Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

A Bella Flora Christmas

 

Ten Beach Road Novella

By:  Wendy Wax

ASIN: B0719NWD4S

Publisher: Berkley

Publication Date: 11/7/2017

Format: Kindle

My Rating:  5 Stars 

The ladies of Ten Beach Road are home for the holidays in this brand-new novella.

Although their lives have changed since their first desperate renovation of Bella Flora, friends Madeline, Avery, and Nicole have always been there for each other. Now they're returning to Bella Flora for Christmas—where Maddie’s daughter Kyra isn’t feeling particularly celebratory. 

 

Kyra was hoping for a peaceful holiday at Bella Flora—a last gathering before a wealthy, mystery tenant moves into the home she’s been forced to rent out. Instead, she must make a life altering decision by New Year’s -- a decision that becomes even more difficult when unexpected guests arrive at Ten Beach Road on Christmas Eve. Now Kyra, Maddie, Avery and Nikki will need to pull together to secure Bella Flora’s future, as well as their own.

 

Buy the Book

 

 

My Review

 

Wendy Wax returns with her popular Ten Beach Road Series, following (2017) One Good Thing with A BELLA FLORA CHRISTMAS. 

Love catching up with my favorite gals in Florida for A BELLA FLORA CHRISTMAS. This go around Kyra has some difficult decisions to make and the adorable beach cottages at Sunshine Hotel are getting occupied quickly by the ladies for new beginnings. (Enjoy novellas and a fan of cottages).

Things are tense this Christmas season with the approaching deadline of New Years Day. 

Kyra is less than happy with the idea of Dustin (her son), portraying Daniel and his real-life moe star wife, Tonja Kay's son. There is no more time for hedging. She has to commit or refuse by New Year's Day.

She agreed to rent Bella Flora to a mystery tenant for an amount that gives Kyra the option of turning down the million dollars Daniel and his wife offered for Dustin to play their son. She does not want to ruin their holiday. 

The idea of strangers living in the house the women have worked so hard to hang onto is devastating; however, renting it out seems a better solution than losing her completely. 

The anonymity is making everyone anxious. 

If she cannot find a way to pay off the entire loan she took out, it could be the last holiday they would get to spend in Bella Flora.

Love these ladies and totally invested in the series.

 

Best of all, we get a preview of BEST BEACH EVER Coming May 22, 2018 —with more Maddie, Kyra, Avery, Nikki and the crew! Pre-Order Now. 

Wendy Wax, "you are killing me!" Talk about tempting . . . I was swiping, dying to find out the mystery tenant of Bella Flora. Talk about a cliffhanger . . . . Could not pre-order this one fast enough. 

Please, someone, grant me an ARC for Christmas. Not sure I can wait until May for the unveiling. Seriously, I LOVE the cover and this series. Please do not let it end! 

Highly recommend (one of my favorite authors) — if you have not read the series, start with book one and read them all. Even though the author does a great job of catching you up, you do not want to miss a thing! (Maddie is still my favorite of the women).

A special thank you as always to Berkley and NetGalley for an early reading copy. Also purchased the e-book and audible book narrated by Amy Rubinaqte.

 

Review Links:

Goodreads

BookLikes

LibraryThing 

Twitter

Tumblr

Pinterest

Nov Must Reads 
Amazon

 

 

Praise for Wendy Wax and her novels

 

 


 "[A] sparkling, deeply satisfying tale."—New York Times bestselling author Karen White
 
"Reading Wendy Wax is like discovering a witty, wise, and wonderful new friend."—New York Times bestselling author Claire Cook
 
"Fans of Jane Green and Mary Alice Monroe will adore Wax's lively characters, witty dialogue, and heartfelt prose."—Booklist
 
“Wax’s Florida titles [the Ten Beach Road novels] are terrific for lovers of women’s fiction and family drama, especially if you enjoy a touch of suspense and romance.”—Library Journal
 
"If you're a sucker for plucky women who rise to the occasion, this is for you."—USA Today
 
"[Wax] writes with breezy wit and keen insight."—The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

 

 

About the Author

 

 

One Good Thing and While We Were Watching Downton Abbey novelist Wendy Wax is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary women’s fiction.


Her fiction explores friendship, loyalty, self-discovery and the seemingly insurmountable challenges life sometimes presents. Born in St. Petersburg, Florida, she grew up on St. Pete Beach within spitting distance of the Gulf of Mexico.  Appropriately enough, Wendy attended Sunshine Elementary School where recess and art class sometimes took place on the beach, and the highlight of every school year was the annual fish broil. Not surprisingly, some of her favorite Florida beaches were destined to become settings for her best selling fiction, including her bestselling Ten Beach Road novels.


It’s hard to be a type-A personality when you grow up in such a laid-back environment, but somehow Wendy managed. Convinced that you were expected to know how to read before you showed up for school, at the age of five she forced a neighbor friend to teach her.  She’s been devouring the written word ever since. Books, one of Wendy’s greatest treasures and best forms of escape, have had a major impact on her life and on her decision to create stories about women, friendship, family and triumph over adversity leavened with her trademark honesty and humor.


Wendy’s writing has been highly praised. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution says she “writes with breezy wit and keen insight into family relations.” Her books have been featured in national publications such as USA Today, Ladies Home Journal, CNN Online and Woman’s World, and at online book sites such as On a Clear Day I Can Read Forever, Luxury Reading, Book Reporter, Night Owl Reviews and Fresh Fiction.  In 2011 she was honored by the City of St. Pete Beach when the City Commission declared May 12th “Wendy Wax Day.”
wendywaspressmr2Prior to writing, Wendy worked in radio, television and film, most notably as writer, producer and host of The Home Front, which aired on PBS station across the country, and as the host of a Friday night radio show called Desperate & Dateless when she was both.


The mother of a toddler and a newborn when she first decided to write, Wendy admits it may not have been the best timing in terms of productivity.  “I’m still not certain why I felt so compelled to write my first novel at that particular time,” she says, “but that first book took forever.” Since then, she’s written ten others and an e-book original novella.  

 

In addition to her Ten Beach Road titles, SUNSHINE BEACH, THE HOUSE ON MERMAID POINT, OCEAN BEACH, TEN BEACH ROAD and her novella, Christmas at the Beach, and WHILE WE WERE WATCHING DOWNTON ABBEY, they are A WEEK AT THE LAKE, WHILE WE WERE WATCHING DOWNTON ABBEY, MAGNOLIA WEDNESDAYS, THE ACCIDENTAL BESTSELLER, HOSTILE MAKEOVER, LEAVE IT TO CLEAVAGE, SINGLE IN SUBURBIA, and 7 DAYS AND 7 NIGHTS.


When not writing, Wendy visits with readers at bookstores and book events, reads, enjoys her and her husband’s newly empty nest and catches up with her sons on the serendipitous occasions when everyone ends up in the same place at the same time.


Wendy loves to hear from her readers! You can reach her at wendy@authorwendywax.com. Read More

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date