WINE AND BOOKS GREAT OUTDOORS.jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

Run

By  Andrew Grant

ISBN: 9780345540720
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine 
Publication Date:  10/07/2014 
Format:  Hardcover 
My Rating:  4 Stars
  
For fans of Harlan Coben’s Tell No One and Joseph Finder’s Paranoia—a high-octane thriller featuring a tech consultant who unwittingly steps into the rabbit hole of corporate cover-ups—and finds that his highly demanding job has suddenly become highly dangerous.
 
From Andrew Grant, the critically acclaimed author hailed by Nelson DeMille as “a little bit of le Carré and Ian Fleming, but with more grit and a sharper edge,” comes a thrilling new novel of suspense that hits the ground running when an innocent man suddenly finds himself a moving target.
 
Marc Bowman, a highly successful computer consultant and software designer, walks into his job at a major tech company one morning only to find himself fired on the spot, stonewalled by his boss, and ushered out of the building. Then things get worse: An explosive argument drives his wife away and a robbery threatens to yank a million-dollar idea—and his whole future—out from under him. In a matter of hours, Marc has gone from having it all to being sucker-punched by fate. But it’s only Monday, and before the week is over, he’ll be stalked, ambushed, wiretapped, arrested, duped, double- and triple-crossed—until he can’t tell enemies from allies.
 
Suddenly, the only thing standing between him and the wrath of everyone from the FBI to Homeland Security to his desperate ex-bosses is a flash drive full of data that might just be the holy grail of high-tech secrets—and a holy terror in the wrong hands. Now, as the gloves come off and the guns come out, turning back is hopeless and giving up is madness. The only person left for Marc to trust is himself. And the only thing left to do is keep running—or end up a dead man walking.

 

 

My Review

 
A special thank you to Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 
 
RUN by Andrew Grant, a fast-paced, non-stop thriller into the dangerous world of corporate cover-ups, technology and high stakes security. 3.5 stars
 
Marc Bowman, a successful IT consultant for AmeriTel (a huge communications company) is fired with no warning or cause, and his life begins to spin out of control. The previous day, Marc downloaded AmeriTel data to two flash drives to help him for his future use. Marc’s wife, Carolyn, is a senior employee of the firm and appears to side with the company, as she does not want to lose her job. (you will question this relationship throughout the book). She tries everything to get Marc to return the flash drives that contain AmeriTel data and a mysterious virus. 
 
 
What happens next is non-stop action for a week’s account of unfortunate mishaps. Things are missing from their home, strange people following him, government agencies are threatening him, he is stalked, ambushed, wiretapped, arrested, duped, double crossed and he does not know who to trust. As a consultant he needs to keep his reputation in order to move on with his other plans, as well as keep his life together. Then Carolyn goes missing. Without the money Carolyn was bringing home from AmeriTel, he would never be able to finance his first product. 
 
 
Marc is not equipped to deal with this disaster, he is in over his head, questioning everything; the cops, the FBI, the Department of Homeland Security—appears each have their own agenda and they do not seem to care about him. He is questioning his wife, and at time wonders if he is paranoid, caught up in a web of deceit he cannot control. 
 
 
You will wonder at times the bad, good, and ugly -- FBI, fakes, killers, to Homeland Security. Heart-pounding and razor sharp suspense; a techno thriller with adventurous twists and turns you do not see coming while Marc runs to stay alive. 
 
 
RUN, is an engrossing thriller using technology, prototypes, and security concerns, you need to read, as do not want to give away the plot (no spoilers). Do not give up, too early, when reading, as it gets frustrating and complicated; yet all becomes clear in the end. It has the action of a movie, versus a book, so be prepared.  Fans of his Grant’s brother, thriller writer-Lee Child will want to give brother a whirl.
 
Goodreads
Booklikes
Oct Must Reads
Tumblr Book Blog
Buy the Book 
 
 
 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Katherine Center

BA Paris

Robyn Harding

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

Amber Cowie

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date 
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins