Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

The Status of All Things

By: Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinnke 
ISBN:  9781476763415
Publisher:  Atria Books/Washington Square  
Publication Date: 6/2/2015 
Format: Paperback 
My Rating:  5 Stars
 
What would you do if you could literally rewrite your fate—on Facebook? This heartwarming and hilarious new novel from the authors of Your Perfect Life follows a woman who discovers she can change her life through online status updates.
 
Kate is a thirty-five-year-old woman who is obsessed with social media. So when her fiancé, Max, breaks things off at their rehearsal dinner—to be with Kate’s close friend and coworker, no less—she goes straight to Facebook to share it with the world. But something’s changed. Suddenly, Kate’s real life starts to mirror whatever she writes in her Facebook status. With all the power at her fingertips, and heartbroken and confused over why Max left her, Kate goes back in time to rewrite their history.
 
Kate's two best friends, Jules and Liam, are the only ones who know the truth. In order to convince them she’s really time traveled, Kate offers to use her Facebook status to help improve their lives. But her attempts to help them don’t go exactly as planned, and every effort to get Max back seems to only backfire, causing Kate to wonder if it’s really possible to change her fate.
 
In The Status of All Things, Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke combine the humor and heart of Sarah Pekkanen and Jennifer Weiner while exploring the pitfalls of posting your entire life on the Internet. They raise the questions: What if you could create your picture-perfect life? Would you be happy? Would you still be you? For anyone who’s ever attempted—or failed—to be their perfect self online, this is a story of wisdom and wit that will leave you with new appreciation for the true status of your life.
 
My Review 
 
A special thank you to Atria Books/Washington Square and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Real life BFF razor-sharp and talented contemporary authors Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke bring new meaning to “girls just want to have fun”, blending their own passion with their characters, Kate and Jules-- in their latest witty, chick-lit with a touch of whimsy, social media obsession, with a dose of reality versus perfection THE STATUS OF ALL THINGS-- A life lesson for today’s world of appearances. 

With humor and insight, these clever gals will keep you engaged, and laughing out loud, from the first page to the last. From the stunning front cover to the honest insights, this dynamic duo captures the essence of today’s social media world where everyone has come to expect perfection from our lives, food, fashion, entertainment, families, relationships, image, and lifestyle; hiding behind a mirage of facades. I am betting these two friends had a blast writing this hilarious novel. 

Kate, is obsessed with social media, and Facebook. She lives for perfection. Everything has to be perfect. She cannot recall a time when she had ever written something negative, instead always focusing on the positive things. A score, a new account, a fabulous new restaurant, humor, or anything to let her friends know she is living the life—quite different than the Debbie Downers of the world; the ones who have actual problems in their lives. The ones who are not afraid to highlight unpopular opinions or rant about the kids. The people who do not fear judgment the same way she does. 

However; in hindsight, could the Debbie Downers of the world possibly be on to something? Maybe it was time for Kate to be real. She had always tried to make her own life look like a Norman Rockwell painting and where did it get her? 

Blindsided and feeling stupid, Kate has missed the signs. Left at the altar of her wedding, by Max, the man she had hoped to build a future with, a shared condo, dreams, family and worst of all he thinks he is in love with her friend and co-worker! It is time for a do over. A time machine. Possibly people’s lives are not always as perfect as the filtered photos or edited statuses they post on Facebook. But, wouldn’t it be nice if they were? Kate soon realizes she has been so wrapped up in herself she did not notice what was really going on around her.

Jules, Kate’s friend is married. The ideal marriage is always hanging over her head. Marriage is hard, there are expectations and worry. Does any marriage live up? Are there any guarantees? Is she satisfied with her marriage, or should she have an affair if her husband is not paying her enough attention. 

I loved the other supporting characters, the mom and how she had allowed her husband’s actions to define her, and Liam, her friend, as each of the cast learn to embrace their imperfections on this journey we call life.

Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Sarah Pekkanen, will devour THE STATUS OF ALL THINGS with its take on modern relationships. Would highly recommend their first book, Your Perfect Life if you have not had a chance to read. Looking forward to more from these two--with a thumb on today’s hot topics, friendship, relationships, social media, trends, and issues we tackle in each of our daily lives.
 
Do not leave home without this one before heading to the beach--for hours of endless entertainment!  Pack it in your beach bag today, or pre-order your e-book! 
 
Review Links:
Goodreads
BookLikes
Tumblr
LibraryThing 
Buy the Book 
Twitter 
 
 

 

 

 

About the Authors 

Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke have been best friends for over 25 years.  They co-created this website in 2009 to celebrate books women love and to have a place to talk shit about reality TV stars.  They have three novels with Simon & Schuster/Atria Books. Their debut novel, Your Perfect Life, about two childhood best friends who switch bodies at their twenty-year high school reunion, published on June, 10 2014.

 

Their second book, The Status of All Things, about a woman who realizes she can change the course of her entire life by what she writes in her Facebook status, will be published on June 2, 2015. And their third book, The Year We Turned Forty is almost completed.  But a lot happened before the publishing deal. Website   Twitter 

 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins