#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Lives Between Us

 

By: Theresa Rizzo

ISBN:   9780989045063

Publisher: Rizzo Publishing

Publication Date:  7/1/2015 

Format: Paperback 

My Rating:  3 Stars

 

How far would you go to save the one you love?

Reporter Skylar Kendall has run from commitment all her life, pushing people away before they leave her, until her niece worms her way into Skye’s heart and settles in tight. Skye relaxes into a career she enjoys and relishes being a doting aunt.

Then her niece becomes gravely ill. Unable to bear yet another loss, Skye is determined to find a cure, but the girl’s only hope lies in the embryonic stem cell therapy Michigan Senator Edward Hastings repeatedly opposes. When Skye fails to find alternative treatment in time, she vows to end the senator’s political career.

Curious about the woman behind the scathing articles on his best friend, Mark Dutton pursues Skye. Dating Mark gives her access to Hastings’s life and secrets that would launch Skye's career and satisfy her need for retribution… Only she hadn’t counted on falling in love.

Can she avenge the lives lost to politics at the expense of her new love and friends?  
The Lives Between Us is about family and love. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Nicholas Sparks will enjoy this book.

 

"This charming novel gracefully addresses embryonic stem cell research and garnishes it with a powerful, tender romance… The author handles the complexities of science and morality with tremendous care and nuance; there are no hypocrites or villains here, only loving people doing their best in terribly difficult situations. Contemporary romance readers of all political leanings will be enthralled.” ~ Publisher’s Weekly

 

 

 About the Author

 

Theresa Rizzo is an award-winning author who writes emotional stories that explore the complexity of relationships and families through real-life trials. Born and raised in Grosse Pointe, Michigan, she now lives outside of Boulder, Colorado with her husband of thirty-two years.  

 

She is the author of Just Beginning: A Prequel, Just Just Destiny, He Belongs to Me, and The Lives Between Us, available July 1, 2015.

 

Connect with Theresa at: Website  Twitter   Goodreads 

 

 

 

My Review

 

A special thank you to Rizzo Publishing and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

 

THE LIVES BETWEEN US by Theresa Rizzo, an emotional novel exploring the complexities of science and morality with a twist of contemporary romance and politics. 

Reporter Skylar Kendall is not into commitments; however, one person has a special place in her heart – her niece. Then when her nine year old niece, Niki becomes ill, with a heart condition, while waiting for a transplant, she knows she has to find a way to help. Her only hope is embryonic stem cell therapy. 

Michigan Senator Edward Hastings is opposed to the embryonic stem cell therapy and research. Skylar is determined to end the senator’s political career. Of course Skylar disagrees, knowing it can save lives and she desperately needs it for her niece. She is out for revenge. 

Then of course, there is Mark Dutton, the senator’s friend. Getting close to Mark will give Skye access to Hastings in order to carry out her plan; however, she did not count on falling for him, which causes further complications. 

While the book offered research; different opinions and perspectives, with battles between families with highly emotional controversial issues- would not compare with the quality ofNicholas Sparks or Jodi Picoult, as mentioned in the summary. I have read all the books by these two talented authors, and did not see the similarities. 


On a side note: Was also a little confused why a book is published July 1 with snow on the cover, when everyone is reading summer beach reads. This would be a cover for an upcoming winter season release. Marketing strategy questionable? 

 

Review Links:

JDC July Reads

Goodreads

BookLikes

Tumblr

LibraryThing

Buy the Book 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

2020 Newsletters

Book Giveaway Contest

Jan 14-Feb 3, 2020

Winner:

Christine L. Moore

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

Suzanne Redfearn

Jennifer Hillier

D. J. Palmer

Jennifer Hillier

Charles Martin

John Hart

BA Paris

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date 
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins