#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

As Close as Sisters

By Colleen Faukner
ISBN: 9780758255716
Publisher: Kensington Books  
Publication Date:  10/28/2014
Format:  Paperback
My Rating:  3.5 Stars
 
Since the age of twelve, McKenzie Arnold has spent every summer at Albany Beach, Delaware, with her best friends Aurora, Janine, and Lilly. The seaside house teems with thirty years of memories--some wonderful, others painful--and secrets never divulged beyond its walls. This summer may be the last they spend together, as Janine contemplates selling her family cottage.
 
For now, all four enjoy morning beach walks and lazy evenings on the porch, celebrating Lilly's longed-for pregnancy and offering support during McKenzie's greatest crisis. It's a time for laughter and recriminations, a time to forge a new understanding of a long-ago night when Aurora sealed their bond with one devastating act. And as the days gradually shorten, events will unfold in ways that none of them could have predicted, to make this the most momentous summer of all.
 
In a deeply moving novel filled with heartbreak and warmth, Colleen Faulkner explores the complex ties between four very different women as they move through life together, and apart.
 
 

My Review 

 
A special thank you to Kensington Books  and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 
 
A heartwarming and moving novel As Close as Sisters, by Colleen Faulkner of four best friends with a dark secret.
 
 
McKenzie Arnold has thyroid cancer and has worked its way into her lungs. Her best friends (Aurora, Janine, and Lilly) are set to arrive at the beach cottage (circa 1935) on Albany Beach, Delaware. She decides she will arrive a day early in order to rest up so can enjoy the visit, and open the house to prepare. The house sets empty during the year, and they are the only guests.
 
 
They all keep a journal of their annual visit, and she thinks she should get a pass on writing; however, Aurora disagrees, as she thinks I should take my turn, while the option is still available. They call themselves girls, even though they are forty-two years old. The house holds so many memories and this will most likely be the last visit, as Janine is thinking of selling the family cottages. Each time she walks in the house, she panics with past memories. 
 
 
Mackenzie, former head librarian, is the mother of twin teen daughters (age 17), Mia/Maura divorced, and has thyroid and lung cancer. Her husband has remarried with a child and supports them; still has her humor even with the illness, and sometimes is not realistic about her condition. A keeper of secrets. 
 
 
Janine suffers from sexual abuse as a child, now a cop, like her father; offers her control; something she did not have as a child; oldest of the friends, and protective.
 
 
Lilian (Lilly) is the only one in the group who is married and at age forty-two is expecting her first child. She handles the meals, the most sensitive of the group. 
 
 
Aurora is the free spirited of the group, an internationally celebrated sculptor and artist, and appears to be the strongest of the group.
 
 
So many things have happened over the years, after Buddy died, (Sergeant at the Albany Beach Police Dept), after Janine cut her hair, after Lily lost her mom, after Mackenzie became an ordinary person she never wanted to be. 
 
 
Now, the girls enjoy their time together, as each have their own tragedies, loss, loves, and joy with their own unique personalities. As they work towards renewing their friendship, and reinvention, secrets are revealed after a tragedy of one night years ago. A deeply moving novel exploring the complexities of relationships and friendships. 
 
 
Fans of Holly Chamberlain, Elin Hilderbrand, and Nancy Thayer will enjoy. Nice cover! 
 
Goodreads
BookLikes
Tumblr Book Blog
Oct Must Reads
Buy the Book 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

BA Paris

Katherine Center

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date