Wine and Book by the Sunny Sea.jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

  • Judith D Collins

Everything We Didn't Say


By: Nicole Baart

ISBN: 9781982115081

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: 11/02/2021

Format: Other

My Rating: TBR (ARC)


QA with the Author coming Nov!


Top Book of 2021 List


From the author of Little Broken Things, a “race-to-the-finish family drama” (People) following a mother who must confront the dark summer that changed her life forever in order to reclaim the daughter she left behind.


Juniper Baker had just graduated from high school and was deep in the throes of a summer romance when Cal and Beth Murphy, a childless couple who lived on a neighboring farm, were brutally murdered. When her younger brother became the prime suspect, June’s world collapsed and everything she loved that summer fell away. She left, promising never to return to tiny Jericho, Iowa.


Until now. Officially, she’s back in town to help an ill friend manage the local library. But really, she’s returned to repair her relationship with her teenage daughter, who’s been raised by Juniper’s mother and stepfather since birth—and to solve the infamous Murphy murders once and for all. She knows the key to both lies in the darkest secret of that long-ago summer night, one that’s haunted her for nearly fifteen years.


As history begins to repeat itself and a dogged local true crime podcaster starts delving into the murders, the race to the truth puts past and present on a dangerous collision course. Juniper lands back in an all-too-familiar place with the answers to everything finally in her sights, but this time it’s her daughter’s life that hangs in the balance. Will revealing what really happened mean a fresh start? Or will the truth destroy everything Juniper loves for a second time? Baart once again brilliantly weaves mystery into family drama in this expertly-crafted novel for fans of Lisa Jewell and Megan Miranda.


Buy the Book






#EverythingWeDidntSay


"Nicole Baart is a master of crafting family dramas around a compelling mystery, and in Everything We Didn't Say she expertly weaves past and present into a journey to the truth of a decades-old murder case. Creepy and atmospheric, with vivid and emotional prose, this slow-burn will have you thinking twice about the people you know."—Kimberly Belle, internationally bestselling author of Dear Wife and Stranger in the Lake

"Nicole Baart skillfully blends suspense and family drama like no one else. Everything We Didn't Say is an atmospheric barn-burner that jumps from past to present in an Iowa farm community rife with secrets, simmering grudges, and an unsolved murder. I was utterly enthralled."

—Emily Carpenter, bestselling athor of Reviving the Hawthorn Sisters


"In the small town of Jericho, the past is better left along—even when a double murder remains unsolved, casting shadows on a family that has been torn apart for our fourteen y ears. Weaving together past and present, Everything We didn't Say is a poignant, riveting tale about love, loyalty, and secrets that will sink into your bones and leave you breathless."

—Wendy Walker, bestselling author of Don't Look for Me


"Everything We Didn't Say brims with Nicole Baart's signature hallmarks—complex characters, tangled family dynamics, and, as always, beautiful writing. A multifaceted page-turner with intricate twists and turns, Baart has delivered a captivating read from first page to last."

—Susan Meissner, USA Today bestselling author of The Nature of Fragile Things


"Combining high wire tension and poetic storytelling, in Everything We Didn't Say Baart has created a haunting family drama that casts a glaring light on small-town hierarchies proving that the past has a long, unrelenting reach. Told in dual timelines, his suspenseful, beautifully rendered novel reveals its secrets in small, tantalizing bites leading to an explosive, highly satisfying conclusion. Everything We Didn't Say is Baart at her best."—Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence


“A woman returns to her Iowa hometown to face her past, reclaim her family, and solve the cold-case murders that abruptly ended her childhood. Memory collides with consequence in this perfectly paced mystery and clear-eyed ode to America’s heartland. I loved everything about this book. Nicole Baart is a master storyteller.”

—Mindy Mejia, author of Everything You Want Me To Be and Strike Me Down


Nicole Baart dazzles once more in this haunting family saga about the danger of uncovering hard truths. Expertly plotted, Everything We Didn't Say delivers a satisfying ending you won’t see coming. Add this to your TBR immediately!

—Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke, authors of How To Save a Life


"Dark family secrets, the spark of never-forgotten romance and an unsolved double murder from the past, pitting landowners against landowners. The elements in Nicole Baart’s latest novel combine seamlessly to provide the atmospheric tension of a crime story and the emotional depth of a family drama. Meticulously plotted and beautifully written."

—Kelly Simmons, international selling author of One More Day and Not My Boy




Q&A Elevator Ride with

Author Nicole Baart

Coming November!

Go "Behind the Scenes" with the author & the book





About The Author


Photo credit: Ellenvelde Photography


Nicole Baart wants to live in a world filled with handwritten letters, New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, and great conversation.


A critically acclaimed novelist, Nicole’s work has been featured as a Midwest Connections book pick, nominated for a Christy Award, and earned a starred and featured review from Publishers Weekly. In 2011 she co-authored a book that debuted at #4 on the New York Times bestseller list.


Nicole is also the co-founder of a non-profit organization, One Body One Hope, that partners with a sisterhood of churches and orphanages in Monrovia, Liberia. An adoption advocate and the mother of four children from four different countries, Nicole speaks on a variety of topics ranging from orphan care to parenthood to books and the writing process.


When Nicole’s not writing, working for One Body One Hope, or carpooling her children from school to hockey to gymnastics to cello lessons, you can usually find her outside. A lover of the great outdoors and a child at heart, Nicole’s favorite pastimes include playing with her kids, gardening, camping, and practicing her many hobbies including running, photography, baking, and re-teaching herself how to play the piano.


Nicole lives with her family in a small town in Iowa, but holds dual American/Canadian citizenship and considers British Columbia her second home. Since Liberia is also home, Nicole likes to think of herself as a global citizen. She and her family love to travel and hope to see the world together–before her kids are too old to consider their parents cool.


Nicole’s novels range from romantic to suspenseful, but she is known for her artistic prose and finely drawn characters. Her stories celebrate the triumph of the human spirit and beauty in the midst of brokenness. Website



14 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS