally captivated!" --- Sherryl Woods, New York Times bestselling author
 
Jenny Carpenter is the unrivaled pie-baking champion of Last Chance, South Carolina's annual Watermelon Festival and the town's unofficial spinster. With her dream of marriage and children on hold, she focuses on another dream, turning the local haunted house into a charming bed-and-breakfast. But her plans go off course when the home's former owner shows up on her doorstep on a dark and stormy night . . .
 
 
Mega-bestselling horror writer Gabriel Raintree is as mysterious and tortured as his heroes. His family's long-deserted mansion is just the inspiration he needs to finish his latest twisted tale, or so he thinks until he learns it's been sold. The new innkeeper proves to be as determined as she is kind, and soon Gabriel finds himself a paying guest in his own home. As Jenny and Gabe bring new passion to the old house, can she convince him to leave the ghosts of his past behind-and make Last Chance their first choice for a future together?
 
 

My Review 

 
A special thanks to Forever (Grand Central Publishing) and NetGalley for providing a complimentary ARC in exchange for an honest review.
 
My first book by Hope Ramsay, as was drawn to the B&B sign (nice cover), as tend to gravitate to this subject, as a marketing consultant, having worked with many bed and breakfast inns across the country, as well as hotels. There is always some sort of action (guests and owners) within the walls of these quaint establishments.

The Inn at Last Chance, SC definitely adds some flavor for the “haunted” and mystery inn lovers at the old Jonquil House, when persistent Gabriel shows up on a rainy stormy night at Jenny’s door step, prior to opening her charming inn.

Jenny does not like this annoying interruption to her plans for establishing her new business, and all her well laid plans and preparations for baking, website, gardens, marketing, and all the fun things to do when running a new B&B.

However, mysterious Gabrielle (the former owner’s grandson), is a successful mystery thriller writer and best-selling author, in dire need of seclusion (writers’s block) and wants to rent a room long term to finish his next twisted book, in order to meet his deadlines, as he feels the old family mansion would provide inspiration. 

Jenny is torn, as she does not want this rude and demanding guy intruding on her space; however, the money will be good, as he can afford it.

She allows him to move in and shortly thereafter the ghost and haunting begins (a light version), just to make the novel interesting. There are secrets from Gabrielle’s past he has to confront, regarding a tragedy and his brother’s death some twenty something years ago. Zeph, another characters- the family handyman was involved with a connection to ghosts and battered animals. 

Through all of this drama, somehow Gabrielle and Jenny provide some romance and sparks to this old haunted house, and become close while they figure out the mystery, and learn more about themselves in the process. Jenny has to convince Gabrielle to leave his ghosts behind in order to move forward. 

A light easy Southern small town read with quirky characters, some romance, and newfound writer, which I enjoyed. Look forward to reading more from this author, and may go back and pick up the earlier books in the Last Chance series.

Fans of Sherryl Woods, Mariah Stewart, Susan Mallery, Debbie Macomber, and Nora Roberts would enjoy this author and Home Sweet Home.
 
Goodreads
Booklikes
 
Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Book Giveaway Contest

April 21-May 5, 2020

Enter Here

LITTLE SECRETS

Jennifer Hillier 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

D. J. Palmer

Jennifer Hillier

Charles Martin

John Hart

BA Paris

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date 
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins