fall desk jdc must read books.png

#JDCMustReadBooks 

Blog  

The Dilemma

 

By: B. A. Paris 

ISBN: 1250151368

Publisher: St. Martin's Press 

Publication Date: 06/30/20 

Format: Hardcover 

My Rating: 5 Stars 

Q&A with the Author

Top Books of 2020 

A woman's birthday party takes a dark turn in a poignant, heart-stopping new novel from the reigning queen of suspense, NYT and USA Today bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors, The Breakdown, and Bring Me Back.

“A heartbreaking page-turner that will have you up at night reading just one more chapter.” ―Catherine Steadman, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Something in the Water

“The phenomenal B. A. Paris has done it again! I devoured The Dilemma in one sitting―it grabbed me from the very first page and wouldn’t let go until I’d finished. Secrets, guilt, shame and heartbreak―this story has it all in spades.”―Sandie Jones, New York Times bestselling author of The Other Woman

Knowing the truth will destroy her. Keeping it secret will destroy him.

 

It’s Livia’s 40th birthday, and her husband Adam is throwing her the party of a lifetime to make up for the wedding they never had. Everyone she loves will be there, except her daughter Marnie, who’s studying abroad.

 

But although Livia loves Marnie, she’s secretly glad she won’t be there. Livia has recently uncovered a secret about their daughter which, if revealed, will shake the foundation of their family to its core. She needs to tell Adam, but she’s waiting until the party is over so they can have this last happy time together.

 

Adam, meanwhile, has his own surprise for his wife: he’s arranged for Marnie to secretly fly back for the family celebration. But during the day, he hears some terrible news and he too is faced with a dilemma.

 

How far would you go to give someone you love a last few hours of happiness?

 

Buy the Book 

 

 

Q&A with the Author

 June 30, 2020 

 

 

Praise 

 

One of Bustle's "Most Anticipated Horror Novels and Thriller of 2020"!


One of PopSugar's "New Thrillers and Mysteries to Look for in 2020"!

 

“A heartbreaking page-turner that will have you up at night reading just one more chapter.” ―Catherine Steadman, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Something in the Water

 

“The phenomenal BA Paris has done it again! I devoured The Dilemma in one sitting―it grabbed me from the very first page and wouldn’t let go until I’d finished. Secrets, guilt, shame and heartbreak―this story has it all in spades.”

―Sandie Jones, New York Times bestselling author of The Other Woman

 

“A powerful, beautifully crafted story that ratchets up the tension with every page and packs a huge emotional punch.”

―T. M. Logan, author of Lies

 

“A beautifully written story of love and loss which will stay with me.”

―Louise Jensen, author of The Sister

 

“BA Paris is a mistress at tapping into fears you didn’t even know you had. This is a poignant, thoughtful family tale with a difference.”

―Jane Corry, author of My Husband’s Wife

 

My Review

 

Compelling. Suspenseful.
Thought-provoking. Mysterious.

 

B.A. Paris, the queen of suspense, returns with her latest highly anticipated thriller, THE DILEMMA.  She has a smart way of exploring marriages and familial relationships which go beyond the surface.

 

In, THE DILEMMA everyone is keeping HUGE secrets, and everyone is protecting someone or something.  A perfect and fitting name for the tough choices of each character. Domestic meets heart-pounding suspense, showcasing the deadly consequences of family secrets.

 

THE DILEMMA takes place mainly within the time of one day.  Starting from the day before on Saturday to Sunday, the day of the party, and then one year later.  

 

A slow-burning spellbinding tale that will leave you on the edge of your seat as the secrets are unraveled.

 

Written from POV from two characters: Adam (husband) and Livia (wife). Intergenerational relationships play a significant role in the novel. Mothers and fathers, sons, and daughters

During this unfolding, the events and timing are critical to the storyline. They also parallel with what the characters are feeling and experiencing.

 

Who doesn’t love an outdoor party?  

 

When there are hidden secrets involved and each family member tries to protector the other, the intensity builds to an explosive ending.

 

Adam (husband) is giving his (wife) Livia a grand 40th birthday party.  She never had the grand wedding she always wanted, so he is planning this grand outdoor magical event in their backyard of Windsor England.  He is quite enthusiastic, inviting hundreds of guests.  He wants everything to be perfect and pays attention to the details.

 

Plans are in motion. Invitations are sent.  Emotions are running high. There is tension and expectations. 

 

He also has a grand surprise for his wife.  He has made plans for their (daughter) Marnie, studying in Hong Kong to be in attendance.  Josh (son) also has his duties for the event preparation with playlist and music, etc. However, Marnie has her own secrets. 

 

 

 

Livia has hers.  We know that Livia is hiding something that has to do with her daughter, but she wants to wait until after the big event to discuss with her husband.  It is news that will be shattering.  She wants to spare him, as long as she can.  

 

No one is communicating with the other, trying to protect the other. By not being forthcoming, this causes even more problems, and there will be guilt and disastrous consequences awaiting.  You can sense the outcome will be significant.

 

Readers will be glued to the pages to discover all the secrets.  

 

Paris is such a brilliant writer and withholds just enough information to keep you hooked. There is an array of emotions.  From the excitement of a party, having friends and family present, to the planning and the expectations. It also turns to fear, grief, guilt, secrets, shame, lies, betrayal, and heartbreak.

 

As always, the author dives deep into the minds and emotions of her characters, delivering an emotional story of family, love, and loss.  This would make for an ideal choice for book clubs or further discussions.


Crossing moral lines to tell or not to tell?  Often families can be complicated and messy—and the author expertly explores these emotions.

 

DILEMMA: “A situation in which a difficult choice must be made between two or more alternatives, especially equally undesirable ones.”

 

I have read all her books, and this one is another winner. (cover love). Highly recommend for fans of Mary Kubica and Lisa Jewell.

 

Check out my Elevator Ride with the author to learn all the behind the scenes exclusives and more about this talented author.

 

#JDCMustReadBooks

 

A special thank you to St. Martin’s Press and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy. 

 

 

 #TheDilemma

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author

 

B. A. PARIS is the internationally bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors, The Breakdown, and Bring Me Back. She grew up in England but has spent most of her adult life in France. She has worked both in finance and as a teacher and has five daughters. The Dilemma is her fourth novel.

Read More 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please reload

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • LinkedIn B&W
  • Tumblr B&W
  • goodreads.jpg
  • Inistagram Judith D Collins
  • AMAZON LOGO BLACK

© 2020 Judith D Collins Consulting All Rights Reserved 

Website Site Design:  By Judith D Collins

Subscribe for Updates