top of page
Top of Blog
Exotic refreshing cocktails next to book and straw hat by the pool on vacation._edited.jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

If I Go Missing

Narrator: Stacey Glemboski

Hachette UK - Bookouture

ISBN: 9781835251393

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 01/02/2024

Format: Other

My Rating: 5 Stars



If you’re reading this, I’ve gone missing.

I close the binder I’ve been writing in, and walk into the living room. As I stare out of the window at your house next door, I think about all the things I stand to lose if someone comes for me.


My handsome, loving husband, who has no idea what I’ve done. My family, who have supported me no matter what. This beautiful home near the ocean, where I thought I would be safe.


Everyone says that I’m paranoid, but I just think I’m prepared. My secrets have placed me in terrible danger.


So if the worst happens, this binder contains everything you’ll need to find me, hidden in a place only you could guess. You’ve always known me best of everyone, ever since we were girls. You’ll be able to put the pieces together and uncover the truth.


Only you can find me. But you’ll need to do it fast.


Because if you don’t, all your lies will come to light too…


From the no.1 Kindle and Amazon charts bestselling author of The Surgeon, comes an outrageously twisty and compelling psychological thriller that you simply won’t be able to put down! Perfect for fans of Shari Lapena, Gillian Flynn and Freida McFadden.











My Review


Leslie Wolfe returns following The Surgeon with her latest highly impressive and much talked about psychological crime thriller IF I GO MISSING —A true crime junkie's paradise, a must-read if you have followed all the TikTok rave #InCaseIGoMissing and the viral binders you can buy to store your secrets in the event you go missing! I loved this!


If you're reading this, I've gone missing.


This opening will have you hooked. A plan. A binder. Tidbits that form a person's existence. From photos, bank accounts, social media, usernames and passwords, fingerprints, and DNA. Twenty-nine years of personal history told in photos—Inside information—bread crumbs left by the binder's owner.


How does one know the critical information needed to solve a disappearance? This person is afraid for their life, and the binder is meant to be found by the person who will find them. When the truth is wrapped in a lie, it is shielded from the light of day in ways no one can see.


This person must be different and unique. To choose to fight crime, not just be entertained by it in fiction and the news media—someone with an unrelenting passion for improving people's lives at the worst moments of their existence. You were meant for this. Only YOU can find me.


The binder has been hidden from others. This person is strong, resilient, and can endure. They will not give up without a fight. Flip through the pages and find the answers. It is in your power to save me. No one else can.


Two years earlier, we met Alana Blake. She is a teacher in Half Moon Bay, California. Alana is a fourth-grade teacher and married to Daniel. She is nervous about having a baby and fertility treatments. The fear takes her down a winding path of lies from high school.


Chloe was her best friend. All the guys loved her. A master manipulator. Then Chloe steals Ray, Chloe's boyfriend. Alana is forced to leave home and make the most difficult decision of her life. ow, then years later, Chloe and Ray married each other, and now living next door to Alana.


There are multiple mysteries, with Alana sitting in her car watching student Taylor. Is Ray still in love with her? Will Daniel stay with Alana if he finds out about the lies? Does Alana love Roy or Daniel?


Multi-layered and complex, Chloe moves next door to Alana, her old high school friend, Chloe, and her husband Ray (Alana's ex). Then, people close to Alana go missing. Can Alana get to the bottom of this mystery? Who can she trust?


Why would a picture of a dead girl from North Carolina be in Chloe's binder? Ray moved to Half Moon Bay from NC, but she does not see the connection. Another student killed Heather, so she does not think Chloe set foot in NC. Chattanooga, Tennessee, before NC. What was Stella's game? Deaths, Olivia Robinson, and Nikki?


Why didn't Chloe tell Ray about the binder? How did Chloe know she would be the one who found it? Is this just a game to set her up?


A TRUTH WRAPPED IN A LIE.


Put your detective hat on. You will not be able to put this one down! It is told in first person by Alana, an unreliable narrator. You will be sifting to find the truth among the lies and plenty of MIND GAMES. Who is the monster and the murderer? Is Alana a pawn in a sociopath's mind game? Will Alana lose it all?


I enjoyed Wolfe's previous book, The Surgeon and was delighted to receive a digital advanced reading copy of IF I GO MISSING. For fans of Jeneva Rose and Robyn Harding. Ideal for those who enjoy reading and watching true crime books, podcasts, and true crime junkies.


This reminds me of years ago when I was a bank manager, and we had to put in secret files our daily routines and information if the bank was robbed or there was a hostage situation. My son is now a bank manager, and the same thing holds true, my other son works for judges, so there is always a possible threat.


IF I GO MISSING is fast-paced, twisty, and well-plotted. It will keep you turning the pages into the wee hours of the morning. From lies, deceit, and secrets to uncover. Flip through the pages to find the answers. Yes, it does have the Gillian Flynn & Freida McFadden creepy vibe.


Thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for sharing this fantastic digital reviewer copy with me in exchange for my honest thoughts.


I am looking forward to listening to the audiobook narrated by Stacey Glemboski.


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 4.5 Stars (rounded to 5)

Pub Date: Jan 2, 2024











About the Author


Leslie Wolfe is a bestselling author whose novels break the mold of traditional thrillers. She creates unforgettable, brilliant, strong women heroes who deliver fast-paced, satisfying suspense, backed up by extensive background research in technology and psychology.


Leslie released the first novel, Executive, in October 2011. Since then, she has written many more, continuing to break down barriers of traditional thrillers. Her style of fast-paced suspense, backed up by extensive background research in technology and psychology, has made Leslie one of the most read authors in the genre.


Reminiscent of the television drama Criminal Minds, her series of books featuring the fierce and relentless FBI Agent Tess Winnett would be of great interest to readers of James Patterson, Melinda Leigh, and David Baldacci crime thrillers. Fans of Kendra Elliot and Robert Dugoni suspenseful mysteries would love the Las Vegas Crime series, featuring the tension-filled relationship between Baxter and Holt. Finally, her Alex Hoffmann series of political and espionage action adventure will enthrall readers of Tom Clancy, Brad Thor, and Lee Child.


Leslie enjoys engaging with readers every day and would love to hear from you. Become an insider: gain early access to previews of Leslie’s new novels. WEBSITE

27 views

Comments


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page