#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

That Chesapeake Summer

 

By: Mariah Stewart

The Chesapeake Diaries
ISBN: 
9781476792576

Publisher: Gallery Books

Publication Date:  6/23/2015

Format:  Paperback

My Rating: 4 Stars   

 

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes the latest book in her celebrated Chesapeake Diaries, a small-town romance series in the tradition of Barbara Freethy, Susan Mallery, and Robyn Carr.

Jamie Valentine is the wildly successful author of self-help books advocating transparency in every relationship. But when her widowed mother passes away unexpectedly, Jamie discovers her own life has been based on a lie. Angry and deeply betrayed, she sets out to find the truth—which may be in a small town on the Chesapeake Bay. Cutting her most recent book tour short, Jamie books a room at the Inn at Sinclair’s Point, just outside St. Dennis.

The death of Daniel Sinclair’s father forced him to take over the family inn, and his wife’s death left him a single parent of two children, so there’s little room for anything else in his life. His lovely new guest is intriguing, though, and he’s curious about the secret she’s clearly hiding. But in the end, Jamie and Dan could discover the greatest truth of all: that the search for one thing just might lead to the find of a lifetime—if you keep your heart open.

 

 

About the Author


Mariah Stewart is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of thirty-one novels and three novellas and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal. She is a RITA finalist in romantic suspense and the recipient of the Award of Excellence for contemporary romance, a RIO Award for excellence in women's fiction, and a Reviewers Choice Award from Romantic Times Magazine. A three-time winner of the Golden Leaf Award presented by the New Jersey Romance Writers, Stewart was recently awarded their Lifetime Achievement Award (which placed her in their Hall of Fame along with former recipients Nora Roberts and Mary Jo Putney — very excellent company, indeed!)

 

She considers herself one lucky son of a gun to have landed the best job in the world: getting paid for making up stories. At home. In sweats and J. Crew flip flops. Could life be sweeter?

 

A native of Hightstown, NJ, Stewart is a member of Novelists, Inc, Thriller Writers International, Sisters in Crime, PASIC, the Romance Writers of America, the New Jersey Romance Writers, the Valley Forge Romance Writers, and the Washington Romance Writers. She lives with her husband and their two dogs — a geriatric golden retriever and a rambunctious rescue retriever mix — amidst the rolling hills of Chester County, PA where she savors country life, tends her gardens, and tries to avoid running the Amish buggies off the road with her SUV.  Website  Goodreads

 

 

 

My Review 

 

A special thank you to Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books, and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.  (Stunning cover; perfectly matched for a fun summer beach read!)

As always, love catching up with the gang in quaint St. Dennis, and with THAT CHESAPEAKE SUMMER (Chesapeake Diaries #9) there is a lot going on at the Inn at Sinclair’s Point, just outside St. Dennis, with two souls connecting. 

A charming, heartwarming and captivating read with an enchanting town, keeping you coming back for more. Always a good mystery, new friends and a budding romance. As always, we begin and end we Grace and her diary, to keep us abreast of the latest and greatest of the town’s gossip and events. Of course she dreams of something big coming and she always pulls out the Ouija board to see if any of her friends, like Alice from the other side can shed some light on the subject. She is especially excited to see her son, Daniel may have found a possible love match. 

Jamie is a successful author of self-help books; however, when her mother passes away unexpectedly, Jamie discovers her entire life has been based on a lie. Now she is obsessed to find out the truth which may be in the small town of Chesapeake Bay. As she cuts her previously planned book tour short, she books a room at the Inn at Sinclair’s Point. 


D
aniel Sinclair’s father has died and he has taken over the management of the family inn. After his wife’s death, he is left to as a single parent taking care of two children. Of course, with the inn and the children he has no time for a social life. 

There is always intrigue, mystery, emotion, and complexity with new faces coming into the town (BTW, all the characters which visit have an interesting past). Daniel thinks Jamie is hiding a secret and he is intrigued, and there may just be more. 

I have read all the books in the Chesapeake Diaries series by talented Mariah Stewart, and they always brings out the wanderlust, making me want to pack my bags and head north to this charming town.

Yes, agree with some of the others about the TV series. Since Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove was such a hit on Hallmark (returning 7/18/15), and upcoming Sherryl Woods' Chesapeake Shores series is coming to Hallmark Channel in 2015, as well; makes sense for Mariah Stewart's Chesapeake Diaries to follow. Let's keep our fingers crossed! 

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

BookLikes

LibraryThing

Tumblr

JDC June Must Reads

Buy the Book 

 

 

 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

BA Paris

Katherine Center

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date