#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Secret

 

By: K. L. Slater 

ASIN: 9781786815750

Publisher: Bookouture 

Publication Date: 7/27/2018 

Format: e-book 

My Rating:  4 Stars

You turn your back for a minute. And now your son is in terrible danger …

Louise is struggling to cope. As a busy working mum, she often has to leave her eight-year-old son Archie at her sister Alice’s flat. 

Alice and Louise used to be close. But there’s a lot they don’t know about each other now - like the bottle of vodka Louise hides in her handbag, Alice’s handsome new friend and the odd behaviour of her next-door neighbour. 

 

Archie is a curious little boy. He likes to play on his own at his auntie’s flat until one day when he sees something he shouldn’t. Now he has a secret of his own. One he can’t tell his mum. One that could put him and his family in terrible danger.

 

The most gripping psychological thriller you’ll read this year from the top five bestselling author K.L.Slater. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

 

Buy the Book

 

Praise

 

 

What readers are saying about K.L.Slater: 

 

'Omg! Slater is amazing! She is such a talented writer! Up to the very last page you will be shocked! Her cast of characters are so real!!!! Such a memorable book!... The end will have you gasping in disbelief! Whoa!!!!! 10 Stars!' Two Girls and a Book Obsession, 5 stars

 

‘One of the best psychological thrillers I've read… nothing short of stunning.' Nigel Adams Book Worm, 5 stars

 

'Keeps you guessing until the very end! I loved every twist and turn and couldn't stop reading because I was dying to know what the big secret was ... will keep you up late to find out the truth!' Buried in a Book

 

‘One word - spectacular! This author gets better and better... This book had me on tenterhooks and there were times I forgot to breathe… She has exceeded the high standards she set in her previous books. Brilliant! An amazing, addictive, thrilling, unputdownable, fabulous read.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars

 

'Twisssssss-ted! This book really played with my headspace… thanks for that K.L.! This book is a roller coaster ride of emotions and secrets and spookiness --- when I finally finished it at 3.45 am I was so nervous I checked the locks three times.Book club pick for May? Picked!!!... A solid, five-star book!!!' Janet's Book Corner, 5 stars

 

‘She has done it again… I loved this book!! It had a great plot that was woven so well… 5 stars from me – very enjoyable and an addictive read!’ Donna’s Book Blog, 5 stars

 

‘The kind of book that you pick up and can’t put down again until the last page…I thought I had figured out everyone and everything but boy, was I wrong! This is the kind of book that you haunts you… an addictive, suspenseful, character-driven thriller… without a doubt an entertaining, compelling read.’ A Haven for Book Lovers, 5 stars

 

'Once started I couldn't put it down. Excellent characters, full of suspense and so well-paced it is a must-read for anyone who like psychological thrillers… An excellent read and I highly recommend it.' Worcester Sauce

 

‘Always look forward to reading K.L. Slater's novels… She certainly knows how to grab your attention from the start and keeps you there until the very end… Before I knew it, I’d devoured this book in one day… An addictive read full of suspense and mystery.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews

 

‘A huge HIT. I loved it and couldn’t read quickly enough … The reveal (or reveals should I say) when it came was brilliant and completely knocked me for six. It was a chilling, haunting ending and that means these characters will be living in my mind for a while longer yet… I can’t do anything but highly recommend The Visitor.’ Goodreads Reviewer 

 

About the Author

 

 

 

My writing journey . . .

 

After years of trying to get published and never getting further than the slush pile, I went back to university at the age of 40 where I gained  a first-class honours degree in English & Creative Writing and an MA in Creative Writing with distinction.

 

Although I also worked full-time during the five years I studied at university, the courses gave me the time and space to try different writing and increased my confidence and belief in my writing. Before I graduated from my MA, I had secured representation with my agent, Clare Wallace, at the Darley Anderson Literacy, TV and Film Agency and had my first book deal.

 

My first adult psychological thriller for Bookouture is called ‘Safe with Me’ and it actually started life as my dissertation on my English & Creative Writing degree.

The creepy voice of Anna came to me strong and insistent . . . she wanted to be written, she wouldn’t go away. Please take a look at my ‘Books’ page for the full blurb.

 

I live in Nottingham with my husband, Mac. Between us we have three grown-up kids; Francesca, Nathan and Jake.

 

I also write multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.  Read More 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Book Giveaway Contest

April 21-May 5, 2020

Enter Here

LITTLE SECRETS

Jennifer Hillier 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

D. J. Palmer

Jennifer Hillier

Charles Martin

John Hart

BA Paris

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date