WINE AND BOOKS GREAT OUTDOORS.jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

All Day and A Night

By Alafair Burke 
ISBN-13: 9780062208385
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: 6/10/14
Format: Audio
My Rating:  3 Stars
 
A murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads a young defense lawyer and an NYPD homicide detective into parallel investigations with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from "one of the finest young crime writers working today" (Dennis Lehane).
 
The latest story dominating New York tabloids—the murder of Park Slope psychotherapist Helen Brunswick—couldn't be further from Carrie Blank's world handling federal appeals at one of Manhattan's most elite law firms. But then a hard-charging celebrity trial lawyer calls Carrie with a case she can't refuse. Anthony Amaro, a serial killer convicted twenty years earlier, has received an anonymous letter containing a chilling detail about Brunswick's murder: the victim's bones were broken after she was killed, the same signature used in the murders attributed to Amaro. Now Amaro is asking to be released from prison.
 
Carrie has a reason to be interested. Her older sister, Donna, was one of Amaro's victims. Determined to force the government to catch Donna's real killer, Carrie joins Amaro's wrongful conviction team with her own agenda.
 
On the other side of Amaro's case is NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher, who, along with her partner, J. J. Rogan, is tapped as the "fresh look" team to reassess the investigation that led to Amaro's conviction. The case is personal for them, too: Ellie wonders whether they got the assignment because of her relationship with the lead prosecutor, and Rogan has his own reasons to distrust Amaro's defense team.
 
As the NYPD and Amaro's lawyers search for certainty among conflicting evidence, their investigations take them back to Carrie's hometown, where secrets buried long ago lead to a brutal attack—one that makes it terrifyingly clear that someone has gotten too close to the truth.
 
 

My Review

 

ALL DAY AND A NIGHT, an Ellie Hatcher Series #5, by Alafair Burke, opens with the shocking murder of psychotherapist Helen Brunswick, and complicates an old case, as NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher and attorney Carrie Blank both search for the truth from opposite sides of the law. The entire city suspects her estranged husband - until the District Attorney's office receives an anonymous letter.

Over a decade ago Anthony Amaro was tried and convicted for the murder of Donna Blank. She was the suspected fourth victim in a series of murders and the police were able to get a confession out of Amaro for her case. 

The letter's author knows a chilling detail that police have kept secret. Her injuries were similar to the signature used 20 years earlier by Anthony Amaro, a serial killer serving a life sentence for his crimes. Now, Amaro is asking to be released from prison, arguing that he was wrongly convicted, and that the true killer is still on the loose. Has suspected serial killer Anthony Amaro spent 18 years in New York’s Five Points Correctional Facility for a murder he didn’t commit?

Meanwhile Amaro has a top-notch defense attorney on his side as well as Donna Blank's sister. Carrie wants her sister's killer to pay for his crimes and knows that joining Amaro's team will allow her full access to the case files. 

NYPD Detectives Ellie Hatcher and J. J. Rogan are tapped as the "fresh look" team to reassess the original investigation that led to Amaro's conviction. They are asked by her District Attorney boyfriend, Max Donovan, to take a look at a long closed murder case. Hatcher and Rogan’s task is to take a fresh look at the case to see if anything was missed in the initial investigation. The case pits them against both their fellow officers and a hard-charging celebrity defense lawyer with a young associate Carrie.

As both the NYPD and Amaro's legal team search for certainty in years of conflicting evidence, their investigations take them back to Carrie's hometown and secrets left behind there. 

A psychological complex and multi-layered thriller, Burke’s ALL DAY AND A NIGHT raises larger questions about the choices we make, the mistakes we can’t undo. The author’s view of the criminal prosecution is skillfully designed with alternating perspectives of the detective and attorney. Fans of Lisa Gardner, Tess Gerritsen, Amanda Kyle Williams, and Karin Slaughter will enjoy the tough female police officer and complexities of the system.

The main reason I am not giving a higher ranking is due to the audiobook. Andi Arndt, the narrator’s voice was annoying as she tried to use her voice range for the different characters and did not connect, It took away from the overall story, combined with the fact I have not read the previous books in the series, which may have impacted my thoughts. 
 
Goodreads
Booklikes 

 

 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

BA Paris

Robyn Harding

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

Katherine Center

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

Amber Cowie

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date 
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins