library books key .jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

  • Judith D Collins

Crimson Lake


Crimson Lake

Crimson Lake Series #1

By: Candice Fox

ISBN: 0765398486

Publisher: Forge Books

Publication Date: 3/6/2018

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 4.5 Stars "Complex, human characters, and a dark, meaty story, and fine writing, and a great sense of place – this is one of the best crime thrillers of the year. Sign me up as a big-time Fox fan!" ―Lee Child Crimson Lake by Sydney-based, Ned Kelly award-winning author Candice Fox is a thrilling contemporary crime novel set in Queensland, Australia, perfect for readers of authors like James Patterson, Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, and Tana French.

Six minutes in the wrong place at the wrong time--that's all it took to ruin Sydney Detective Ted Conkaffey's life. Accused but not convicted of the brutal abduction of a 13-year-old girl, Ted is now a free man--and public enemy number one. He flees north to keep a low profile amidst the steamy, croc-infested wetlands of Crimson Lake.

There, Ted’s lawyer introduces him to private investigator Amanda Pharrell, herself a convicted murderer. Perhaps it’s the self-isolation and murderous past that makes her so adept at tracking lost souls in the wilderness, but her latest target, missing author Jake Scully, has a life more shrouded in secrets than her own.

Not entirely convinced Amanda is a cold-blooded killer,Ted agrees to help with her investigation, a case full of deception and obsession, while secretly digging into her troubled past. The residents of Crimson Lake are watching the pair's every move...once Ted’s true identity becomes known, the threats against him become violent and the town offers no place to hide.

Buy the Book

Review to follow.

Praise

"A bright new star of crime fiction – inventive, thrilling and totally addictive." ―James Patterson

"A masterful novel that teases right up to its final page. Definitely a writer to watch." ―Harlan Coben

"Complex, human characters, and a dark, meaty story, and fine writing, and a great sense of place – this is one of the best crime thrillers of the year. Sign me up as a big-time Fox fan!" ―Lee Child

About the Author

Award-winning author CANDICE FOX is the author of Crimson Lake. She is also co-writer with James Patterson of the #1 New York Times bestseller Never, Never (and its Bookshots prequel Black & Blue), and is currently working with him on the sequel. She lives in Sydney. Read More

15 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS