Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Winter at the Door

By Sarah Graves
ISBN:  9780345535016
Publisher: Random House Bantam Dell Publication Date:  1/6/2015
Format: Hardcover
My Rating:  4 Stars 
 
Perfect for fans of Jenny Milchman, Linda Castillo, and Lisa Gardner—the first book in a suspenseful new crime thriller series featuring the tough but haunted police chief Lizzie Snow, a big-city cop with a mission, taking on a small town with a dark side.
 
Moving from Boston to remote Bearkill, Maine, isn’t homicide cop Lizzie Snow’s idea of a step up. But breaking away from tragedy and personal betrayal is at least a step in the right direction. Her dead sister’s fate still torments her, as does her long-missing niece’s disappearance. Lizzie hopes to find the mysteriously vanished child here, amid the coming ice and snow. But in the Great North Woods, something darker and more dangerous than punishing winter is also bound for Bearkill.
 
The town is a world apart in more than distance—full of people who see everything, say little, and know more than they’ll share with an outsider. The only exceptions are the handsome state cop who once badly broke Lizzie’s heart and desperately wants another chance—and Lizzie’s new boss, sheriff Cody Chevrier, who’s counting on her years of homicide experience to help him solve his most troubling case, before it’s too late.
 
A rash of freak accidents and suicides has left a string of dead men—all former local cops. Now the same cruel eyes that watched them die are on Lizzie—and so is the pressure to find out what sort of monster has his hooks in this town, what his ruthless game is, and just how brutally he’ll play to win.
 
Whatever the truth is, its twisted roots lie in the desolate backwoods of Allagash County: where the desperate disappear, the corrupt find shelter, and the innocent lose everything. It’s there that a cunning and utterly cold-blooded killer plans the fate of the helpless lives at his mercy—one of whom may be the lost child Lizzie will do anything to save. As a blizzard bears down, and Bearkill’s dark secrets claw their way to the surface, Lizzie gears up for a showdown that could leave the deep, driven snow stained blood red.
 

My Review  

 
A special thank you to Random House Bantam Dell and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. (nice cover) 
 
WINTER AT THE DOOR (Lizzie Snow #1), a new crime series by Sarah Graves introduces likable cop, Lizzie Snow who has left Boston for Bearkill, Maine where things are rather dark, and not so calm.
 
Liz has some troubles of her own with her sister’s death and her missing niece, Nicki which is a big reason for coming to Maine in all its cold and ice. As small towns go, outside visitors are not so welcome and forthcoming with information. 
 
To further complicate matters, the handsome state cop, Dylan who once broke her heart wants another chance and her boss, Cody needs her help in solving the death of former cops. What ties the murders to ex-cops? Dylan is also investigating the murders of two girls and leads him to the area, so Lizzie has plenty of action going on.
 
This was my first book by Graves and enjoyed the short fast-paced crime mystery as she sets up for the next installment. I had read Winter at the Door compares to a few books I have read: This Little Piggy by Bea Davenport, Fallen by Leslie Tentler, and Presumption of Guilt by Marti Green; however, did not find a lot of similarities as each have their own unique style. 
 
I delighted to be introduced to this newfound author and look forward to reading more from the Lizzie Snow character, as she is funny, quirky, and smart and enjoy her personality. Sounds like the author knows her way around Maine and the snow. 
 
I enjoy reading about it, but prefer my warm sunny beach weather here in South Florida, even though a rustic log cabin in the woods with a fire, a crime thriller, and snow sounds warm cozy! 
 
Review Links:
Goodreads
BookLikes
Tumblr
Buy the Book 
 
 
Lizzie Snow #2
Read My Review 
 
 
 
Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins