Pink flowers spring books tea .jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

  • Judith D Collins

The Dressmaker


By: Rosalie Ham

ISBN: 9780143129066

Publisher: PENGUIN GROUP Penguin

Publication Date: 8/11/2015

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4 Stars

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Kate Winslet and Liam Hemsworth, THE DRESSMAKER by Rosalie Ham is a darkly satirical novel of love, revenge, and 1950s haute couture.

After twenty years spent mastering the art of dressmaking at couture houses in Paris, Myrtle “Tilly” Dunnage returns to the small Australian town she was banished from as a child. She plans only to check on her ailing mother and leave. But Tilly decides to stay, and though she is still an outcast, her lush, exquisite dresses prove irresistible to the prim women of Dungatar. Through her fashion business, her friendship with Sergeant Farrat—the town’s only policeman, who harbors an unusual passion for fabrics—and a budding romance with Teddy, the local football star whose family is almost as reviled as hers, she finds a measure of grudging acceptance.

But as her dresses begin to arouse competition and envy in town, causing old resentments to surface, it becomes clear that Tilly’s mind is set on a darker design: exacting revenge on those who wronged her, in the most spectacular fashion.

Ham writes beautifully of fabrics and fashion, and paints a vivid portrait of the loyalties and betrayals of a small Australian town. This novel, for readers of The Other Typist and Burial Rights, will have you eyeing both high-fashion magazines and your neighbors in a new light.

The film of The Dressmaker starring Kate Winslet,

Judy Davis, Hugo Weaving and Liam Hemsworth

will premiere October 1st, 2015.

More about the Film

About the Author

Rosalie Ham is the author of three novels. She is the author of The Dressmaker, Summer at Mount Hope and There Should be More Dancing. Her novels are described as having fresh, unusual and entertaining ideas and have sold over 75,000 copies.

Rosaline was born and raised in Jerilderie, NSW and now lives in Melbourne. She holds a Master of Arts in Creative Writing and teaches literature. Website

Review to follow

Buy the Book

2 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2021 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins