JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book glasses SMALL .jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

Downfall


By: Mark Rubinstein

ISBN: 9781608095469

Publisher: Oceanview Publishing

Publication Date: 04/04/2023

Format: Other

My Rating: TBR (ARC)


TOP BOOKS OF 2023 LIST


First, his doppelganger is killed—then it’s his father. Rick Shepherd is being stalked by a murderer.


When Rick Shepherd, a physician, approaches his office on a busy Manhattan street, he finds police cars, an ambulance, and crime scene technicians. He soon learns a passerby was shot three times in the back, murdered at the front door to Rick’s office.


Later that evening while watching the local news, Rick and his fiancee, Jackie, see a photo of the victim—to their horror, the deceased looks identical to Rick.


Two nights later, while making a house call in a Brooklyn apartment building, Rick’s 64-year-old father is shot and killed in the exact same way. Detectives Art Nager and Liz Callaghan are assigned the case, and they launch an investigation. There are no clues leading to the perpetrator.


Even more ominously, someone has been calling Rick and Jackie’s apartment and hanging up. Whoever is targeting Rick must have murdered his father, and they now have Rick in their crosshairs. Nager and Callaghan seem to be making no progress with their investigation. Rick’s quest for the truth draws him into a labyrinth of secrets, past tragedies, and the agonizing pain of lives shattered by a single event. Can he make it out before he meets the same fate as his father?


Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and J. D. Robb.


Buy the Book




Praise


“Downfall is a compelling psychological thriller enriched with a superb (eighties New York) sense of time and place. A page-turner that doesn’t sacrifice depth of understanding of the human condition.”

—Jonathan Kellerman, New York Times best-selling author


“Downfall is a very classy and gripping high-octane thriller—I could not put it down.”

—Peter James, best-selling author


“The tension in The Lovers’ Tango never lets you go.”

—Michael Connelly, New York Times best-selling author


“Mark Rubinstein’s Downfall is a harrowing murder-mystery wrapped in an enigma. It's whip-smart and crackling-paced. Part medical thriller, part detective story, but ultimately a heart-wrenching story of the fallibility of memory and how past trauma haunts a life. Treat yourself to this story today.”

—James Rollins, New York Times best-selling author


“Rubinstein’s Downfall is a psychological killer—a smart, intricate, page-turner.”

—Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times best-selling author



“Downfall is a psychological thriller par excellence that follows one man's personal descent into a deconstructive hell. Mark Rubinstein hits the bull's-eye dead center in a scintillating stunner of a tale destined to place him alongside the likes of Joseph Finder, Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner. Downfall reads like a post-modern equivalent of the John D. MacDonald classic Cape Fear, pushing its characters to the brink while pushing readers to finish it in one sitting.”

—Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author




About the Author



Mark Rubinstein was born in Brooklyn, New York. He dreamed of playing baseball for the Brooklyn Dodgers since his all-time hero was the Dodgers’ first baseman Gil Hodges. Rubinstein played high school baseball and ran track. His love of sports led him to read sports fiction, and soon he became a voracious reader, developing an enduring love for all kinds of novels.


He graduated from New York University with a degree in business administration. He then served in the army and ended up as a field medic tending to paratroopers of the 82nd Airborne Division. He was so taken with these experiences that after his discharge, he re-entered NYU as a premed student.


He entered medical school at the State University of New York’s Downstate Medical Center. As a medical student, he developed an interest in psychiatry, discovering in that specialty the same thing he realized in reading fiction: every patient has a compelling story to tell. He became a board-certified psychiatrist practicing in New York City.


In addition to running his private practice he developed an interest in forensic psychiatry because the drama and conflict of the cases and courtrooms tapped into his personality style. He also taught psychiatric residents, interns, psychologists, and social workers at New York Presbyterian Hospital and became a clinical assistant professor at Cornell University’s medical school.


Before turning to fiction, Rubinstein coauthored five medical self-help books: The First Encounter: The Beginnings in Psychotherapy (Jason Aronson); The CompleteBook of Cosmetic Facial Surgery (Simon and Schuster); New Choices: the Latest Options inTreating Breast Cancer (Dodd Mead); Heartplan: A Complete Program for Total Fitnessof Heart & Mind (McGraw-Hill), and The Growing Years: A Guide to Your Child’s Emotional Development from Birth to Adolescence (Atheneum).


Rubinstein lives in Connecticut with his wife and as many dogs as she will allow in the house. He still practices psychiatry and is busily writing more novels. Mad Dog House, his first novel, was named a Finalist for the 2012 ForeWord Reviews Book of the Year Award (Thriller & Suspense) and The Foot Soldier won the Silver award for Fiction at the 2014 Benjamin Franklin Awards. WEBSITE



7 views