#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

Christmas on 4th Street

By: Susan Mallery
Series:  Fool's Gold #12.5
ISBN: 9780373778997
Publisher:  Harlequin  
Publication Date: 10/28/2014
Format:  Paperback
My Rating:  3 Stars 
 
There's nowhere better to spend the holidays than with New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery in the town of Fool's Gold, where love is always waiting to be unwrapped. 
 
Noelle Perkins just got a second chance at life, and she intends to make the most of it. That's why she's opening her own store in Fool's Gold, California. The Christmas Attic celebrates everything that's magical about her favorite season. Business is booming, and as a bonus, gorgeous army doctor Gabriel Boylan has offered to help out during the holiday rush. 
 
Gabriel's memories of Christmas past contain more sour grapes than sugarplums, thanks to his drill sergeant father. Spending the holidays with his family while he recuperates from an injury sounds as appetizing as last year's eggnog. Still, there are some enjoyable distractions in town, including sunny, sexy Noelle…and the red-hot mistletoe kisses they can't stop sharing. 
 
Gabriel didn't think he was made for happily-ever-afters. But when fate hands you a love as sweet and surprising as this, only a fool could refuse….
 
 

My Review 

 
A special thank you to Harlequin and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 
 

A special thank you to Harlequin and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Susan Mallery's heartwarming Christmas on 4th Street, a contemporary romance of humor, friendship, and family redemption, set in the small eastern California town of Fool’s Gold with two different and engaging characters finding their own way and eventually to one another.
 
 
Dr. Gabriel Boylan, an Army physician having served tours in both Iraq and Afghanistan and Noelle Perkins, a former lawyer, now The Christmas Attic, a local Christmas store business owner. Two souls with tragedies and troubled past of their own. 
 
 
With not so pleasant memories of his childhood, army medic Gabriel isn't happy about spending the holidays in quaint Fool's Gold, CA, with his family. He is on medical leave, when his soon-to-be-married twin brother invites him, and he reluctantly accepts.
 
 
Gabriel has seen too much, losing someone very close to him and not able to give his heart nor looking to settle down. Gabriel comes to town for the holiday for a vacation, while recovering from an injury to his hand, while making a plea to his family to try and unite. The last thing he wants is a smiling sweet nice looking blonde.
 
 
Noelle, has been given a second chance at life and wants to live life to the fullest. She wants to settle down and get married, the opposite of Gabriel. Noelle and Gabriel meet when he is taking care of her friend Felicia's dog, nearly fainting at the sight of blood from the injury on his hand while wondering why this attractive man is in her friend's house. Gabriel ends up helping Noelle out in the store, while things heat up between the two.
 
 
I have read many of Mallery’s books and series; however, this is my first Fool’s Gold book. It can be read as a standalone for an enjoyable pre-Christmas story to get into the holiday spirit; however, sure fans will want to read them all to learn more about the background of the characters in this charming town.
 
 
As always, enjoy visiting small towns, especially Christmas shops, as nothing better to get you into the spirit. (Especially when you reside in South Florida where the weather is tropical and sunny). Reminds me of The Highlands in the mountains of NC, where I love to be, snuggled by a roaring fire, in a log cabin with a rocker, snow, and a good book! 
 
 
Fans of Mariah Stewart, Susan Wiggs and Sherryl Woods will enjoy the light read of small town charm of family and friends for a magical Christmas treat.
 
Goodreads
Booklikes
Oct Must Reads
Tumblr Book Blog
Buy the Book 
 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

BA Paris

Katherine Center

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date