#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

A Small Indiscretion

By:  Jan Ellison
ISBN:  9780812995442
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: 01/27/2015 
Format:   Hardcover
My Rating:  3 Stars 
 
For readers of Amy Bloom, Meg Wolitzer, and Lorrie Moore, A Small Indiscretion is a gripping and ultimately redemptive novel of love and its dangers, marriage and its secrets, youth and its treacherous mistakes.
 
A Small Indiscretion fixes an unflinching eye on the power of desire and the danger of obsession as it unfolds the story of one woman’s reckoning with a youthful mistake.
 
At nineteen, Annie Black trades a bleak future in her washed-out hometown for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and yearning for deliverance. Some two decades later, she is married to a good man and settled in San Francisco, with a son and two daughters and a successful career designing artistic interior lights. One June morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, igniting an old longing and setting off a chain of events that rock the foundations of her marriage and threaten to overturn her family’s hard-won happiness.
 
The novel moves back and forth across time between San Francisco in the present and that distant winter in Europe. The two worlds converge and explode when the adult Annie returns to London seeking answers, her indiscretions come to light, and the phone rings with shocking news about her son. Now Annie must fight to save her family by piecing together the mystery of her past—the fateful collision of liberation and abandon and sexual desire that drew an invisible map of her future.
 
A Small Indiscretion is a riveting debut novel about a woman’s search for understanding and forgiveness, a taut exploration of a modern marriage, and of love—the kind that destroys, and the kind that redeems.
 

My Review 

 
A special thank you Random House and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review
 
A SMALL INDISCRETION, by Jan Ellison is an absorbing emotional family drama debut of one woman’s secrets of the past for an exploration of marriage, love, and forgiveness.
 
 
From past (Europe) to present (US-San Francisco) readers learn about Annie black, an artistic interior lighting designer, who has some indiscretions in her past in London. She is married to Jonathan, a doctor for twenty one years. They met in Ireland and moved to San Francisco and have three children Robbie, Carla, and Poly.
 
 
One day Annie receives a photograph in the mail that reminds her of her time in Paris, and it reignites a passion, and while on a business trip to London, she rekindles an old acquaintance, which sets off a chain of events she never expected.
 
 
Things begin to fall apart. Her husband leaves. Their son, Robbie, is in an accident. The girls, Claire and Polly, are shuffled back and forth between parents. Her store, The Salvaged Light is damaged when the ceiling falls in, and now her son is in a coma and the woman Emme (who works in Annie’s store), is missing. So all in all things are not looking good for Annie.
 
Ellison keeps readers in suspense by switching from Annie’s earlier life in London in her early twenties to present day in a diary like format from mother to son.
 
 
A novel of being torn between a past life of chaos and a more settled life- insights of a modern marriage and how devastating secrets become to all involved. The narrator, Annie Black, tells the story, while keeping a mysterious and intriguing tone with twists and turns.
 
 
Nice writing for a debut novel; however, I was not totally invested or connected with the characters, especially Annie; however, look forward to reading more from the author.
 
Review Links:
Goodreads
BookLikes
Tumblr
Jan 2015 Must Reads
Buy the Book 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Book Giveaway Contest

April 21-May 5, 2020

Enter Here

LITTLE SECRETS

Jennifer Hillier 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

D. J. Palmer

Jennifer Hillier

Charles Martin

John Hart

BA Paris

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date