JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book glasses SMALL .jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

A Wish For Winter


By: Viola Shipman

ISBN: 9781525804847

Publisher: Graydon House

Publication Date: 11/15/2022

Format: Other

My Rating: 4 Stars (ARC)


NOV 2022 MUST-READ BOOKS

HOLIDAY NOVEL


I love this book—funny, perfect and wonderfully good. A not-to-be-missed delight.” —New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery


With echoes of classic Hollywood love stories like Serendipity and An Affair to Remember, Viola Shipman’s latest winter charmer following the USA TODAY bestseller The Secret of Snow is sure to tug on heartstrings and delight readers who love books about books, missed connections and the magic of Christmas.


Despite losing her parents in a tragic accident just before her fourteenth Christmas, Susan Norcross has had it better than most, with loving grandparents to raise her and a gang of quirky, devoted friends to support her. Now a successful bookstore owner in a tight-knit Michigan lakeside community, Susan is facing down forty—the same age as her mother when she died—and she can’t help but see everything she hasn’t achieved, including finding a love match of her own. To add to the pressure, everyone in her small town believes it’s Susan’s destiny to meet and marry a man dressed as Santa, just like her mother and grandmother before her. So it seems cosmically unfair that the man she makes an instant connection with at an annual Santa Run is lost in the crowd before she can get his name.


What follows is Susan and her friends’ hilarious and heartwarming search for the mystery Santa—covering twelve months of social media snafus, authors behaving badly and dating fails—as well as a poignant look at family, friendship and what defines a well-lived and well-loved life.


“Viola Shipman has written a captivating story for anyone whose memories run deep… This book keeps faith and hope alive!” —New York Times bestselling author Sherryl Woods

Buy the Book




From the Author:


Come Home To Viola Shipman

My grandma was a working poor Ozarks seamstress whose sacrifices and love changed my family’s life. My heartfelt, intergenerational novels are inspired by her memory and heirlooms, and I chose Viola Shipman as my pen name to honor her legacy, our elders and family as well as to inspire hope and remind readers of what matters most in life.




Viola Shipman Books





Review Coming!

#AWishForWinter




My Review


Master storyteller, Viola Shipman returns following The Edge of Summer with his charming, lyrical, and cozy holiday Christmas gem —A WINTER WISH.


A fun search for a soulmate dressed like Santa in this Hallmark-like romance, a small-town tale for some holiday magic and Christmas miracles.


Susan Norcross is single, approaching age 40, and feels like time is running out. She owns a flourishing bookshop in a small Petoskey, Michigan town but is lonely and would like her own Santa.


Her late mother and living grandmother met their husbands while the men were in Santa costumes, and Susan is sure she'll meet her perfect match under similar circumstances. Her parent's death affected her greatly when she was only 14.


After encouragement from her best friend, Holly, she signs up to participate in Chicago's Santa Run. Will she find some eligible bachelors among the costumed runners?


She finds him, but then he disappears. How will she find him? Is he lost forever? A lucky mother's angel pin.


Holly turns to social media to track down the mystery man, creating a list of three possible candidates—Jamie, Micah, and Tristan. Will one of them be her soulmate? Will the "Single Kringle" find her Santa?


Heartwarming and witty, this book was much fun. Shipman knows how to create beautiful settings with charming characters and nostalgic memories of places, events, and family. From holiday traditions to bookstores, books, and the love of reading are always a treat.


A gem to treasure about hope, loss, love, family, friendship, and the beauty and magic of Christmas. Simple wishes. A beautiful love letter to Michigan filled with miracles and wishes you never dreamed of or expected.


It is also about the celebration of books. Books save us, and bookstores are our heart, soul, and community. For fans of Catherine Ryan Hyde, Susan Mallery, and Sherryl Woods.


If you have yet to read this Author, I highly recommend all his books-both, both summer, and winter (which I have read and anxiously await the next). I loved the Personal Letter from the Author.


"A Wish for Winter is a novel about believing and having faith in yourself and others. It's a novel about forgiveness of yourself and others. It's a book about that critical moment when we go from child to adult, too often in the blink of an eye, and how that can change us forever."—Viola Shipman, A WISH FOR WINTER

Cannot wait for his summer book to come in June 2023!


Thank you to Graydon House and NetGalley for an e-ARC to read, review, and enjoy!



@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 4 Stars

Pub Date: Nov 15, 2022

Nov 2022 Must-Read Books






Praise


A Country Living Magazine Best Christmas Book to Read This Holiday Season!



"There’s plenty of charm to this cozy small-town tale. Shipman’s fans will be pleased."

—Publishers Weekly



“Viola Shipman has written a captivating story for anyone whose memories run deep… This book keeps faith and hope alive!” —New York Times bestselling author Sherryl Woods“

“The perfect winter warmer!”

—USA TODAY bestselling author Sarah Morgan


I love this book—funny, perfect and wonderfully good. A not-to-be-missed delight.” —New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery









About the Author


Wade Rouse is a popular award-winning memoirist and internationally bestselling author of twelve books, which have been translated into twenty languages and selected as Today show Must-Reads, Indie Next Picks and Michigan Notable Books. Rouse writes fiction under his grandma’s name, Viola Shipman, to honor the woman whose heirlooms inspire his writing. He lives in Michigan and California, and hosts Wine & Words with Wade, A Literary Happy Hour, every Thursday. WEBSITE





22 views