fall desk jdc must read books.png

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

Cross Her Heart

 

By: Sarah Pinborough

ISBN: 0062856790

Publisher: William Morrow

Publication Date: 9/4/2018 

Format: Other

My Rating: 3 Stars

"Sarah Pinborough is about to become your new obsession."—Harlan Coben

Lisa is living a lie and everyone is about to find out.

Lisa lives for her daughter Ava, her job and her best friend Marilyn.

But when a handsome client shows an interest in her, Lisa starts daydreaming about sharing her life with him, too. Maybe she’s ready now. Maybe she can trust again. Maybe it's time to let her terrifying secret past go.

 

But when her daughter rescues a boy from drowning and their pictures are all over the news for everyone to see, Lisa's world explodes.

 

As she finds everything she has built threatened, and not knowing who she can trust, it's up to Lisa to face her past in order to save what she holds dear.

 

But someone has been pulling all their strings. And that someone is determined that both Lisa and Ava must suffer.

 

Because long ago Lisa broke a promise. And some promises aren't meant to be broken.

 

Buy the Book

 

 
#CrossHerHeart​

Praise

 

“The plotting in Cross Her Heart is calm, cool and beautifully orchestrated—until, WHAM, you marvel at what Pinborough has just tossed in your lap. There are plenty of I-can’t-believe-she-just-did-that moments that will have you sitting straight up in your chair. What a terrific ride.” (Meg Gardiner, author of Unsub)

 

“The amazing Sarah Pinborough has done it again with this brilliant, pacy story of lies and deceit.” (B.A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors)

 

“The past decade of crime fiction has been remarkable for the huge number of novels… featuring women... Some have been excellent, but most have been indistinguishable... Critics have spent much time searching for well-written, original examples. Sarah Pinborough passes the test. She… is adept at conjuring the unexpected.” (The Times (London))

 

“As the narrative weaves among these three… characters, readers are pulled deeper into their connected webs of secrets and lies… Fans of Pinborough’s smash debut, Behind Her Eyes, won’t be disappointed… [This is] a fast-paced, twisty thriller... Devotees of B.A. Paris and Ruth Ware will be fascinated.” (Library Journal (starred review))

 

“[A] tension-driven page-turner… The anxiety builds relentlessly... Cross Her Heart is unapologetically feminist, driven by the strong relationships between women, for better or worse. This will be an easy sell for fans of all domestic suspense… especially fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.” (Booklist)

 

“The one element that sets Pinborough’s novel apart from similar thrillers is the emphasis on female empowerment and the power of female relationships.… Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will find this comfortingly familiar despite (or maybe because of?) the shocks and turns along the way.” (Kirkus Reviews)

 

“[Pinborough’s] work invariably possesses a surreal, dreamlike quality... The juggling of multiple viewpoints shows great elan, and the author’s storytelling is as sure-footed as ever.” (The Guardian)

 

“A masterclass in artful misdirection… brilliantly rendered and utterly harrowing. To say any more would be to give Pinborough’s high stakes game away: suffice to say those twists keep coming, each one a perfectly controlled explosion, right to the mesmerising final pages.” (Irish Times)

 

“The first act lays the groundwork… But then Pinborough…puts her foot down, and throws more twists and turns into the road than Switzerland’s Grimsel Pass. Once the first reveal hits you in the face, you’ll be lucky if you can put the book down to go to bed.” (Independent (UK))

 

“Dark, unflinching and disturbing… Heart-breaking in places, twisty as hell. I’d like to claim that I guessed the ending but Sarah stayed one step ahead of me all the way through. Pacy, unnerving, addictive read with a dark, dark heart.” (C. L. Taylor, author of The Missing)

 

About the Author 

 

Sarah Pinborough is the number one Sunday Times Bestselling and New York Times Bestselling author of the psychological thriller Behind Her Eyes (Jan, 2017). During her career she has published more than 20 novels and several novellas, and has written for the BBC. Her recent novels include the dystopian love story, The Death House, and a teenage thriller, 13 Minutes which has been bought by Netflix with Josh Schwartz adapting. 

 

Behind Her Eyes has sold to nearly twenty territories so far and was sold at auction to the US in a significant deal to Flatiron, Macmillan. There are discussions on going with several movies studios about the film adaptation. You can follow Sarah on Twitter at @sarahpinborough.

 

 

Please reload

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins

Subscribe for Updates