Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

The Rules of Love & Grammar

 

By: Mary Simses

ISBN: 031638206X

Publisher: Little Brown & Co. 

Publication Date: 5/31/2016
Format: Hardcover 

My Rating: 2.5 Stars

A woman finds love and closure, and rediscovers herself, when she returns to her roots in the enchanting new novel from the author of The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Café.

Newly jobless, newly single, and suddenly apartmentless, writer Grace Hammond has come unmoored. A grammar whiz who's brilliant at correcting other people's errors, she hasn't yet found quite the right set of rules for fixing her own mistakes.

Desperate to escape the city and her trifecta of problems, Grace hits pause and retreats to her Connecticut hometown. What begins as a short visit with her parents quickly becomes a far more meaningful stay, though, as she discovers that the answers to what her future holds might be found by making peace with-and even embracing-the past.

 

As Grace sets out to change her ways and come to terms, finally, with the tragedy that took her older sister's life so many years ago, she rekindles a romance with her high school sweetheart, Peter, now a famous Hollywood director who's filming a movie in town. Sparks also fly at the local bike shop, where Grace's penchant for pointing out what's wrong rattles the owner's ruggedly handsome schoolteacher son, Mitch.

 

Torn between the promise of a glamorous life and the allure of the familiar, Grace must decide what truly matters-and whether it's time for her to throw away the rule book and bravely follow her heart.

 

Buy the Book

 

A special thank you to the publisher for a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review. 

 

 

Advance Reviews


"Mary Simses is a fine writer, very fine, and THE RULES OF LOVE & GRAMMAR is a smart, well-told story about memory, family, and, of course, love."
―James Patterson

"Charming.... Fans of Mary Kay Andrews, Elin Hilderbrand, and Jennifer Close will adore the picturesque setting, genuine characters, and rom-com feel."―Stephanie Turza, Booklist
"You'll laugh and even tear up."
―Good Housekeeping

 

 

"In this sweet and heartfelt story, Simses provides a valuable lesson in the futility of striving for an error-free book of life. A lovely read."―Kirkus Reviews

"A heartfelt story.... [with a] charming plot."
―Oline H. Cogdill, Sun Sentinel

"Charming.... Anyone who enjoys Kristan Higgins or Kristin Harmel is sure to enjoy Mary Simses."―Shelf Awareness

 

 

The Irresistible Blueberry
Bakeshop & Cafe

Read More

About the Author

 

Mary Simses grew up in Darien, Connecticut and began writing stories at the age of seven. In college, she majored in journalism because she didn’t believe she could ever make a living as a fiction writer. After working in magazine publishing for a few years, she went back to school to become a lawyer. While working as a corporate attorney, she enrolled in an evening fiction writing class at a university in Connecticut and began writing short stories “on the side.”

 

 

Several of her stories were published in literary magazines. Mary finally took the advice of a friend and decided to try writing a novel. That manuscript ultimately became The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Café, a number one best-seller in Germany. The Rules of Love & Grammar is her second novel.

 

Mary lives in South Florida with her husband and their daughter. She enjoys reading, taking photographs, listening to music (especially old jazz standards), and spending time in Connecticut in the summer.  Read More 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

October 

Author Q&A 

elevator ride AJ BANNER New.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins