Old Books stacked GOOD Library .png

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Where Rivers Part


By Kellie Coates Gilbert

Series: A Texas Gold Novel #2
ISBN: 9780800722739
Publisher: Revell
Publication Date: 2/17/2014
Format: Paperback
My Rating: 4 Stars
Following in her estranged father's footsteps, Dr. Juliet Ryan has devoted her scientific acumen to corporate America, providing safe drinking water for millions--and affording her plenty of perks along the way. Then, without warning, a fast-moving disaster sweeps Juliet into a whirlpool of corporate scandal and puts lives at risk. As she scrambles to find answers,
Juliet must face her deepest wounds and join forces with her father to expose a far-reaching conspiracy. Underneath it all, she struggles to forgive those who betrayed her trust--not least of all her own father.

My Review

A special thank you to the author and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
A powerful novel and richly layered, Kellie Coates Gilbert returns with her second installment in the Texas Gold series with WHERE RIVERS PART, a complex and riveting story of redemption and forgiveness.
Another winner by Kellie, crossing many genres – Love her twist of Christian fiction, family, women's fiction, chick-lit, crime, mystery, suspense, relationships, and corporate scandal – all rolled into one gripping tale.
If you have not read the first in the series A WOMAN OF FORTUNE (Texas Gold #1), highly recommend. They can be read as a standalone; however, you will want to read them both, with highly charged and well researched topics ----and Gilbert knows Texas!
Dr. Juliet Ryan has devoted her scientific acumen to corporate America, at Larimar Springs, providing safe drinking water for millions, with plenty of perks. She followed in her well-known father’s footsteps; however, she and her father do not see eye to eye on many subjects and are always arguing. She has never forgiven him for things he has done in the past and cannot get past how her mom seems to overlook, by forgiving and forgetting so easily.
Juliet thinks she has it all, when a scandal breaks out, placing her in the middle of the fallout, putting many lives in danger and risk, while she tries to protect the public and her own reputation. However, with nowhere to turn, she solicits the help from her father to support her and help expose the wrongdoing.
Two people will go down for multiple counts of distribution of adulterated food product, as well as conspiracy and fraud related to the audits. She feels betrayed by those she trusted and struggles to find peace, going back to her mother’s words, “to forgive and let go.”
I really enjoyed Kellie’s inspiration for the novel, as noted in the author’s notes. Sparked by a legal matter in the mid-nineties with the Jack in the Box restaurant with deadly outbreaks, while she was immersed in reviewing and cataloguing, the massive amounts of evidence in the litigation. She developed a new appreciate for those charged with maintaining food safety, as well as her husband’s senior management role with the food business.
Hence, Where Rivers Part was born with the question, what if, and how San Antonio fit into the water theme with the Edwards Aquifer, a unique groundwater system, and one of the most prolific artesian aquifers in the world, serving millions. She also relates the water and river to the Living Water in the Bible for hope and forgiveness for an engaging read and much needed emotional healing.
I also enjoy interacting with Kellie via social media, as she is a genuine person, mother, and talented author. If you have not read any of her books, you are missing out - an author to follow!
Fans of Kristin Hannah, Eileen Goudge, and Emilie Richards will enjoy Kellie's highly charged subjects surrounding women, with a powerful takeaway message.
Review Links:
Goodreads
BookLikes
Tumblr
Feb 2015 Must Reads
Buy the Book
Texas Gold #1 A Woman of Fortune

38 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins