Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Some Women

 

By:  Emily Liebert 

ISBN: 0451471881

Publisher:  Penguin

Publication Date: 4/5/2016

Format: Other

My Rating: 4 Stars 

 

An engrossing and thought provoking novel that examines the intricacies of marriage, friendship, and the power of unexpected connections…

Annabel Ford has everything under control, devoting her time to her twin five-year-old boys and to keeping her household running seamlessly. So when her husband of a decade announces that he’s leaving her, without warning, she’s blindsided. And suddenly her world begins to unravel.


Single mother Piper Whitley has always done her best to balance it all—raising her daughter Fern by herself and advancing her career as a crime reporter. Only now that she’s finally met the man of her dreams, Fern’s absentee father arrives on the scene and throws everything into a tailspin.

Married to the heir of a thriving media conglomerate, Mackenzie Mead has many reasons to count her blessings. But with an imperious mother-in-law—who’s also her boss—and a husband with whom she can no longer seem to connect, something has to give.

On the surface, these three women may not have much in common. Yet when their lives are thrust together and unlikely friendships are formed—at a time when they all need someone to lean on—Annabel, Piper, and Mackenzie band together to help each navigate their new realities. 

 


My Review

 

Talented Emily Liebert delivers her charming fifth novel, SOME WOMEN -a contemporary chick-lit of three different strong women, each confronted with a major life-altering changes and decisions. 

With honesty, wit, and new friendships, an inspiring book of reinvention--a nice choice for your summer beach bag. (Stunning cover).  

 

Meet Annabel, Piper, and Mackenzie: 

Annabel, appears to have it all together. From her twin five year old boys, organization, and a home run with finesse. Until her husband makes the announcement. He is leaving. What the heck?

Piper, is a single mom to her daughter, Fern. She juggles all sorts of things, from a hectic career as a crime report, plus her issues with daughter and new man of her dreams, Todd. Fern’s absentee dad, Max is back—a conflict, pulled between the tension. 

Mackenzie, is sharp--married to Trevor, and the heir of a media conglomerate—however, her controlling mother-in-law, Cecilia is pressuring them to start a family. Her marriage may not be strong enough to even support a family unit. 

Three unlikely women from different walks of life meet in a barre class (the author is also a certified barre teacher). They become a support group for one another, when meeting after class over coffee.

Pure Barre —a combination of yoga, Pilates, and ballet. Sculpting—and the inspiration for SOME WOMEN. The technique is low-impact, protecting your joints by avoiding any bouncing or jumping. Let me say, Emily you are looking great--it is working! 

The concentration involved while taking Pure Barre allows you to block "life" out for the hour, creating the mental benefits similarly obtained by the practice of yoga or meditation. (Something all women need). I do a combination, and find it works much better than jogging, cycling, and running, which can create torture for your body as you age (better for your back & arthritis--which comes with high-impact)--plus better, and faster results. 

Pure Barre mantra, “You’re stronger than you think.”

Having read all Emily’s books, she writes of relationships, friendships, motherhood, and marriage—-for the modern contemporary woman,attempting to balance it all-personal and career. 

Fans of Sarah Pekkanen, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin will enjoy Emily’s entertaining, honest, and witty style. 

Sometimes an escape outside your inner world can bring new insights to your problems--a fresh look at your life; breaking out of your inner, comfortable circle of friends-when you are open to new friendships and experiences--you may learn something. 

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

Booklikes

LibraryThing

Amazon

Tumblr

Twitter

April Top Reads

 

Buy the Book

 

 

 

About the Author

 

Emily Liebert was born and raised in New York City, attended the Horace Mann School and Smith College, where she graduated with a B.A. in English Language & Literature.

 

After college, Emily landed her first job as an Executive Assistant at ABC News, where she honed her organizational skills and helped produce television specials for Peter Jennings Reporting. To this day, she is a whiz with “To Do” lists.

Since childhood, Emily’s had a passion for writing, so when the opportunity to become Editor-in-Chief of The WAG—a luxury lifestyle magazine covering Westchester and Fairfield Counties—presented itself, she jumped at the chance. During Emily’s five-year tenure, she wrote hundreds of articles, including celebrity profiles, travel, fashion, and beauty.

 

Ready for her next adventure, Emily became a full-time freelance writer, penning lifestyle pieces for media outlets such as, The Huffington Post, Oprah.com, Elite Traveler, Robb Report, Gotham, and Cottages & Gardens.

 

In 2009, Emily edited Kerry Kennedy’s New York Times bestseller Being Catholic Now: Prominent Americans Talk About Change in the Church and the Quest for Meaning.

The following year, Emily published her first book, Facebook Fairytales, which was featured at the 2010 Frankfurt Book Fair, and Emily was one of 20 guests of honor—among Elizabeth Kostova, Russell Banks, and Lisa See—at the renowned Literary Feast 2010, a privilege reserved for best-selling and buzz-worthy authors.

 

Shortly thereafter, Emily was hired by Microsoft as the spokesperson for Bing’s partnership with Facebook and appeared in 30+ television and radio spots for the brand, which garnered exceptional ratings.

 

In 2012, Emily wrote her debut novel, You Knew Me When (Penguin), which published on September 3, 2013. Her second novel, When We Fall, published on September 2, 2014. Those Secrets We Keep, her third novel, released on June 2, 2015, and her fourth novel, Some Women, will be out on April 5, 2016, all with Penguin Random House.

 

Emily is featured often in the press, by outlets such as: Today Show, The Rachael Ray Show, Anderson Cooper, FOX News, Good Day New York, Oprah Radio, Martha Stewart Radio, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, InStyle, People StyleWatch, OK!, Nylon, Ladies’ Home Journal, Woman’s World, WWD, Woman’s Day, The New York Post, The Washington Post, The New York Daily News, The Chicago Tribune, Boston Herald, People.com, and The Huffington Post.

 

When Emily’s not writing, she teaches Pure Barre classes and enjoys traveling, cooking, and cozying up with a good book. She’s been known to ride on a Harley Davidson. And she does a mean Running Man on the dance floor. Emily lives with her husband, Lewis, and their two delicious little boys, Jax and Hugo, in Westport, CT where she moved kicking and screaming for fear that there would be no Chinese food delivery at three in the morning. She was right. Read More 

 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date