Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

When We Fall

By Emily Liebert
ISBN 0451419456
Publication Date: 9/2/2014  
Publisher: NAL Trade
Format:  Other
My Rating:  4 Stars 
 
LOVE LOST, LOVE FOUND Ready for a fresh start,  Allison Parker moves back to her hometown in the suburbs of New York. While she’d once savored the dynamic pace of city life, sadly, it lost its allure after her husband’s untimely death. Now, ready to focus on her art career accompanied by her ten-year-old son, Logan, Allison doesn’t anticipate that her past will resurface.
 
When the wife of her husband’s best friend from summer camp takes her under her wing, things begin to spin out of control.At one time, Charlotte Crane thought she had it all—a devoted husband, a beautiful little girl, and enough financial security to never have to worry. But behind her perfect facade lie a strained marriage and a fractured relationship with her sister.
 
When new girl Allison arrives in Wincourt, Charlotte welcomes the chance to build a friendship. Before long, Charlotte begins to see her life through Allison’s eyes, and the cracks in her seemingly flawless existence become impossible to ignore.As Allison heals from the loss of her husband—even wondering if she might be ready to date again—Charlotte feels more distant from her loved ones than ever before.
 
The emerging friendship between the two women appears to be just the antidote both of them so desperately need...until everything falls apart.  
 
 

My Review 

 

 

When We Fall by Emily Liebert, is a thought-provoking, complex, witty, and emotionally honest realistic account of flawed female friendships and relationships; what it is like to fall, when things get complicated, and back up--to survive, stronger than ever. 
 
 
When We Fall revolves around two women in transition: one recently widowed young mother returning to her suburban hometown, and her new best friend whose life only looks perfect on the outside. Their friendship seems to be just what they both need, until it falls apart.
 
 
After the death of Allison Parker’s husband, Jack—she and her son, Logan move from Manhattan to her hometown of suburbs of Wincourt, New York. Allison feels being closer to her family, will allow her to focus on her art career, and give her time away from her memories of Jack to begin healing.
 
 
In an attempt to feel connected, Allison befriends, Logan’s classmate (Gia)’s mom, Charlotte, married to her late husband’s best friend, Charlie. Their friendship includes a lot of differences and issues began to surface, as it would appear Charlotte and Charlie’s marriage—not so perfect. Charlotte’s sister Elizabeth also befriends Allison, and silly jealousy occurs between the two sisters and things spiral out of control. 
 
 
Where some things are not as they appear on the exterior, Emily explores the good, bad, bitches, nasty gossip, insecurities, name dropping, the judgmental and petty actions, misunderstandings, shallowness, jealousy, backbiting, and the all ugly truths of women, emotions, female friendships, and relationships (women are as mean as teens in high school);as they journey to being true sisters and friends, for a heartwarming and contemporary novel of surviving loss and love.
 
 
Fans of Emily Giffin, Jane Green, and Sarah Pekkanen, will enjoy, as well as readers of chick-lit, drama, and female relationships involving wives, mothers, sisters, and friendships. 
 
 
I love the reference to Canyon Ranch, (what an escape), as I love it and wish I could be there, right now! Tucson and Miami Beach. If you have not been, highly recommend! 
 
 
If you have not read Emily Liebert's You Knew Me When, would highly recommend as she takes readers from New York to Vermont. A poignant story of friendship and the struggles of sacrificing yourself for your friends, or staying true to your heart to do the right thing.
 
Goodreads
BookLikes
Sept Must Reads
 
 
 
 
 
Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins