#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

Makin' Miracles

By Lin Stepp
Series:  #7 A Smoky Mountain Novel 
ISBN:  1617732788 
Publisher: Kensington Publishing 
Publication Date: 12/30/2014 
Format:  Paperback
My Rating:  3.5 Stars   
 
Set in Tennessee's postcard-perfect Smoky Mountains, Lin Stepp's Makin' Miracles is an inspiring tale that reveals why love and forgiveness are most important just when they seem most impossible.
 
Zola Devon has always been a little different. Half Tahitian, with long black hair and dark eyes, she's especially distinctive in the mountain town of Gatlinburg. She even stocks her gift shop, Nature's Corner, with items that reflect her island heritage and tantalize tourists. But it's her gift as a seer and her spot-on knowledge from God that truly sets Zola apart. When she gets a directive or knowing about a person, she's almost always right. And when the surly photographer who owns the gallery next door wanders into her shop and Zola sees a problem upcoming in his life, it's only the beginning of ways in which their lives will clash and yet draw them together time and again.
 
The one thing Spencer Jackson loves more than his camera is the majestic scenery of the Smoky Mountains. Reeling from his painful past, he's settled in a log home high on a quiet mountain to train his lens on the breathtaking landscape. A woman as uniquely beguiling, and different, as Zola Devon could only throw his simple, uncomplicated days into chaos-and force him to lay bare his darkest secrets. But as Spencer's and Zola's lives become more and more intertwined, both may discover the beauty of the truth, and the joy of the unexpected.
 
 

My Review 

 
A special thank you to the author, Kensingston, and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 
 
Lin Stepp, is back with her Smoky Mountain contemporary series Makin’ Miracles, a charming tale set in East Tennessee for an inspiring tale of faith, love and forgiveness.
 
Zola, from a multi-cultural background, half Tahitian and American, owns a charming gift shop in town called Nature’s Corner in Gatlinburg. She also possess a special and unusual gift as a seer, often receiving messages or words from God, for others. However, sometimes her warnings or messages, are not so well received.
 
Spencer, a photographer and owner of the Jackson Gallery, first meets Zola in her shop, when he is shopping with a woman designer and business colleague, Leena. Zola lets him know to be careful of this woman as she is a thief. He did not appreciate her interference; however, indeed the warning proved true the same night. Due to Zola, he was able to escape with his possessions intact. Spencer also has a strained relationship with his brother Bowden and things have happened in the past to foster problems between the two brothers. 
 
Spencer and Zola meet again at Raven’s Den which is now on Spencer’s land where he lives in a remote cabin; however, it holds a special place and meaning to Zola and her childhood. She believes a person needs a place where they can go to find peace and get collected in their soul. “The world is not always kind to non-conformists, to those who are different.” As these two troubled souls are connected, they each learn from one another; as they share their secrets and past and renewed spirit for the future.
 
Makin’ Miracles is a charming and inspiring story with small town southern characters, friends, and family; filled with romance, mystery, intrigue, and words of faith. (Nice book club and group discussion questions at the end). 
 
Fans of Sherryl Woods, Mariah Stewart, and Jan Karon will enjoy the small town charm and light hearted read. On a personal note, one of my favorite spots is a day of solace overlooking God’s nature in the mountains, hiking and enjoying the beauty of a waterfall; also bringing cleansing and new lightness to Spencer in the novel at Bucknear Branch.
 
If you have not read Stepp’s Down by the River, would highly recommend this heartwarming and inspirational read, of one woman’s courage to open a B&B- One you will want to treasure and tell all your friends, with a reiterating theme, “it is never too late to start over.”If you are looking for a mountain Christmas story, check out: A Smoky Mountain Christmas!
 
Goodreads
BookLikes
Tumblr Book Blog
Dec Must Reads
Buy the Book
 
 
 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

BA Paris

Katherine Center

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date