Search by Book Release Month 

Book Blog 

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun     july     aug     sep     oct     nov     dec

jan     feb     mar     apr     may     jun      july     aug      sep      oct     nov      dec     

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

The Escape Room

 

By: Megan Golden 

ISBN: 9781250219657

Publisher: St. Martins Press

Publication Date: 07/30/19 

Format: Other 

My Rating: 5 Stars 

Blog Tour 8/12/19 

Q&A with the Author 

Top Books of 2019 

In Megan Goldin's unforgettable debut, The Escape Room, four young Wall Street rising stars discover the price of ambition when an escape room challenge turns into a lethal game of revenge.

Welcome to the escape room. Your goal is simple. Get out alive.


In the lucrative world of finance, Vincent, Jules, Sylvie, and Sam are at the top of their game.

 

They’ve mastered the art of the deal and celebrate their success in style—but a life of extreme luxury always comes at a cost.
Invited to participate in an escape room as a team-building exercise, the ferociously competitive co-workers crowd into the elevator of a high rise building, eager to prove themselves. But when the lights go off and the doors stay shut, it quickly becomes clear that this is no ordinary competition: they’re caught in a dangerous game of survival.


Trapped in the dark, the colleagues must put aside their bitter rivalries and work together to solve cryptic clues to break free. But as the game begins to reveal the team’s darkest secrets, they realize there’s a price to be paid for the terrible deeds they committed in their ruthless climb up the corporate ladder. As tempers fray, and the clues turn deadly, they must solve one final chilling puzzle: which one of them will kill in order to survive?
 

Buy the Book

 

 

My Review

 

Welcome to the Blog Tour!

 

I am delighted to have with us today, the talented debut novelist, Megan Goldin to tell us more about her electrifying new summer psychological thriller of corporate greed everyone is buzzing about —THE ESCAPE ROOM!  

 

The author delivers a highly creative and deliciously evil corporate high-stakes twisty game of REVENGE! 

 

You will not be able to breathe until the elevator doors are open.  What occurs inside the elevator doors, and who is behind this dangerous game?  What is the motive?  All these answers plus more are revealed in this "unputdownable" cat-and-mouse game of suspense.  

 

What starts with four Wall Street investment bankers being summoned by human resources in a mysterious text to a meeting on a Friday evening. The text stated it was compulsory for them to attend. The meeting happens to be in an office building under construction.

 

As they enter, they soon find themselves trapped in this steel elevator, and NO way to escape.  Everything appears to be a set-up game to mirror an escape room challenge. Soon they learn this is NO ordinary team-building exercise. 

 

In the cut-throat world of finance, Vincent, Sam, Jules, and Sylvie were superstars, but needless to say, recently, they have lost some deals and their jobs are hanging by a thread.  They have their secret deals.  They were named, the "Circle" which consisted of five members.  

 

However, one member, Lucy had died and now there were four.  Since then they seem to be losing money.  How did Lucy die and who was responsible? 

 

But little do they suspect, their jobs, their bonuses, and the millions of dollars they hope to attain are not the only focus of danger.  Their lives are literally hanging in this elevator and soon they learn this is no laughing game. Who can they trust? Will they all die or will one turn on the other?

 

In a dangerous game of survival, THE ESCAPE ROOM is razor-sharp; dark, sinister, and highly entertaining! What a roller-coaster wild ride up the corporate ladder.  Skillfully crafted, Goldin keeps readers on the edge-of-your-seat to the explosive ending.  Who is the mastermind behind this ruthless and complex revenge plot? Who will come out alive?  Who will kill and who will survive? 

 

VERDICT: Highly recommend! Five stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 Top Books of 2019 list. We can only imagine what is coming next from this newfound talent. We will be anxiously awaiting the next. THE ESCAPE ROOM would make for a great movie or series 🎬.   I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did. 

 

For fans of intelligent high-stakes, adrenaline-fueled action and the movie "Elevator" (2011) where racism collides with corporate greed when nine strangers, one of whom has a bomb become trapped in a Wall Street elevator.

 

Readers who enjoyed Christina Alger's "The Banker's Wife", and those who have read advanced reading copies of  Hank Phillippi Ryan's (8/20) "The Murder List," and upcoming Linwood Barclay's "The Elevator Pitch" (9/17) —(also a great revenge plot).  Check out my upcoming Elevator Ride Interview with both Linwood and Hank on their pub dates.  

 

A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy.  I also purchased the audiobook, narrated by January LaVoy, Ramon De Ocampo, which was excellent.   

Without further introduction, let's welcome Megan Goldin!  (read an excerpt below). 

 

 

Happy Reading!

@JudithDCollins

#JDCMustReadBooks 

 

 

READ AN EXCERPT

Q&A Interview

with the Author

 

My Elevator Story ​

On a side note:

 

We all have our horrors, fears, and love/hate stories of elevators.  They are mysterious and each time you enter one, you hand over control.  However, do we really know who is controlling our elevators? 

 

On a side note: I live and work in an older 30 yrs old high-rise building downtown in West Palm Beach, FL overlooking the water on the top penthouse floor.  Super location and killer view.  However, the elevator drama is taking over my life.

 

Over the course of four years, our elevators have had its share of problems from being out of order and stuck between floors, dropping floors, and other horrors.  When this occurs, I take the stairs, but not for long since I am on the 15th floor. Then the electrical fire on the roof last year which is directly above me on the roof. Plus it is Florida, so we have tons of seniors in the building.  They cannot take stairs.   


Since Dec of last year, all of a sudden I hear the noisy elevator running and stopping with a loud thump 24/7 which is maddening from my apartment, when trying to sleep and work.  When trying to sleep it sounds like a jack-hammer train with vibrations when you put your head to the pillow. NO sleep.  Dying here. Since this time, I have been fighting with our property management,  lawyers, regional, and have had two elevator techs inside my apartment several times.  Politics. 

 

Ironic, I live on the beach east side and have determined it is the west elevator making the noise which is not close to me?  Why did the noise just start after years?  No one has answers. No resolution since no one hears it but me (due to the elevator mechanical room on the roof above me). Needless to say, a total nightmare!  Unfortunately, if I remain downtown it has to be a hi-rise; however, I seriously doubt I will ever buy into any building again with an elevator.  I am thinking a nice single level villa (without an elevator) which is sounding pretty good at this point. But I lose the water view and the downtown location, but SLEEP is important.  An ongoing saga.  

 

Every time I step in our elevators, I make sure I have my phone with me and pray I will make it to the next floor safely.  
 

 

 

 

 #TheEscapeRoom 

 

Blog Tour: Q&A With the Author

Aug 12, 2019 

 

Praise


PureWow's
"Best Beach Reads of the Summer"


BookBub's
"17 of the Best Summer Books for your Beach Bag"


Women.com's
"15 Most Anticipated Books of Summer by Women"


New York Post's
"25 Best Beach Reads of 2019"


Refinery29's
"Best Summer Thrillers 2019"

 

 

“Cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading, you'll be caught in your own escape room—the only key to freedom is turning the last page!” 

—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

 

“The pages turn themselves…THE ESCAPE ROOM delivers all that it promises. It is a sleek, well-crafted ride to a surprisingly twisty conclusion.”

―New York Times Book Review

 

"Gripping and unforgettable."
—Harlan Coben

 

"One of my favorite books of the year."
—Lee Child

 

"Riveting."
—Publishers Weekly

 

"A sleek, well-crafted ride."
—The New York Times

 

"Addicting."
―Time Magazine

 

“Fans of JP Delaney and Ruth Ware will want to be right in
[the escape room] with them.”
—Booklist

 

“Cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading,
you'll be caught in your own escape room—the only
key to freedom is turning the last page!”
      —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

 

"Top-Shelf page-turning crime" 

—The Sydney Morning Herald 

"The Girl In Kellers Way was a winner, but The Escape Room takes her mastery of the thriller to a new level - to the very last page."

—The Herald-Sun

 

"Amazing...a thriller set in an elevator [that explores] the vast territory of people's worst natures. A nightmarish look inside ourselves. Simply riveting."

—Louise Penny

 

“A sharp, slick, utterly engrossing thriller. This knockout debut hooked me
from the first page and didn’t let go.”
—Cristina Alger, USA Today bestselling author
of The Banker’s Wife

 

“Smart and compelling... I devoured this novel!”
—Karen Cleveland, bestselling author of Need to Know

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author

 

 

 

 

 

MEGAN GOLDIN worked as a correspondent for Reuters and other media outlets where she covered war, peace, international terrorism and financial meltdowns in the Middle East and Asia.

 

She is now based in Melbourne, Australia where she raises three sons and is a foster mum to Labrador puppies learning to be guide dogs.

 

THE ESCAPE ROOM is her debut novel. Read More 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please reload

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

Back to Main Blog 

November  

Author Q&A 

Elevator Ride Allen Eskens.png
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea

Book Stuff

Tags -Search By Book Release Date 
happy new year 2020 gold and blue.jpg