fall desk jdc must read books.png

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

Lies and Other Acts of Love

 

By:  Kristy Woodson Harvey

ISBN: 9781101987063

Publisher:  Penguin/Berkley   

Publication Date:  4/5/2016

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 5 Stars 

Top Books of 2016

April 5 Blog Tour Book Giveaway Contest 

Apr 5-15  Enter Here (closed)

Dear Carolina was praised as “Southern fiction at its best.”* Now author Kristy Woodson Harvey presents a new novel about what it really means to tell the truth.

A
fter sixty years of marriage and five daughters, Lynn “Lovey” White knows that all of us, from time to time, need to use our little white lies. 

Her granddaughter, Annabelle, on the other hand, is as truthful as they come. She always does the right thing—that is, until she dumps her hedge fund manager fiancé and marries a musician she has known for three days. After all, her grandparents, who fell in love at first sight, have shared a lifetime of happiness, even through her grandfather’s declining health.
 
But when Annabelle’s world starts to collapse around her, she discovers that nothing about her picture-perfect family is as it seems. And Lovey has to decide whether one more lie will make or break the ones she loves . .

 

 

My Review 

 

A special thank you to Penguin and NetGalley, and the author for an ARC in exchange for an honest review

Talented Southern storyteller, Kristy Woodson Harvey returns following her charming debut, Dear Carolina, with  LIES AND OTHER ACTS OF LOVE, another heartwarming inter-generational contemporary tale of life, love, family, relationships, and marriage. 

Filled with humor, reflections, wit, and wisdom—rich in character, this Southern gem will win your heart. “The lies that matter most are the ones we tell ourselves.” Reflecting on the wisdom and life experiences obtained, we hear from two extraordinary women: 

Grandmother Lovey, age eighty-seven is Southern proper, a classic, affluent, with an eastern North Carolina accent and flair. A grand lady, she loves to impart her wisdom. Her mother told her that honesty was the most important thing in life. 

The truth does not always set you free. The truth destroys lives and shatters the mirror. The truth is shameful and selfish, and better kept to oneself. A paperclip for our lives--White Lies. They are defibrillators that bring us back when we are on the brink of succumbing to the light. 

However, Lovey always said true love was something you had to fight for. Her husband, (D-Daddy) has dementia. Living in the past. Slipping into old memories. He is fading away. The girls want them to move to an assisted living and sell the house. Some days he does not remember anyone. Their five grown daughters, want the best for their parents. 

Annabelle-the granddaughter, age twenty-three, a college graduate. Lovey is the most influential woman in her life. D-daddy (her grandfather) is a kind man. Generous, humble, forgiving, faithful and true. A man who knew his values and stuck by them. Annabelle is a hopeless romantic. 

She was engaged to Holden. She dumped her hedge fund manager fiancé and marries a musician—Ben, she has known for three days. She called off a wedding, three years in the making with a thirty-second phone call and zero explanation, after the save the date announcements were mailed. 

Holden was the dependable one. Predictable. He would never cheat and his secretary would always buy her something from Cartier for her birthday. He would also be on his cell phone with always business first. Not what she wanted. 

She meets the good-looking, adventure-RV hippie loving musician, Ben. Their free-spirited lifestyle touring, ended when Ben moves them to his charming hometown of Salisbury, NC to help his dad (an accountant) with his business. They are a wealthy family and the couple move into the pool house. She loves Ben and they are madly in love. They have passion. 

Annabelle wants a baby. Ben’s mom is a sex therapist, and she is feeling pressure to have a baby -- feeling a bit insecure. They have tried everything, and it is not working. In the meantime, she runs into Holden and he continues to text her –he wants her back. 

Though Holden couldn’t get her blood pressure up quite like Ben, he was a master of the romantic gesture. He could whisk her off to Paris at a moment’s notice.

She needs to stay busy and involved. She begins working at a nearby church, St. Paul’s. This will take her mind off the pregnancy. She loves her job, and she grows fond of the minister-her new boss, Father Rob, affectionately nicknamed Priest Charming by his parishioners. She had taken a part-time job which turned into full time. She finds her work fulfilling. (maybe something more here). . .

 

 

However, she needs friends, living in a small new town. She becomes involved in fund raising and a local girl befriends her. Turns out she betrays her, as well as her husband. She is devastated. She has choices to make. Decisions. She begins second-guessing her entire life. 

In the meantime, her grandmother takes a fall, and she is in the hospital. She discovers yet another shocker about her family, a secret—making her rethink marriage, loyalty and love. She had married for love and look where it had gotten her. Miserable. Disgusted. She had to let go of those Cinderella dreams she had since childhood. 

Flashing back and forth, with alternating chapters from Lovey and her life as a young girl, (1945-present) her childhood, her strict parents, her love, dating, the war, college, and their reconnection--- ultimately the marriage to Dan—with five daughters and one lovely granddaughter, Annabelle. The challenges of raising a family and a marriage.

We hear the innermost thoughts of Annabelle. She is close to her grandmother. She begins thinking about her life, when she is faced with her own betrayal and lies. Her marriage is not what she planned. She is done with the heart-racing thing. 

From the outside, Annabelle has always put her grandparents on a pedestal. Her grandparents are the perfect couple, madly in love. However, when she discovers there is a flaw, she is disappointed. What happened to her grandparents in the past? They protected their family, the best way they could. 

What if we had taken a different road? Once you know a thing so huge, you can never unknow it again. Sometimes we become what we hate. Are some things in life better left unsaid? 

Thought-provoking: Each chapter in the novel begins with a lesson, or observation that serves as a theme. Life is about choices. In between Lovey and Annabelle, we hear from Sally, Jean, and the other daughters. They have problems as well. From loss, love, and hope. People are flawed and imperfect. Marriage, relationships, family, infidelity, divorce, pregnancy, miscarriage, affairs, lies, secrets, betrayal, and dysfunction. We grow from our misfortunes. 

“The meaning of deeper love—the kind of love that ebbs and flows, fights, and forgives. The kind of love that takes a bullet, recovers in the ICU and lives to tell about it.” 

I loved Lovey! My favorite part was her story. Priceless. Often, younger generations have no clue the sacrifices, and obstacles our parents and grandparents had to face in a time when things were different. I also loved Cameron—she was rude and sarcastic with a big heart. If you fell in love withDear Carolina, readers will love Lies and Other Acts of Love! 

Kristy does an outstanding job with character-development and knows the South! Some parts are laugh out loud! A Charlotte, North Carolina native, loved visiting familiar places, mixed with Kristy’s wit and insights. Enjoyed the Salisbury, Charlotte, Raleigh, and Greensboro connections. 

 

 

Fans of Dorothea Benton Frank, Patti Callahan Henry, Wendy Wax,  Karen White, Mary Kay Andrews, and Joshilyn Jackson, (all my favorites) will delight! For mothers, daughters, grandmothers, and granddaughters- an ideal choice for book clubs, group discussions, and of course a perfect gift for Mother’s Day.

PS. I loved the Montaldo’s reference. I used to shop at Montaldo’s in Winston-Salem, NC years ago – the best shoes! 

Enter a Book Giveaway Contest, April 5-15. For a chance to win a copy of LIES AND OTHER ACTS OF LOVE Enter Here  Blog Tour Stop April 5. 

 

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

Booklikes

LibraryThing

Tumblr

Twitter

Amazon

 

 

Buy the Books 

 

 

Advance Praise 

 

"LIES AND OTHER ACTS OF LOVE establishes Kristy Woodson Harvey as a major new voice in southern fiction. This book stirred mighty emotions in me, yet left me with a sense of peace. A truly delightful read."
--
Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times Bestselling author of THE RUMOR

 

"A richly detailed, intergenerational tale of love, loss and loyalty.

Harvey pulls the reader into the hearts and souls of her characters."
Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence

 

"Harvey crafted a story so perfectly detailed that we could imagine ourselves on a wrap around porch in the south with a tall glass of sweet tea."
Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, authors of Your Perfect Life and The Status of All Things

 

"Winsome and wise, LIES AND OTHER ACTS OF LOVE shows us that true, strong marriages are forged as much out of pain as passion. Kristy Woodson Harvey treats both Annabelle, the young, naive heroine, and Lovey, the formidable matriarch, with skillful tenderness. Fans of Southern fiction, especially book clubs, will flock to this engaging, heartfelt story."
Sonja Yoerg, author of HOUSE BROKEN and MIDDLE OF SOMEWHERE

 

 

About the Author

 

Welcome! It’s so nice to meet you. I can’t wait to get to know you!

 

I’m Kristy, wife to the boy whose eye caught mine across the restaurant nearly a decade ago. I pronounced him my husband and haven’t looked back since – or doubted my intuition ever again! We have the most incredible three-year-old boy that is pure joy. (And, yeah, the occasional tantrum.)

 

I’m a Southerner through and through, a North Carolina girl who loves all four seasons – especially fall in Chapel Hill, where I went to college (Go Tarheels!) and summer in Beaufort, where we spend every free moment. (I’m sitting at my desk in Beaufort in this picture!)

 

I blog at Design Chic about how creating a beautiful home can be a catalyst for creating a beautiful life. And I’m blogging right here about absolutely everything else!

 

My first women’s fiction novel, DEAR CAROLINA was released on May 5, 2015 from Berkley/Penguin Random House, and my next novel, LIES AND OTHER ACTS OF LOVE (Berkley/Penguin Random House) is coming in Spring 2016. My dream of being a published author is finally coming true and I. Can’t. Believe. It. What’s your dream? (You know, that one you’re afraid to say out loud?) I just know it’s about to come true! Website

Please reload

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins

Subscribe for Updates