Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Cover Your Eyes

 

By Mary Burton

ASIN: B00P2RQFOG

Narrator:  Karen White 

Publisher: Audible Studios

Publication Date: 11/4/2014 

Format: Audio

My Rating: 4 Stars 

 

Don't Look 
At first, they struggle to escape. Then a torrent of blows rains down upon their bodies until their eyes cloud over in final agony. The killer shows no remorse--just a twisted need to witness each victim's last terrified moments.

Don't Speak
Public defender Rachel Wainwright is struggling to reopen a decades-old case, convinced that the wrong man is in prison. Homicide detective Deke Morgan doesn't want to agree. But if Rachel's hunch is correct, whoever fatally bludgeoned young, beautiful Annie Dawson thirty years ago could be the source of a new string of brutal slayings.

Just Prepare To Die
Rachel's investigation is about to reveal answers--but at a price she never thought to pay. Now she's become the target of a rage honed by years of jealousy and madness. And a murderer is ready to show her just how vicious the truth can be. . .

 

 

My Review

 

COVER YOUR EYES by Mary Burton is a crime mystery suspense thriller, with twists and turns, and a whodunit which will leave your head spinning.

Annie was a good-looking, blonde, sexy gal and all the men swoon when she walks into a room. She loves country music, a singer in local honky-tonk bars, looking for a chance to make it to the big time in Nashville. All the men want her, and offer her an array of promises. However, just when she thinks she may get it all, she is brutally murdered. 

Jeb Jones, a man convicted some thirty years ago for Annie’s murder before DNA testing was available; however, now the case may be reopened when new DNA evidence is available. 

Rachel, a tenacious attorney is out for the truth, to find the real murderer. Of course many do not want to stir the pot. 

Homicide Detective Deke Morgan is now on the case of a bar singer, Dixie Simmons, with a similar murder relating to the one years ago. However, are these two cases related? Of course his father Buddy was the cop in charge of the previous case years ago. 

As the intensity heats up, Rachel is attacked as she gets closer to mounting evidence. Someone wants to keep her quiet. Of course the Morgans kind of run the Nashville Police Department, and then there is also Georgia Morgan, a forensics technician called in to investigate. 

Buddy Morgan was a hero of sort back in the day, and no one wants show any evidence that he could have put away the wrong man.

Wow, the audiobook was quite intriguing, and my favorite parts were those of Annie and her tidbits throughout the book. Readers only hear short notes, letters, and updates to her lover, called SUGAR and BABY. Love A.   OMG, I am still hearing this southern voice saying SUGAR over and over in my head ….. Narrator, Karen White  delivered a nice southern performance, true to the setting. I kept saying….please who is Sugar?  I liked the back story almost more than the present one; however the connection was well done. 

Burton’s delivers a well- paced mystery and suspense, continuing to the end, keeping you guessing as to the identity of the murderer. Crime fans will enjoy this complex southern tale of whodunit, with some light romance.

Fans of Leslie Tentler, Nancy Bush, Lisa Jackson, Sandra Brown, and Tami Hoag will appreciate Burton’s style. 

I also recommend Burton’s upcoming 4/28/2015 book, BE AFRAID, just finished an ARC --another case of a murder set in Nashville between cases twenty-five years apart. 5 Stars

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

BookLikes

Tumblr

JDC Nov 2014 Must Reads

Buy the Book 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author 

 

Mary Burton enjoys the hunt.  This New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist, whose work has been compared to that of  Steig Larson*, Lisa Gardner**, and Lisa Jackson***, has been intrigued by investigative work and the people who do it since Virginia, her home state, was stung by a string of serial killings that spanned more than twenty years. 

 

Not surprisingly, many of her suspense novels are fueled by the acts of multiple killers and the people who pursue them, as is NO ESCAPE, Mary’s latest novel and the second in a trio of stories set in and around Austin.  There she calls upon the people and resources of the state’s lead investigative team, the Texas Rangers. Read More 

 

 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins