WINE AND BOOKS GREAT OUTDOORS.jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Good Neighbor

 

By:  A. J. Banner

ISBN: B00T8RIK7G

Publisher: Lake Union 

Publication Date: 9/1/2015 

Format: e-book & audio 

My Rating:  5 Stars 

Named by Harper’s Bazaar as a book that could be the next Gone Girl.

From a phenomenal new voice in suspense fiction comes a book that will forever change the way you look at the people closest to you…

Shadow Cove, Washington, is the kind of town everyone dreams about—quaint streets, lush forests, good neighbors. That’s what Sarah thinks as she settles into life with her new husband, Dr. Johnny McDonald. But all too soon she discovers an undercurrent of deception. And one October evening when Johnny is away, sudden tragedy destroys Sarah’s happiness.

 

Dazed and stricken with grief, she and Johnny begin to rebuild their shattered lives. As she picks up the pieces of her broken home, Sarah discovers a shocking secret that forces her to doubt everything she thought was true—about her neighbors, her friends, and even her marriage. With each stunning revelation, Sarah must ask herself, Can we ever really know the ones we love?

 

Buy the Book 

 

 

 

My Review 

 

 

THE GOOD NEIGHBOR is an absorbing, unsettling, and an ingenious thriller with a big twist!

 

How well do you know your neighbors or your husband?

 

A picturesque Sitka Lane, where everything was perfect until.
  
Set in the lush Shadow Cove, Washington, we meet Dr. Johnny McDonald and wife and author Sarah Phoenix.  When her hubby is away at a medical conference, she notices her next-door neighbor's Kimball's home.

 

Chad and Monique's home. A fire alarm.  Smoke. The child's cry. The little girl, Mia, only four years old on the second floor. She must call 911.  Soon the house was engulfed in flames. She must save the girl.


She tries her husband's room at the conference, and he did not answer. 

 

Could she trust him?

 

Afterward, life was never the same.

 

With damage to their home and a tragedy of their neighbors, they move to a temporary rental cottage in the forest on Shadow Bluff Lane that Realtor Eris finds for them.  In the distance, a river at the foothills of the Olympic Mountains. There is a new set of neighbors.

 

However, soon after they move into the cottage, Johnny is acting strange. She wonders if he is having an affair. Weird things begin occurring.

 

Deception. Lies. Secrets. Obsession. 

 

However, is there something more sinister at play? What is going on?

 

What if your husband was not who you thought he was?

 

#TheGoodNeighbor 

 

Sarah is determined to get to the bottom of this mystery and save a few lives along the way. Everything leads up to the final heart-pounding explosive twist!

 

Wow, the word "undercurrent" comes to mind throughout this multi-layered twisty domestic thriller.  

"An underlying feeling or influence, especially one that is contrary to the prevailing atmosphere and is not expressed openly. Current of water below the surface and moving in a different direction from any surface current."

 

Jaw-dropping. Compelling.  Nail-biting. 

 

The suspense builds as Sarah pulls back the layers of deception.

 

I adore A.J.'s novel settings and her ability to draw you into the environment and character's lives. She is not afraid to keep her readers guessing until the very last page of this heart-pounding story.

 

One woman's desperate search for answers and those around her she cannot trust — and another woman's obsession.

 

For fans of Fatal Attraction, Michele Campbell's A Stranger on the Beach, Kimberly Belle's The Marriage Lie, Paula Hawkins' The Girl on the Train, Kaira Rouda's The Favorite Daughter, and Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies.  
 
Having the pleasure of reading the author's other books— even her latest— THE POISON GARDEN, I discovered I had not read her debut thriller, THE GOOD NEIGHBOR.  I quickly purchased the e-book and the audiobook and zipped through it.

 

Look for my fabulous Q&A with A.J. to learn more about this multi-talented author, coming Oct 22, 2019. I highly recommend all A.J. Banner books. 

 

#JDCMustReadBooks 

 

 

About the Author

 

 

As a child, A. J. Banner loved reading everything from Nancy Drew to Tolkien to her parents’ spy novels, “borrowed” from their bookshelves and hidden beneath her pillow. She wrote her first thriller, Mystery at Crane Corner, at the age of 11. She drew her own cover art and bound the pages with staples.

 

Born in India and raised in North America, A. J. graduated from high school in southern California and received degrees from the University of California, Berkeley. She tried various professions after college, including a stint in law school and a memorable job at a veterinary clinic, since she loves animals, but eventually she returned to writing. Her fourth novel of psychological suspense, THE POISON GARDEN, is coming soon from Lake Union Publishing. AFTER NIGHTFALL, which Publishers Weekly calls a “gripping psychological thriller,” is now available in hardcover, paperback, audiobook and e-book formats. 

 

THE TWILIGHT WIFE (Touchstone/Simon & Schuster) became a USA Today and Publishers Weekly bestseller. THE GOOD NEIGHBOR, her debut, was the #1 Kindle bestseller for 34 days, remained in the top five on the Kindle bestseller list throughout the book’s release month, and was in the top 50 in the Kindle store for 145 days in a row. THE GOOD NEIGHBOR was named by Harper’s Bazaar as a book that could be the next GONE GIRL. 

 

A longtime fan of Agatha Christie, Daphne du Maurier, and Alfred Hitchcock Presents, A. J. feels at home writing stories with unexpected twists and turns. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and six rescued cats. Read More

 

 

Please reload

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads

#JDCMustReadBooks

@JudithDCollins

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Back to Main Blog 

Author Guest Blog

Randall Silvis 

Newsletters 2020

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

April Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter

Jan Newsletter

2020 Author
Interviews

Katherine Center

BA Paris

Robyn Harding

Hannah M. McKinnon

Charles Martin

Jennifer Hillier

D. J.  Palmer

Samantha M. Bailey

Suzanne Redfearn

Christina McDonald

Rochelle B. Weinstein

 

Upcoming 

Megan Collins

Wendy Walker

Lisa Unger

Amber Cowie

2021

John Hart 


More
Coming
Soon!

2019 Elevator
Author Interviews

JT Ellison

Allen Eskens

A. J. Banner

Linwood Barclay

Gilly Macmillan

Hank Phillippi Ryan

Megan Goldin

Susan Rebecca White

T. Greenwood

Rea Frey

Michele Campbell

Kimberly Belle

Randall Silvis

Charlie Donlea

Kaira Rouda 

Kristy Woodson Harvey

Kim Michele Richardson

Heather Gudenkauf

Camille Di Maio

Christina McDonald

Lynda Cohen Loigman

Sonja Yoerg


2018 Author
Interviews 

Amber Cowie

Karen Katchur

Patti Callahan Henry

Jennifer Jaynes

Mary Kubica

Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Victoria Helen Stone

Rea Frey

 

 

 

2019

Top Books of 2019

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter 

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter

Apr Newsletter

Mar Newsletter

Feb Newsletter
Jan Newsletter

 

2018

5 Year Blog Anniversary 

2018 Top 50 Books  

Dec Newsletter

Nov Newsletter

Oct Newsletter 

Sept Newsletter 

Aug Newsletter

July Newsletter

June Newsletter

May Newsletter 

2017 Year-End

 

 

Annual:
Top Book List 

Top Books of 2020 

Top Books of 2019

Top Books of 2018

Top Books of 2017

Top Books of 2016

Top Books of 2015

Top Books of 2014

 

 

Must-Read Books

by Release Month

2018

2019

2020

Recent Posts 
Please reload

Tags -Search By Book
Release Date