Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

A Wedding on Ladybug Farm

By Donna Ball 
Series:  Ladybug Farm #6 
ASIN:  B00K5V51OO
Publisher:   Blue Merle Publishing
Publication Date: 05/21/14
Format:  e-book 
My Rating: 5 Stars
 
When Bridget, Cici and Lindsay left behind their safe suburban lives for a stately old mansion in the Shenandoah Valley, they redefined the concept of family. The friends, like the house, have faced many challenges and undergone major changes over the years. But the one thing they never imagined was that one day they would be expanding their house of women to make room for a husband. 
 
A second marriage in midlife is never easy, and Lindsay and Dominic know they will be facing their share of adjustments when they begin their life together. But she has the Vera Wang; she has a famous style columnist as her wedding planner; her best friend is the most popular caterer in the county, and she is marrying the love of her life. What could possibly go wrong? When the wedding takes place at Ladybug Farm, the answer is: almost anything. 
 
The three friends have weathered many storms together, but this one could shake the foundation of their life together. Only when they are faced with the loss of someone they all hold dear do they come to a renewed appreciation for the depth of their devotion to each other, the power of love, and the real meaning of family. 
 
 

My Review 

 
 
A WEDDING ON LADYBUG FARM (#6 Ladybug Farm Series), by Donna Ball is truly like a special gem, one to treasure and savor. If you have not read the Ladybug Farm series you are in for a treat, as it is captivating, addictive, and a Must Read series. Let’s hope this is not the last one, as these characters are just too darn good to end!
 
 
Loved catching up with all the gang at Ladybug Farm and Hummingbird House B&B guys! Each time I read a book in this heartwarming series, cannot imagine the next one being better than the previous; however, Donna Ball always surprises you each and every time with a new twist, making each unique and special.
 
 
I am not sure how I missed this latest book, as if I had known, would have pre-ordered or purchased it the day it was released. (Yes, it is that good)!   A Wedding on Ladybug Farm can be read as a standalone; however, would highly recommend you start from the first book, and read them in order, as you will fall in love with these flawed, but magical characters.
 
 
The front cover is spectacular, as depicts the beauty and splendor of this lovely farm, the warm souls, good friends (old and new), family, the gardens, animals, the farm, smashing events, and the delightful epicurean tidbits of fine food and wine. Readers will laugh and cry, as they see each character grow and mature throughout the series, while making you feel a part of this close knit group of friends. 
 
 
Bridget, Cici, and Lindsay left their suburban lives behind and purchased and restored an old mansion in the Shenandoah Valley, as they embraced rural farm living from the first book, bringing their skills and knowledge, and some old friends from the city (Paul and Derrick the gay guys-- you will love who own the nearby Hummingbird House B&B Inn). 
 
 
They also have developed new friends along the way; old housekeeper Ida May, and Farley who can fix anything for ten dollars, and of course their grown children, always drop in (Lori, Kevin, Noah) and now the new winery, The Tasting Table restaurant with tourists, gifts, souvenirs, gardens, events, entertaining, and bottles of wine, and of course the famous porch of the main house lined with rocking chairs, for their nightly gathering, and now, planning the upcoming marriage of Lindsay and Dominic. It has always been the three woman against the world, and now that Dominic is stepping in, will things change?
 
 
A WEDDING ON LADYBUG FARM, brings you surprises you did not see coming, with a new love interest, which will make you laugh and cry (and I am not talking about Lindsay/Dominic) no spoilers there—what a great twist! Of course, with a wine operation, event planning, upcoming wedding, renovations, and crazy farm animals out of control; always chaos and obstacles around every corner. 
 
 
From holiday lights, halls filled with laughter and music, noisy mealtimes, busy days, tractors, hammers swinging, gardens, vines, fruit trees, baskets of strawberries, intoxicating scents from the kitchen, and dreams of those inside the big house, and soothing comforts of home and laughter, all to warm your heart.
 
 
Fans of the Ladybug Farm series will get to catch up with all the lovable characters, as they all come home to celebrate. The series is for every woman who ever had a dream, or a friend. If you have not read The Hummingbird House (A spin off of Ladybug Farm Series), it is outstanding as well, and highly recommend! 
 
 
Donna Ball, a highly talented author, with personality and passion. This woman knows her way around the kitchen, renovations, design, gardens, farm, and one phenomenal writer, as she so eloquently describes each setting, drawing you into every scene. You can almost smell the flowers and feel the breeze, and wish you were a part of the nightly group on the rocking chairs, filled with laughter, sipping wine or coffee, and discussing the day’s events and planning the next. I want to be there!
 
 
I think I speak for all of Donna’s fans, you are inspiring and the Blue Ridge Mountains (which I love as well), definitely is your solace – keep up the great work and cannot wait for the next book. I have not read the Raine Stockton Dog Mystery Series, so think I will start on this series next, and then move on to her chilling suspense series, and then the romance. 
 
 
As everyone likes to say on Ladybug Farm, “You never know where a dream might take you,” and Donna has definitely taken us there! 
 
 
Fans of Wendy Wax, Beth Hoffman, Eileen Goudge, and Mary Kay Andrews will love this series, a journey and adventure filled with wit, tragedy, charm, and lots of love!
 
 
I definitely agree with one of the other reviewers,THE LADYBUG FARM series should be a mini-series. If Cedar Cove can make it, LADYBUG FARM needs to be front and center. Can you imagine the cast and all the viewers? Fantastic! 
 
I think this was my favorite book, thus far (of course, I say this each time). Again, please oh please, do not let this series end. (Possibly bring in Dominic's children, or more from Lori, Kevin, Noah or new love interest for Cici or Bridget, Ida May's past to surface, new stories of the winery, the tasting room, and of course more from the B&B Inn guys, and their guests).
 
Goodreads
Booklikes
May Must Reads

 

 
 
 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date