Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Baby Doll

 

By:  Hollie Overton 

Narrator: Jenna Lamia, MacLeod Andrews, Ellen Archer

ASIN: B01HFMJRPE

Publisher:  Audible Studios

Publication Date: 7/12/2016

Format:  Audio

My Rating:  4 Stars

"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page." -- Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Die Again 

Escape was just the beginning.


Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.


This is what happens next... to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter -- and to her captor.

 

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, BABY DOLL is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

 

Buy the Book

 

 

My Review


From psychological suspense, and reactions of those close to the victims after a tragedy, BABY DOLL is a compulsive debut; a story of evil, survival, and revenge- from talented TV writer Hollie Overton, known for her work on Last Call (2007), Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments (2016) and The Client List (2012). 

 

Held for eight years in a remote cabin, a young woman and her young daughter, finally escape the clutches of their psycho-captor who leads a double life. When returning to their home, what they find is nothing close to normal. A family torn apart at the seams.

 

Lily Riser is a twin and at age sixteen she is kidnapped near the local high school. With years of captivity, abused both mentally, emotionally, and physically, she was not allowed to leave. A man saying, he loved her. He is married to someone else who comes from a wealthy family. He is supposed to be off writing in a remote cabin. 

 

Lily also has a daughter, Sky (six years old), conceived while in captivity. They have only books to entertain them; however, Sky knows nothing of the outside world except a father and a mother. Lily taught her what to do, in the event they had the opportunity to escape. One day, it happened. The evil man was in a hurry and failed to lock the bolt. Lily and Sky took this opportunity. They were not far, from their home. 

 

However, when they arrive home, everything seems to have changed. This is where the book turns inward to the those left behind, more so than the two victims. Readers learn early on, the identity of the captor, which shocks everyone.

 

Of course, we all know, real psychopaths are the ones who are so conspiratorial they can fool everyone with intelligence, looks, and multiple personalities. (Good and Evil). The girls are his "Baby Dolls."

 

Dave the father died of a heart attack soon after the abduction, with all the stress (Lily was his favorite girl). Eve, the mother sleeps with multiple men, to dull the pain (a man was there the night they arrived). The person with the most damage was of course, her identical twin, Abby. She is now ashamed of the things she has done while her twin has been gone. She will not be proud of her. 

 

Lily is shocked at her sister Abby's behavior. From a suicide attempt, an addict, and now pregnant. Sky is totally confused by these people, since she has never met them, and wonders about her dad. She does not understand.

The intensity is high as well as emotions when Lily’s first love appears. Is Abby still unstable, and ready to act out her revenge - her sisters captor. Each person struggles to piece their shattered life back together. With heartfelt emotion, and the strong bonds of identical sisters- An unforgettable portrait of desperation, loyalty, and evil. 

 

As a graphic artist and former publisher, I am attracted to strong front covers. Loved the bold cover, and the colors, with a bit of mystery and intrigue -as well as the title. I purchased the audiobook and the three different narrators, Jenna Lamia, MacLeod Andrews, Ellen Archer gave a wide range of voices for the main characters. The audio was compelling, thought-provoking, and absorbing!

 

There have been a wide range of reviews—I thought this was a great portrayal of life after tragedy (survival), not only for the two victims-the entire family. The author delves into the lives and the psychological fall out. Possibly some readers are seeking more of a crime thriller (apparent in the first part of the book) and are disappointed; however, I feel it is more of a domestic and psychological suspense.

 

For this reason, would compare to: Emma Donoghue’s Room, Chevy Stevens' Still Missing, That Night, and Those Girls as well as Chelsea Cain's One Kick. Also for fans of David Bell, Lisa Genova, Laura Lippman, Susan Lewis, Amy Hatvany, Randy Susan Meyers, and Heather Gudenkauf. 

 

Hollie Overton was raised by her single mother, and—an identical twin herself—she draws on her unique childhood experiences for her first novel, Baby Doll. Overton's father was a member of the notorious Overton gang in Austin, Texas, and spent several years in prison for manslaughter. Hollie is a television writer and resides in Los Angeles. A name we are assured to see and hear, more of! 

 

A recent interview with the author. "Baby Doll is a stand-alone. It’s not a series. The second book is set in Texas, and deals with a woman who works on death row so it’s also a crime thriller. That’s really the only parameters that my editors gave me, and it’s something I’m pretty obsessed with anyway. Dateline is kind of my obsession. And now I write about vampires, werewolves."

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

Booklikes

LibraryThing

Twitter

Tumblr

Amazon

July Top Reads

 

 

 

 

Advance Praise

 

"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page."―New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen

 

"A tense survivor story for fans of Chevy Stevens' Still Missing and Chelsea Cain's One Kick."―Booklist

 

"Captur[es] the unique bond shared by identical twins."―Kirkus

 

"Compelling ... Overton throws in enough twists, turns, and surprises to keep the reader wondering what on earth can happen next."―Publishers Weekly
 

 

About the Author

 

 

Debut author Hollie Overton was raised by her single mother, and Hollie -- an identical twin herself -- draws on her unique childhood experiences for her first novel, Baby Doll. Overton's father was a member of the notorious Overton gang in Austin, Texas, and spent several years in prison for manslaughter.

 

Hollie is a television writer and resides in Los Angeles.  Read More 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date