Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Blood Truth

 

Rick Cahill #4

By: Matt Coyle 

ISBN:  1608092399

Publisher:  Oceanview

Publication Date: 12/5/2017 

Format: Hardcover

My Rating:  4 Stars (ARC)

A hard-boiled PI novel for fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald and Dashiell Hammett. From Anthony Award Winning and best-selling author Matt Coyle, the fourth in the Rick Cahill series.

Rick Cahill has long feared the truth about his own blood—the blood of his father coursing through his veins.

T
hen a long-hidden safe unlocks clues about why his father was kicked off the police force twenty-seven years ago and then spiraled into an early drunken death, Rick determines to find the truth even if it proves the one thing he’s always feared.

 

But as he grapples with his father’s past, the woman he still loves pleads with him to find out if her husband is having an affair—or is involved in something much more sinister. Could the truth send her back into Rick’s arms? Would he have a last shot at happiness? He may never get the chance to find out, as killers who will do anything to protect their secrets lurk in the shadows.

 

Buy the Book

 

A special thank you to NetGalley and Oceanview for an advanced reading copy.  Review to follow

Praise

 

"Cahill is a fantastic addition to the PI literary canon. He’s a sympathetic character with deep flaws but an unnerving drive to find truth at any cost... Expertly written and featuring a snarky and self-deprecating hero, Blood Truth builds up compelling mysteries and thunders toward a satisfying, if surprising, ending." ―Foreword Reviews (Starred Review)

 

"Readers will root for Rick Cahill, hardboiled PI and one-man wrecking ball, as he searches for the truth about his police officer father in Blood Truth, the latest installment in Matt Coyle's winning series." ―Hallie Ephron, New York Times best-selling author of You'll Never Know, Dear

 

“Matt Coyle's protagonist, Rick Cahill, is haunted both by the sins of his father and by his own mistakes ― but he's driven to find the truth, no matter where it takes him, and that's what makes this story so compelling. Coyle is the real deal, and [Blood Truth] is the best PI novel I've read in years, period.” ―Steve Hamilton, New York Times best-selling author of Exit Strategy

 

“Coyle manages both stories nicely in this strong addition to this hard-boiled series.” ―Publishers Weekly

 

"Blood Truth is tough, savvy, and emotionally nuanced. With an intriguing plot, engaging characters, and rich sense of place, Matt Coyle honors the PI tradition while also making it his own." ―Lou Berney, Edgar Award-winning author of The Long and Faraway Gone

 

“Coyle’s latest hard-boiled series entry provides plenty of fast-paced action and smart sidekick repartee.” ―Library Journal

 

“If you’re looking for a fast-paced mystery packed with emotional punch, look no further. This one’s a winner.” ―Killer Nashville

 

“Each of the series raises the hardboiled thriller bar, but this multifaceted Chandler-like installment rockets that measure to Himalaya heights.” ―L. Dean Murphy, Bookreporter

 

“Blood Truth is... loaded with thought-provoking twists and turns... Rick Cahill has many flaws, but that makes him even more interesting and realistic.” ―Fresh Fiction

 

“While this story is a deep look into his protagonist’s emotional depth, Coyle does not disappoint those readers wanting a tough, intriguing plot.” ―Le Coeur de l’Artiste

 

“Blood Truth takes readers on a journey with many twists and turns on its way to a fantastic ending.” ―InD’Tale Magazine

 

 

Praise for the Rick Cahill series:

 

"Dark Fissures is a roller coaster ride through the streets of San Diego. Tightly plotted with memorable characters. An outstanding read!" ―C. J. Box, New York Times best-selling author

 

"Matt Coyle's Dark Fissures is a meticulously plotted detective novel with such fast and continuous action that neither the cars nor the gun barrels ever cool down. Go buy it." ―Thomas Perry, Edgar Award-winning author

 

"Following an Anthony Award-winning debut isn't easy, but Matt Coyle slammed a homer. Hard, tough, humane―Night Tremors is outstanding!" ―Robert Crais, Anthony, Macavity, and Shamus Award-winning author

 

"Matt Coyle has expanded his substantial talents in Night Tremors, his second mystery. Tight, smart, and surprising, Night Tremors breathes fresh life into the PI tradition and entertains us all the way." ―T. Jefferson Parker, three-time Edgar Award-winning author

 

"There are plenty of pretenders to Dashiell Hammett's legacy, but Matt Coyle nails it in his latest. Night Tremors is dark, devious, and thoroughly disarming, breathing new life into the hardboiled PI genre. Sam Spade would raise a glass of whiskey in appreciation." ―Hilary Davidson, Anthony Award-winning author

 

"I think I'm falling for Rick Cahill. He's the best kind of down-on-his-luck detective: hard-boiled yet vulnerable; gritty but gallant; somewhat of a screw-up but noble to the core. Coyle's writing was terrific out of the gate, but still manages to get even better [Dark Fissures]." ―Kristi Belcamino, Anthony, Barry, and Macavity award nominee

 

About the Author

 

 

 

Best-selling author Matt Coyle is the winner of the Anthony Award, the Benjamin Franklin Silver Medal, the San Diego Book Award, and is a Shamus, Macavity, and Lefty Award finalist as well. He has a degree in English from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and has worked in the restaurant, golf, and sports collectible businesses.

 

Blood Truth is the fourth in his Rick Cahill crime series. Matt lives in San Diego with his yellow Lab, Angus.  Read More

 

 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2019 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins