#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

Say Nothing

 

By: Brad Parks

ISBN: 9781101985595)

Publisher: Dutton

Publication Date:  3/7/2017 

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: Currently Reading
 

"The work of an author who continues to raise his sights and refine his immense talent."--Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Terrific book. Truly terrific. Tension throughout and tears at the end." --Sue Grafton

Judge Scott Sampson doesn't brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: A prestigious job. A loving marriage. A pair of healthy children. Then a phone call begins every parent's most chilling nightmare. Scott's six-year-old twins, Sam and Emma, have been taken. The judge must rule exactly as instructed in a drug case he is about to hear. If he refuses, the consequences for the children will be dire.

 

For Scott and his wife Alison, the kidnapper's call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror. Through it all, they will stop at nothing to get their children back, no matter the cost to themselves . . . or to each other.

 

"Complications and twists build to an unexpected climax that is both perfect and gut-wrenching."--Library Journal, starred review

 

"Grips the reader from the get-go and doesn't let up until the final twist."--Associated Press 

 

Buy the Book 

 

 

 

 

Listen to Audiobook clip narrated by George Newbern (Penguin Audio) 

Praise for Say Nothing

 

“Parks does a fantastic job conveying every parent’s worst fear while also showcasing the marital conflict and mistrust that erupts in the midst of a crisis....Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner will love this thriller. Don’t stay silent, tell everyone.”
Library Journal (starred review)

 

“The novel’s final pages are exciting, surprising and deeply moving. How moving? Its ending brought me to tears, and, where books are concerned, such moments are rare...[Say Nothing] carries his work to a new level.”
The Washington Post

 

“Parks dispenses plot twists with a poisoned eyedropper...The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you'll be shaking with gratitude that it's finally over.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

 

“[Say Nothing] begins by shocking the mind and ends by shattering the heart...Readers will quickly say ‘yes’ to this spellbinding, disturbing novel.”
The Richmond Times-Dispatch

 

“Shamus Award–winner Parks’s excellent domestic thriller credibly portrays a family under severe stress...[readers will] find themselves on pins and needles awaiting the reveals.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

“A mystery is supposed to be a surprise but this one floored me. Parks has been a consistently solid writer but with this book, he entered a new level with even fuller characters and superb plotting. Parks plumbs parents' anguish when their children are kidnapped.”
—NJ.com

 

“Fast-paced and terrifying, Say Nothing is a roller coaster of fear, deception, jealousy, and terror.”
Bustle

 

“With the tension ratcheted up to 10, you’ll churn through pages like your life depends on it. Filled with more twists and turns than a country back road, you will never see what lies ahead....After reading Say Nothing, I only had one thought in my head: I have to read everything Parks has written.”
Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star

 

“Parks’ legal thriller gets off to a roaring start, plunking us immediately in the middle of things.”
Booklist
 
“Outstanding—starts with a bang and gets tenser and tenser. Say Nothing shows Parks is a quality writer at the top of his form.”
Lee Child
 
“Say Nothing moves Brad Parks onto the top shelf of thriller writers. He grabs readers' hearts in the first chapter, and doesn't let go until the last line.”
Joseph Finder
 
“A pedal-to-the floor thriller! Say Nothing grabs you from the first few paragraphs and never lets go. Writing in sharp, no-nonsense prose, Parks perfectly nails the dynamics of a family under the gun and has conjured a plot (did I mention high-speed?) that leaps straight from today’s headlines. This novel’s a winner!”
Jeffery Deaver
 
“Say Nothing is tremendously satisfying, packed with engaging characters and surprising plot twists and a furious build of tension until its gut-wrenching pay-off.”
Chris Pavone
 
“A twisting, suspenseful ride that adds a new and original twist to the legal thriller: a judge, cornered. If you haven't discovered Brad Parks yet, Say Nothing is your chance. Smart, propulsive storytelling.”
William Landay

 

“Grips you in a vice from the very beginning, and shreds your emotions. Terrific, powerful storytelling at its very best. A tour de force.”
Peter James

 

About the Author

 

 

Brad Parks is the only author to have won the Shamus, Nero and Lefty Awards, three of crime fiction's most prestigious prizes. His first standalone thriller, Say Nothing, released March 2017 from Dutton Books in the U.S., along with thirteen other publishers worldwide. Parks's six previous novels chart the adventures of sometimes-dashing investigative newspaper reporter Carter Ross, and have collectively won stars from every major pre-publication review outlet.

 

A graduate of Dartmouth College, Parks is a former journalist with The Washington Post and The (Newark, N.J.) Star-Ledger. He is now a full-time novelist living in Virginia with his wife and two school-aged children.  

Read More 

 

 

 

 

Closer than You Know

 

By:  Brad Parks

ISBN: 1101985623

Publisher:  Dutton

Publication Date: 3/6/2018 

Format: Hardcover 

Pre-Order Book

 

Brad Parks delivers another riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew.

 

Disaster, Melanie Barrick was once told, is always closer than you know. 

Read More 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

2020 Newsletters

Book Giveaway Contest

Jan 14-Feb 3, 2020

Winner:

Christine L. Moore

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

Suzanne Redfearn

Samantha M. Bailey

D. J. Palmer

Jennifer Hillier

Charles Martin

John Hart

BA Paris

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date