fall desk jdc must read books.png

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Hunting Party

 

By: Lucy Foley 

ISBN: 978-0062868909

Publisher: William Morrow 

Publication Date: 2/12/2019 

Format: Hardcover 

My Rating: TBR

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

 

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

 

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

 

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

 

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

 

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

 

Buy the Book

Praise

 

“A ripping, riveting murder mystery — wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware.” (A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window)

 

“An addictive murder mystery full of suspense, secrets and surprises. I loved it!” (Alice Feeney, New York Times bestselling author of Sometimes I Lie)

 

“An auspicious thriller debut...a cracklingly suspenseful story for a long winter’s night.”  (Publishers Weekly)

 

“Everyone is a suspect in Lucy Foley’s clever murder mystery that harkens back to Agatha Christie and the Orient Express. Friends, lovers, strangers and murder at a secluded hunting lodge make for an absolutely delicious read!” (Wendy Walker, author of the national bestseller All Is Not Forgotten)

 

“Anyone who’s grown apart from old friends will recognize the yearning depicted here to make everything as it was....Readers are left wondering until the end which guest has died as well as who the killer is; they will be well rewarded by the story’s ending.” (Booklist)

 

“Very gripping and so good on the awfulness of some long-history friendships!” (Sophie Hannah)

 

“Hugely entertaining. Full of surprises. This is a clever, twisting page-turner of the highest order. I loved it.” (Simon Kernick)

 

“A brilliant, addictive, claustrophobic read.” (Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend)

 

“I loved THE HUNTING PARTY – a gripping, eerie thriller set in a beautifully imagined remote wilderness with pitch-perfect characters.” (Laura Marshall)

 

“The Secret History meets And Then There Were None, this is a fantastic crime debut.” (Cass Green)

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author

 

 

 

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities and worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry, before leaving to write full-time. The Hunting Party is her debut crime novel, inspired by a particularly remote spot in Scotland that fired her imagination.

 

Lucy is also the author of three historical novels, which have been translated into sixteen languages. Her journalism has appeared in ES Magazine, Sunday Times Style, Grazia and more. Read More 

 

 

 

 

Please reload

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

Subscribe for Updates

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins