#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Sister

 

By:   Louise Jensen 

ISBN: 9781786810014

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 7/7/2016 

Format: Other 

My Rating: 4 Stars 

"I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me ..." 

Grace hasn't been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie's words, the last time she saw her, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie's. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn't know about her best friend. 

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie's father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie's sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan's home. 

 

But something isn't right. Things disappear, Dan's acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace's mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger? 

 

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie ...or was there? 

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go, and The Girl With No Past. 

 

Buy the Book

 

 

 

My Review

 

A special thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Louise Jensen delivers a twisty and gripping debut THE SISTER –a girl, and her best friend Charlie. Her haunting last words, “I did something terrible, Grace. I hope you can forgive me.”

Charlie died four months earlier. Is she to blame?

Grace receives a letter in the mail in a pink envelope, which triggered a memory of the letter that Charlie hadn’t wanted her to read, hidden in the memory box. Perhaps the letter will hold some kind of clue. She was her best friend, she should know. 

Can you really ever know someone? 

Unable to move forward, Grace is determined to fulfill Charlie's wishes, to find the father who abandoned her and to find out what exactly Charlie was referring to when she said she had done something terrible, and was sorry.

She begins digging.

Grace begins trying to find Charlie’s family. Anna claims to be Charlie’s sister. Grace is thrilled. 

However, something is not just right

Anna and her boyfriend, Dan are acting strangely. She also feels like someone is following her and she is in danger. There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie ...or was there?

Betrayal. Blackmail. Misplaced guilt and fear of abandonment. Things she had shared. 

Grace racks her brain to think what Charlie might have done. 

From then (past) and now (present) the author slowly unravels the pieces of the intriguing puzzle.

The hunted becomes the hunter. 

A gripping suspense mystery, the ongoing guilt about Charlie. The letters. Chilling, an intense psychological suspense which will keep you guessing to the end. Cleverly crafted, terrifying and nerve-racking, a buried memory box and two friends. 

In addition to the advanced reading copy, I also listened to the audiobook, narrated by Natalie Blass for a riveting performance. Bookouture knows how to crank out winners and killer covers! 

Looking forward to more from this new talented author! 

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

BookLikes

LibraryThing

Amazon

Twitter

Tumblr

July Must Reads 

 

 

Q & A with the Author 

 

Advance Praise

 

 

 

About the Author

  

Louise Jensen is a writer of psychological thrillers.  Her debut novel 'The Sister,' is due to be published in July 2016 by Bookouture, with two further novels due for release in 2017.

 

'The Sister’ is a book about a grieving girl who thought there was nothing as frightening as being alone – she was wrong.


Louise also writes flash fiction, and features and articles for both magazines and online publications. Louise specializes in writing about mindfulness, chronic pain and mental health. Read More 

 

 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Book Giveaway Contest

April 21-May 5, 2020

Enter Here

LITTLE SECRETS

Jennifer Hillier 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

D. J. Palmer

Jennifer Hillier

Charles Martin

John Hart

BA Paris

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date 
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins