fall desk jdc must read books.png

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Secret

 

By: K. L. Slater 

ASIN: 9781786815750

Publisher: Bookouture 

Publication Date: 7/27/2018 

Format: e-book 

My Rating:  4 Stars

You turn your back for a minute. And now your son is in terrible danger …

Louise is struggling to cope. As a busy working mum, she often has to leave her eight-year-old son Archie at her sister Alice’s flat. 

Alice and Louise used to be close. But there’s a lot they don’t know about each other now - like the bottle of vodka Louise hides in her handbag, Alice’s handsome new friend and the odd behaviour of her next-door neighbour. 

 

Archie is a curious little boy. He likes to play on his own at his auntie’s flat until one day when he sees something he shouldn’t. Now he has a secret of his own. One he can’t tell his mum. One that could put him and his family in terrible danger.

 

The most gripping psychological thriller you’ll read this year from the top five bestselling author K.L.Slater. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

 

Buy the Book

 

Praise

 

 

What readers are saying about K.L.Slater: 

 

'Omg! Slater is amazing! She is such a talented writer! Up to the very last page you will be shocked! Her cast of characters are so real!!!! Such a memorable book!... The end will have you gasping in disbelief! Whoa!!!!! 10 Stars!' Two Girls and a Book Obsession, 5 stars

 

‘One of the best psychological thrillers I've read… nothing short of stunning.' Nigel Adams Book Worm, 5 stars

 

'Keeps you guessing until the very end! I loved every twist and turn and couldn't stop reading because I was dying to know what the big secret was ... will keep you up late to find out the truth!' Buried in a Book

 

‘One word - spectacular! This author gets better and better... This book had me on tenterhooks and there were times I forgot to breathe… She has exceeded the high standards she set in her previous books. Brilliant! An amazing, addictive, thrilling, unputdownable, fabulous read.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars

 

'Twisssssss-ted! This book really played with my headspace… thanks for that K.L.! This book is a roller coaster ride of emotions and secrets and spookiness --- when I finally finished it at 3.45 am I was so nervous I checked the locks three times.Book club pick for May? Picked!!!... A solid, five-star book!!!' Janet's Book Corner, 5 stars

 

‘She has done it again… I loved this book!! It had a great plot that was woven so well… 5 stars from me – very enjoyable and an addictive read!’ Donna’s Book Blog, 5 stars

 

‘The kind of book that you pick up and can’t put down again until the last page…I thought I had figured out everyone and everything but boy, was I wrong! This is the kind of book that you haunts you… an addictive, suspenseful, character-driven thriller… without a doubt an entertaining, compelling read.’ A Haven for Book Lovers, 5 stars

 

'Once started I couldn't put it down. Excellent characters, full of suspense and so well-paced it is a must-read for anyone who like psychological thrillers… An excellent read and I highly recommend it.' Worcester Sauce

 

‘Always look forward to reading K.L. Slater's novels… She certainly knows how to grab your attention from the start and keeps you there until the very end… Before I knew it, I’d devoured this book in one day… An addictive read full of suspense and mystery.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews

 

‘A huge HIT. I loved it and couldn’t read quickly enough … The reveal (or reveals should I say) when it came was brilliant and completely knocked me for six. It was a chilling, haunting ending and that means these characters will be living in my mind for a while longer yet… I can’t do anything but highly recommend The Visitor.’ Goodreads Reviewer 

 

About the Author

 

 

 

My writing journey . . .

 

After years of trying to get published and never getting further than the slush pile, I went back to university at the age of 40 where I gained  a first-class honours degree in English & Creative Writing and an MA in Creative Writing with distinction.

 

Although I also worked full-time during the five years I studied at university, the courses gave me the time and space to try different writing and increased my confidence and belief in my writing. Before I graduated from my MA, I had secured representation with my agent, Clare Wallace, at the Darley Anderson Literacy, TV and Film Agency and had my first book deal.

 

My first adult psychological thriller for Bookouture is called ‘Safe with Me’ and it actually started life as my dissertation on my English & Creative Writing degree.

The creepy voice of Anna came to me strong and insistent . . . she wanted to be written, she wouldn’t go away. Please take a look at my ‘Books’ page for the full blurb.

 

I live in Nottingham with my husband, Mac. Between us we have three grown-up kids; Francesca, Nathan and Jake.

 

I also write multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.  Read More 

Please reload

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins