top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Books. Audiobooks. coffee..png
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

Don't Ask Don't Follow

ISBN: 9781608096091

Publisher: Oceanview

Publication Date: 06/04/2024

Format: Other

My Rating: TBR (ARC)



Murder, dark family secrets, and the unwavering bond of sisterhood—regardless of the cost.


Beth Ralston, a paralegal in Portland, Oregon, would rather be racking up billable hours than mingling at an office party—especially when her sister Lindsay, aka her plus one, is a no-show.


After making her obligatory rounds, Beth returns to her office to find that her boss, who she’d talked with moments before, has been murdered. She sees a woman fleeing the scene. Wait—was that Lindsay? Unable to catch up to her in time, Beth waits for the police to arrive and notices that Lindsay has left her phone behind with an unsent text message to Beth displayed on the screen: “Don’t ask. Don’t follow.”


Lindsay is unreachable for days, and when Beth starts to come under suspicion for the crime, she decides that waiting is impossible. While retracing Lindsay’s steps, determined to bring her home, Beth uncovers what her sister, an investigative reporter bent on changing the world, was trying to expose—corruption, secrets, and betrayal on an unimaginable level. Revealing the truth might bring back the one person she’s desperate to find—but it could also destroy the only life and family Beth’s ever known.


Perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen and Karin Slaughter.







Advance Praise


“Thrilling in its breakneck pace, with action that leaps off the page, Don’t Ask, Don’t Follow absolutely hypnotized me.”

—Elle Marr, best-selling author of The Family Bones


“A pulse-pounding read about truth, justice, and the unexpected secrets families keep. With the tension ramping up with every page, Keliikoa weaves a twisty, clever tale that will thrill you to the very end.”

—Jessica Payne, author of The Good Doctor


“Keliikoa manages to suck us in with not only a relatable main character but also a strong start with an immediate need to turn pages. Readers will gasp as one twist after the next unveil at breakneck speed. Don’t Ask, Don’t Follow is a well-crafted story with brilliant plotting and prose; a propulsive cat and mouse game sure to keep every suspense reader at the edge of their seat.”

—Jaime Lynn Hendricks, best-selling author of Finding Tessa


“Mary Keliikoa's Don't Ask, Don't Follow is a brilliant tour de force about greed, desperation, and justice. The mystery at the heart of this gripping story is laid out like a game of Jenga. Right when all the pieces seem to fit, Keliikoa slides in another clue that topples every theory. With an admirable, feisty heroine on a chase to find her missing sister, this pulse-pounding suspense made me hold my breath, only exhaling as I turned the final propulsive page. A must-read!”

—Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today best-selling author





About the Author



Mary Keliikoa is the author of the Shamus Finalist and Lefty, Agatha and Anthony award nominated PI Kelly Pruett mystery series and the upcoming Misty Pines mystery series featuring Sheriff Jax Turner slated for release in September 2022. Her short stories have appeared in Woman's World and in the anthology Peace, Love and Crime: Crime Fiction Inspired by Music of the ‘60s. A Pacific NW native, she spent a part of her life working around lawyers. Combining her love of legal and books, she creates a twisting mystery where justice prevails.


When not in Washington, you can find Mary on the beach in Hawaii where she and her husband recharge. But even under the palm trees and blazing sun, she’s plotting her next murder—novel that is. WEBSITE



1 view
bottom of page