WINE AND BOOKS GREAT OUTDOORS.jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

Sorrow Road

 

Bell Elkins #5

By: Julia Keller 

ISBN: 9781250089588

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Publication Date: 8/23/2016 

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 4 Stars

In 1944, three young men from a small town in West Virginia are among the American forces participating in D-Day, changing the fortunes of the war with one bold stroke. How is that moment aboard a Navy ship as it barrels toward the Normandy shore related to the death of an old man in an Appalachian nursing home seventy-two years later?

In Sorrow Road, the latest mystery from Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Julia Keller, two stories—one set in the turbulent era of World War II and one in the present day—are woven together to create a piercingly poignant tale of memory and family, of love and murder.

 

Belfa Elkins, prosecuting attorney in Acker’s Gap, West Virginia, is asked by an old acquaintance to look into the death of her beloved father in an Alzheimer’s care facility. Did he die of natural causes—or was something more sinister to blame? And that’s not the only issue with which Bell is grappling: Her daughter Carla has moved back home. But something’s not right. Carla is desperately hiding a secret.

 

Once again, past and present, good and evil, and revenge and forgiveness clash in a riveting story set in the shattered landscape of Acker’s Gap, where the skies can seem dark even at high noon, and the mountains lean close to hear the whispered lament of the people trapped in their shadow.

 

Buy the Book

 

Review to follow!

 

 

 

In Mystery Series's W.Va. River Town, There's No Escape From Terror  Read More

 

 

 

Advance Praise 

 

“Sorrow Road continues the high standards that Keller has established with her series. Sorrow Road, like her other novels, is a story about a community comprised of very personal stories, each as unique as each individual.”―Associated Press

 

“The setting and the tone will appeal to fans of both Sharyn McCrumb and Julia Spencer-Fleming, and the introspective protagonist and literary quality recommend it to followers of Tana French and Louise Penny. Another outstanding entry in a superb series.”―Booklist (starred review) on Sorrow Road

 

"A beautifully crafted mystery in which Keller explores love, hate, and poverty in a place of stunning natural beauty."―Kirkus (starred) on Last Ragged Breath

 

"What particularly distinguishes Julia Keller's series about Bell Elkins, a West Virginia prosecutor, is its sense of social conscience...powerfully affecting."―USA Today on Summer of the Dead

 

"Keller crafts a cracking whodunnit with many a red herring, but her real accomplishment is the unflinching depiction of rural poverty and the ways the inhabitants of Acker's Gap hold on to their dignity despite few and terrible options."―Oprah.com on Summer of the Dead

 

 

About the Author

 

 

Julia was born and raised in Huntington, West Virginia. She graduated from Marshall University, then later earned a doctoral degree in English Literature at Ohio State University.

 

She was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University and has taught at Princeton and Ohio State Universities, and the University of Notre Dame. She is a guest essayist on The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer on PBS and has been a contributor on CNN and NBC Nightly News. In 2005, she won the Pulitzer Prize for Feature Writing.

 

Julia lives in a high-rise in Chicago and a stone cottage on a lake in rural Ohio. Read More

 

 

 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Katherine Center

BA Paris

Robyn Harding

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

Amber Cowie

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date 
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins