Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

An Evil Mind

 

By:  Chris Carter

Series:  Robert Hunter #6

ISBN:  9781476765686

Publisher:  Atria Books

Publication Date: 12/1/2015 

Format:  Other

My Rating:  5 Stars  

 

From a Top 10 Sunday Times (UK) bestselling author comes an action-packed thriller featuring Robert Hunter, a criminal behavior psychologist turned LAPD detective, who must race to identify the most brutal, clever, and elusive serial killer yet…

A freak accident in rural Wyoming leads the sheriff’s department to arrest a man for a possible double homicide, but further investigations suggest a much more horrifying discovery—a serial killer who has been kidnapping, torturing, and mutilating victims all over the United States for at least twenty-five years.

The suspect claims he is a pawn in a huge labyrinth of lies and deception—but can he be believed?

The case is immediately handed over to the FBI, but this time they’re forced to ask for outside help. Ex-criminal behavior psychologist and lead detective with the Ultra Violent Crime Unit of the LAPD Robert Hunter is asked to run a series of interviews with the apprehended man.

These interviews begin to reveal terrifying secrets that no one could have foreseen, including the real identity of a killer so elusive that no one, not even the FBI, had any idea he existed—until now...

 

 

 

 

My Review

 

A special thank you to Atria Books and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.  

Chris Carter delivers an edgy, razor-sharp, evil, dark, and twisted psycho-crime suspense thriller, AN EVIL MIND  (Robert Hunter #6) —a sadistic, psychotic serial killer with only seven words, “I will only speak to Robert Hunter.” A man who has not spoken a word since being arrested. 

Haunting words which will forever change LAPD detective, and the former criminal behavior psychologist's life.

A labyrinth of creepy twists and grotesque turns.

 

The secrets of the past refuse to keep quiet in this disquieting, taut thriller. Readers beware: what flows through these pages is not always easy to stomach, but I dare you to take your eyes off the page.

A freak accident at the local Wyoming diner starts the unraveling of gruesome brutal murders, a chain of events of a sick and twisted serial killer, whose thrills come from torturing and killing. Beginning with two severed heads in the trunk of a car. 

Detective Robert Hunter is all set for a vacation in Hawaii, when he receives the call from FBI’s National Center for the Analysis of Violent Crime and its Behavioral Analysis Unit. A FBI specialty department providing support to national and international law enforcement agencies involved in the investigation of unusual or serial violent crimes. 

For years the FBI had made attempts to recruit Hunter. Hunter would rather be a detective with the LAPD’s Robbery Homicide Division than join the most advanced serial killer—tracking force in the US, and even, the world. 

Hunter is the lead detective for the Ultra-Violent Crimes Unit, a special unit created by the LAPD to investigate homicides and serial homicides where overwhelming brutality and or sadism had been used by the perpetrator. Hunter was the best at what he did. His arrest record provided that. He had always declined their offers.

Now the FBI needs Hunter’s assistance, as he is personally involved with some of the victims and the perpetrator. He is the only one which will be able to provide answers to the clues. What makes this so shocking---the person in question and prime suspect, is Hunter’s former Stanford roommate and fellow criminal psychologist! The three friends in college: Robert, Lucien, and Susan.

How could be have been friends with Lucien? Of course, Lucien was always smart and after obtaining his psychology degree from Stanford, Lucien applied to Yale for a PhD in criminal psychology. He was accepted, did three years of coursework, and then simply disappeared. He never completed his doctorate.When did he turn into a sadistic killer? 

Instead of Hawaii for a leisurely vacation, Hunter is quickly whisked away to the FBI Behavioral Research and Instruction Unit in Quantico and into something that could only be described as a hellish nightmare. No one had ever come across anyone quite like this monster. Brutality is actually minor, with what is yet to come. Hunter soon will learn of his own past, and how the evil mind of someone he once knew would bring to light to these events. 

At first Lucien says he is innocent, leading Hunter with a series of clues to the remote Western North Carolina area (know this area). However, when Detective Hunter and Taylor arrive at the cabin, a shocking discovery. Lucien is indeed a sociopath, guilty, and worse, the gruesome haunting killings are people close to Hunter. He is taunting, everyone, especially Hunter. 

Lucien plays a sick game of cat-and- mouse, so he can showcase his work. He loves to brag, thinking he can change the world. He is proud. All the puppets play along with the puppet master, until they find all the hidden information and notebooks to lead them to all the victims, bodies, remains, and families.

Lucien. Going under many other alias and identities. A living, breathing, walking mystery. Someone who had lied to everyone throughout his life. He was focused and determined. A manipulator. Before it is over there will be 80 families. Someone has to stop this monster. Justice. A twenty-five year murder spree. Sadly, Lucien has all this information and knowledge about psychology and criminal behavior; however, fails to see his own psychosis.
 

 

It's gruesome, grisly and attention grabbing! 

Original, dramatic, dark, and disturbing-- readers will find themselves holding their breath, for the next page. My first book by talented Chris Carter, a former profiler—who definitely knows his way inside the criminal minds of the twisted and sadistic serial killer. Scary, psychopaths abound in our everyday life. Watch out for those pies. 

A wicked horrific ride! Carter delivers raw and intense emotions, not only from the killer; also his main characters, pulling you further in to the unfolding drama. 

Fans of Karen Slaughter and Paul Cleave (two of my favorite crime authors), will devour. I had pre-ordered the audiobook, and after reading the advanced reading copy, glued to my iPod, listening---a chilling performance by
George Newburn. Having spent time in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil --could imagine myself back on the beach—with the breath taking views of the mountains. This is one spot you can see both at one time. 

Intrigued. After finishing the book, immediately going to Audible to purchase Carter’s back list of books, especially the Robert Hunter series. Was so bummed, as NO other books in the series, offered in English??? Hopefully they will be added (similar to Paul Cleave) . . We are slowly getting some of his back list here in the states. Publishers: Please get Chris Carter’s books on audio for all the US fans. I typically read only new books—my blog focuses on new releases, so when I find an author I love, I rely on audio to get my back list “fix”. 

Highly recommend AN EVIL MIND -- if you want an intelligent, and sophisticated—well-written chilling page-turner. An intriguing series, and an author, who not only is a profiling expert---a talented criminal psychological novelist. He nails the details. Carter has been added to my favorite author list. 

 

Can't wait for I AM DEATH , coming to US July 14, 2016.  (Hope I can land an ARC). Love the covers. 

 

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

BookLikes

LibraryThing

Tumblr

Twitter

Amazon

Buy the Book 

 

 

 

About the Author

 

Biographies can be an absolute drag, so I won’t bore anyone with a long life story.

 

I was born in Brasilia, Brazil where I spent my childhood and teenage years. After graduating from high school, I moved to the USA where I studied psychology with specialization in criminal behaviour. During my University years I held a variety of odd jobs, ranging from flipping burgers to being part of an all male exotic dancing group.

I worked as a criminal psychologist for several years before moving to Los Angeles, where I swapped the suits and briefcases for ripped jeans, bandanas and an electric guitar. After a spell playing for several well known glam rock bands, I decided to try my luck in London, where I was fortunate enough to have played for a number of famous artists. I toured the world several times as a professional musician. 

 

A few years ago I gave it all up to become a full time writer.  Read More 

 

 

 

 

I AM DEATH

 

Robert Hunter #7  
Coming Soon to the US

July 14, 2016

 

Seven days after being abducted, the body of a twenty-year-old woman is found on a green patch by the Los Angeles International Airport. She has been left with her limbs stretched out and spread apart, placing her in a five-point human star.

 

The autopsy reveals that she has been tortured and murdered in a most bizarre way. But the surprises don't end there. The killer likes to play, and he left something behind for the cops to find.

Detective Robert Hunter, who leads the LAPD's Special Section, Ultra Violent Unit, is assigned to the case. But almost immediately a second body turns up.

 

Surrounded by new challenges as every day passes, Detective Hunter finds himself chasing a monster. A predator whose past hides a terrible secrete, whose desire to hurt people and thirst for murder can never be quenched - for he is DEATH.

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg