Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Seized

 

By: Elizabeth Heiter

Series:  The Profiler #3

ISBN:  9780778318620

Publisher:  MIRA

Publication Date:  12/29/2015

My Rating:  4 Stars  

 

Danger is all around her… 

 

What should have been a routine investigation for FBI profiler Evelyn Baine turns ominous when she's kidnapped by a dangerous cult of survivalists. As her worst nightmares become a reality, she begins to question what she's seeing. Because the longer she's inside their compound, the more she realizes this group is not what it seems to be. 

 

The next terrorist threat is right beside her… 

 

As the FBI's Hostage Rescue Team closes in, Evelyn suspects she's stumbled onto an emerging terrorist threat—and a cult leader who has a score to settle with the FBI. If Hostage Rescue breaches the compound, Evelyn's dead for sure. If they don't, the cult may unleash a surprise attack that could leave the whole country shattered.

 

 

My Review 

 

A special thank you to Mira and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.   

Elizabeth Heiter returns with her third installment in The Profiler series (nicely researched) with SEIZED -Evelyn Baine, profiler for the FBI – finds herself in one of the most dangerous situations yet, with what appeared to be "survivalist cult" holed up in the mountains—turns deadly.

Evelyn is sharp and she knows how to think like a killer – whether a serial killer, arsonists, bomb-maker, child abductor or terrorist, as she has crawled around in all of the twisted minds. She had learned their fantasies, and figured out their next moves and chased them down. But no matter how many she found, there were always more. She is a non-conformist and does not always follow the rules. (I like this). 

Having read the previous books in The Profiler series (highly recommend) in order to learn more about Evelyn and the motivation behind the woman-- both personally, and professionally: ,
 

In Book # 1 HUNTED , we meet Evelyn Baine, a profiler for the FBI’s elite Behavioral Analysis Unit. She has wanted this job since she was a child, when her best friend disappeared. She is sent to Bakersville, Virginia and comes head to head with a serial killer who is hunting her. She tracks down a deadly serial killer known as the Bakersville Burier and learned just how deadly it can be to get inside the head of a killer. 

In Book #2 VANISHED she returns to her home town for another child abduction case in Rose Bay, South Carolina for a suspense psychological mystery thriller with a mixture of light romance and intrigue. Evelyn has waited for this case her entire life after the disappearance of her best friend—when the Nursery Rhyme Killer resurfaced after eighteen years of silence.

In Book # 3 SEIZED, the intensity heats up! Evelyn returns with fellow agent Kyle McKenzie taking them to a remote area of Montana wilderness. 

Lee Cartwright had been convicted of bombing two black churches and one mosque. People had died and dozens were injured. He was seeking notoriety. Evelyn is profiling him in the Montana State Prison. He was an anti-federalist. He had told officials he had a copycat, and the FBI wanted to find out if it was true. 

Dan Moore, FBI had sent her, because she is on his shit list. A suitable punishment for not following orders on her last case. She was not a team player. Now she has to determine if this guy is telling the truth.

From brain washing, cults, survivalists, home grown terrorism-----Evelyn is sent to check out a dangerous cult of survivalist in the Montana mountains in a compound. What appears to be a routine investigation lands her on the wrong side of a hostage situation and in the middle of an emerging terrorist threat. The cult leader Butler has a score to settle with the FBI. A terrorist. 

In addition to the physical dangers, Evelyn has her own internal decisions and crossroads. Does she continue with her position at the FBI or is something else on the horizon?

The one driving force in her career had been her need to solve her friend’s case. However, she learns there are a lot of people out there with their own Cassie's. People with someone dead or missing from their lives, people who needed closure, and Evelyn would give it to them.

It was nice revisiting with Granny Mabel, the woman who had stood behind her, now in a nursing home in SC.  Fans of Allison Brennan, Tami Hoag, Catherine Coulter, and Lisa Jackson will enjoy the gripping series. 

Sounds as though Evelyn will return for #4 for a brand-new adventure and more to come with Kyle. Recommend reading all the books in the series. Can’t wait to see what’s next! 

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

BookLikes

LibraryThing

Twitter

Tumblr

Amazon 

Buy the Book 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AVENGED 
Want more Evelyn & Kyle? (I do)...

 

Read a complimentary short story. 

Harlequin One Chapter A Day 

Beginning: 12/29-1/22. Read One Chapter Per Day. What a cool idea!

 

Fun, Fun. Read, discuss, share! Love and vengeance

FBI profiler Evelyn Baine and fellow agent Kyle McKenzie are—secretly—on vacation together, visiting an island off the coast of Georgia. Evelyn has recently solved a notorious cold case, so she considers their holiday a reward of sorts. More than that, it's a cautious acknowledgment of her growing feelings for Kyle.

One day a body washes up on the beach, a body that's been disfigured. The killer has carved the word "pervert" into the victim's stomach. A second murder, with the victim labeled a "killer" appears soon after. The police don't agree when Evelyn tells them the murders look like the work of a vigilante trying to avenge…something.

Evelyn and Kyle find their own lives at risk as they move closer to the truth.

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author

 

ELIZABETH HEITER likes her suspense to feature strong heroines, chilling villains, psychological twists, and a little bit (or a lot!) of romance. Her research has taken her into the minds of serial killers, through murder investigations, and onto the FBI Academy’s shooting range.

 

Her suspense series, The Profiler novels, have received criti

cal acclaim. BookReporter called her debut HUNTED "a thriller that grabs readers from the first page" and Fresh Fiction said the sequel VANISHED "is a fast paced thriller that keeps the reader on the edge of the seat."

 

Her romantic suspense series, The Lawmen series, released the first three books in early 2015. DISARMING DETECTIVE, SEDUCED BY THE SNIPER, and SWAT SECRET ADMIRER received all 4 and 4.5 stars from RT Book Reviews.

 

Elizabeth graduated from the University of Michigan with a degree in English Literature. She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and Romance Writers of America.   Website    Twitter

 

 

 

 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg