WINE AND BOOKS GREAT OUTDOORS.jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

Scarred

By: Thomas Enger
ISBN:  9781451616514
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date:  11/04/2014
Format:  Other
My Rating:  5 Stars  
 
From the internationally bestselling author of Burned and Pierced comes a dark, thrilling novel that pits a crime reporter against demons from his past—and a killer with a keen taste for revenge.
 
A brutal killing: An elderly woman is found murdered in a nursing home in Oslo. Bjarne Brogeland, who heads up the investigation, soon realizes that he is on the trail of a meticulous killer who has only just begun his work.
 
An anonymous threat: Trine Juul-Osmundsen, Norway’s Secretary of State, is accused of sexually harassing a young male politician. As the allegations cause a media frenzy, Trine receives an anonymous threat telling her to resign. If she doesn’t, the truth about what she really did that night will be revealed.
 
A man on a mission: Embittered reporter Henning Juul finds himself torn between the two high profile cases. He wants to help Trine, who is his estranged sister, but as he digs into their shared past he discovers memories that haunt them both. Memories of a broken home. Memories of a dead father. And as the two cases collide, both of their worlds fall apart.
 
 

My Review 

 
A special thank you to Atria Books and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 
 
Scandinavia’s best crime writer, Thomas Enger’s  SCARRED,(Henning Juul #3), is an intense, riveting, and suspenseful page-turner, a crime and political thriller which reiterates why this talented writer and series is so "talked about" and popular. 

I would urge readers, especially in the US, to spend time reviewing Enger’s website. Norway’s sensation, is not only a talented writer, quite witty, and in addition, a successful composer (listen to his music – quite divine! Christian's theme is my favorite).

As usual, I get hooked on the new releases and devour previous books in a series. I have already purchased Burned (#1) and Pierced (#2), and look forward to reading more of this engrossing six –part book series.

Henning Juul, Thomas Enger's main protagonist, is a tortured, yet mysterious Norwegian internet newspaper reporter. He recently lost his son Jonas in a fire, burning down his flat and severely injuring Henning’s face. (a lot of background surrounding this yet to be unfolded). He is scarred both inside and out, and ridden by guilt. 

Henning Juul i has just returned to work after the tragedy. In addition, there is a lot of other action going on around him. One being his (the golden child)sister; they are estranged and he is not certain why, and a mother who blames him, an alcoholic. He still loves his ex-wife, but there is too much tragedy and memories in the past. He is intuitive and very observant, and perfect for an investigative reporter and he knows how to get to the root of problems and the story. (enjoyed how he draws out people, especially children). 

In the meantime, he is in the middle of several cases which overlap. Henning is about to resume his investigation into the fire that killed his son two years ago when his editor asks him to cover the murder of a demented woman, retired school teacher, in a nursing/care home.
 
The murder is being investigated and led by Inspector Bjarne Brogeland who has little information to offer when Henning uses their long acquaintance to gain insight into the case. He knows they are on a dangerous trail of a meticulous killer who has developed a keen taste for revenge.

The murder is very mysterious, with the brutal way in which she was killed and connection with pictures, and knitting needles. There are several suspects, however, the motive? Possibly a score to settle with a bad student-teacher relationship? Wow, some bad pent up anger and revenge. When more bodies wind up dead and more taken hostage, the cases collide for an explosive outcome. 

Then there is his estranged sister, Trine Juul-Osmundsen, Minister for Justice Norwegian Government is accused of sexual misconduct, who goes into hiding. Norway is rocked by scandal and of course he cannot write about her, but wants to reach out and help if she will allow. She believes she has been set up, as she has a secret and has to figure out how to handle and still keep in her marriage and reputation intact.

However the case closest to his heart and one he cannot forget is the fire set in his flat which killed his son, a plot developed in the previous novels in the series. Henning continues to follow up on the information provided by gangland enforcer Tore Pulli, and attempts to have a closer look at why the police files relevant to the fire may have been doctored.

A riveting crime thriller, and one you cannot put down; however, there is much more to come, as we have to wait patiently for Books 4-6 to learn all the secrets surrounding the mysterious tragedies of books 1-3, and dark childhood of brother and sister duo. There is also a human interest side as readers explore Henning’s personality which ties in nicely with the investigative side. According to the author’s website, the rights to each of his six Henning Juul novels have been purchased by Norwegian film production company 4 ½. 

Fans of John Grisham, James Patterson, and Harlan Coben will want to read this one. There are two crime thriller authors, which I am all about currently: Thomas Enger (Norway) and internationally bestselling author Paul Cleave (New Zealand) with his latest winner: Five Minutes Alone  (10/21/14) Christchurch Noir Crime Series. Both talented male authors, about the same age, and ah so sexy (move over US authors) making room for two of the finest of crime thrillers and ones to follow! 

Now, I have to find time between all my ARCs to read all their previous books I have purchased. Thank you, NetGalley and Atria for introducing me to these award-winning and talented authors!   My wish list: Audible, please offer these in audiobook format, as nice for traveling.
 
Review Links:
Goodreads
Booklikes
Tumblr Book Blog
Nov Must Reads
LinkedIn Pulse
Top 30 Books of 2014 
Buy the Book 
 
 
 

 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Katherine Center

BA Paris

Robyn Harding

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

Amber Cowie

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date 
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins