Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Little Broken Things

 

By:  Nichole Baart

ISBN: 1501133608

Publisher:  Atria 

Publication Date:  11/21/2017 

Format: Paperback  

My Rating: Stars (ARC)

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Basset receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up on Quinn’s doorstep just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

 

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

 

While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a sister will go to protect the ones she loves.

 

Buy the Book

 

My Review

 

A compelling multi-layered story of family, LITTLE BROKEN THINGS by talented Nichole Baart —a beautifully written story of secrets of the past, motherhood, and sacrifices. Those desperately trying to protect those secrets. 

Triumph over tragedy.  Loss, hope, and forgiveness. 

Set in Minnesota the Sanford family. Two estranged sisters, Quinn and Nora. They have never been close and Quinn is shocked when she receives a cryptic text message from her older sister Nora.

Nora shows up with a six-year-old girl. Her name is Lucy. (Everlee) She instructs her sister to keep her safe and not mention the child to anyone. Particularly their overbearing mother, Liz.

Quinn is married to an artist. Nora always thought her sister was the perfect one. Quinn was the beauty of the family and JJ was the brains – where did Nora fit in? 

Turns out Nora was the whole package: whip-smart and lovely, bighearted and wise. She is hiding a secret. Who is she protecting?

Quinn does not understand where this child came from and why is Nora leaving her in her care? Everyone wants answers. 

They must protect the child. Slowly the family mystery is unraveled and the parentage of Lucy. 

Told from three POV with highly charged topics. When nothing is as it appears. A family hiding behind a façade.

Haunting and heartbreaking, the painful past is revealed. A tragedy turns into something beautiful, bonding a family from the sins of the past. 

Powerful, emotional, and suspenseful. Love and friendship. An inside look at a family. A relationship between a mother and two sisters. The lengths one sister will go to protect the ones she loves. 

“Broken things are the loveliest.” —Sara Teasdale

For fans of domestic suspense and authors Amy Hatvany, Karma Brown, Joshilyn Jackson, and Heather Gudenkauf.

“We are all broken—that’s how the light gets in.”― Ernest
Hemingway


My first book by the author and looking forward to reading more. Would encourage you to read more about the author on her website! 

 

Impressive. Truly, her stories celebrate the triumph of the human spirit and beauty in the midst of brokenness. 

A special thank you to Atria and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy. 

JDCMustReadBooks

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

BookLikes

LibraryThing

Twitter

Tumblr

Pinterest

Amazon

Nov Top Reads

 

 

Advance Praise

 

 

 

"Richly atmospheric and featuring a compelling cast of sharply drawn female characters, Little Broken Things is both a page-turner and a thoughtful examination of what it means to mother and be mothered, in all its most real and varied forms."  —Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia and Where They Found Her

 

"Beautifully layered...gives readers everything they could possible want in a novel - vivid, engaging characters, a town filled with dark secrets, a mind-twisting mystery and the ferocious power of a mother's love. Original and gripping, Little Broken Things is a stunner that will linger with you long after the final page is turned." —Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence and Not A Sound

 

“If you liked Big Little Lies, you’ll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart, which will be released in November—just in time for your Thanksgiving holiday reading. This novel will engross you in the suspenseful story of Quinn Cruz; her estranged and troubled sister, Nora; and a mysterious little girl named Lucy who shows up on her doorstep.”—Southern Living

 

"Nicole Baart weaves exquisite writing with unstoppable drama in this tale of family schisms and secrets on a collision course with life-threatening danger. Putting down Little Broken Things was impossible." —Randy Susan Meyers, bestselling author of Accidents of Marriage and The Widow of Wall Street

 

"I have long been a fan of Nicole Baart’s finely crafted, flawed characters, her deft plotting, her fluid, lovely writing, and all of these gifts are on display in Little Broken Things. I cared about these sisters, feared and hoped for them, and lost my heart to Lucy, the locked-shut little girl living in the center of the book’s secrets. It’s a gripping and suspenseful tale that kept me turning pages late into the night; move it to the top of your stack." —Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of The Almost Sisters

 

"Nicole Baart has outdone herself with this lush, evocative family drama full of shocking twists and a heart-warming grand finale. I will think about the Sanford family for a good long time. Put Little Broken Things on your fall reading list now!" —Kate Moretti, New York Times bestselling author of The Vanishing Year)

 

"Little Broken Things made me abandon my life and responsibilities for days. Stunning, beautifully wrought, tenaciously hopeful—move this book to the very top of your book club list." —Kimberly Stuart, author of Sugar: A Novel and the Heidi Elliott series

 

“Hold on to your hearts for this one. Nicole Baart leaves no emotion untapped with Little Broken Things as she nudges readers to ask: What kind of mother am I? With page after page of her trademark lyrical prose, Baart offers a treat of a tale that will please her loyal readers while drawing the praise of many more. Soul-stretchingly good!” Julie Cantrell, author of Into the Free and Perennials

 

“Suspenseful, heartfelt, and emotionally rich, Little Broken Things explores the complicated bonds of family—those we’re born into and those we choose. Baart’s writing—as always—is a delight.” —Elizabeth Blackwell, author of While Beauty Slept and In the Shadow of Lakecrest

 

About the Author

 

 

Nicole Baart wants to live in a world filled with handwritten letters, New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, and great conversation.

 

A critically acclaimed novelist, Nicole’s work has been featured as a Midwest Connections book pick, nominated for a Christy Award, and earned a starred and featured review from Publishers Weekly. In 2011 she co-authored a book that debuted at #4 on the New York Times bestseller list.
 

Nicole is also the co-founder of a non-profit organization, One Body One Hope, that partners with a sisterhood of churches and orphanages in Monrovia, Liberia. An adoption advocate and the mother of four children from four different countries, Nicole speaks on a variety of topics ranging from orphan care to parenthood to books and the writing process.

 

When Nicole’s not writing, working for One Body One Hope, or carpooling her children from school to hockey to gymnastics to cello lessons, you can usually find her outside. A lover of the great outdoors and a child at heart, Nicole’s favorite pastimes include playing with her kids, gardening, camping, and practicing her many hobbies including running, photography, baking, and re-teaching herself how to play the piano.

 

Nicole lives with her family in a small town in Iowa, but holds dual American/Canadian citizenship and considers British Columbia her second home. Since Liberia is also home, Nicole likes to think of herself as a global citizen. She and her family love to travel and hope to see the world together–before her kids are too old to consider their parents cool.

 

Nicole’s eight novels range from romantic to suspenseful, but she is known for her artistic prose and finely drawn characters. Her stories celebrate the triumph of the human spirit and beauty in the midst of brokenness.  Read More

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg