library books key .jpg

#JDCMustReadBooks 

  • Judith D Collins

It All Comes Down to This


By: Therese Anne Fowler

ISBN: 978-1250278074

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Publication Date: 06/07/2022

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: TBR


A warm, keenly perceptive novel of sisterhood, heartbreak, home, and what it takes to remake a life at its halfway point, for fans of Ann Patchett and Emma Straub.


Meet the Geller sisters: Beck, Claire, and Sophie, a trio of strong-minded women whose pragmatic, widowed mother, Marti, will be dying soon and taking her secrets with her. Marti has ensured that her modest estate is easy for her family to deal with once she’s gone––including a provision that the family’s summer cottage on Mount Desert Island, Maine, must be sold, the proceeds split equally between the three girls.


Beck, the eldest, is a freelance journalist whose marriage looks more like a sibling bond than a passionate partnership. In fact, her husband Paul is hiding a troubling truth about his love life. For Beck, the Maine cottage has been essential to her secret wish to write a novel––and to remake the terms of her relationship.


Despite her accomplishments as a pediatric cardiologist, Claire, the middle daughter, has always felt like the Geller misfit. Recently divorced, Claire’s secret unrequited love for the wrong man is slowly destroying her, and she’s finding that her expertise on matters of the heart unfortunately doesn’t extend to her own.


Youngest daughter Sophie appears to live an Instagram-ready life, filled with glamorous work and travel, celebrities, fashion, art, and sex. In reality, her existence is a cash-strapped house of cards that may crash at any moment.


Enter C.J. Reynolds, an enigmatic southerner ex-con with his own hidden past, who complicates the situation. All is not what it seems, and everything is about to change.


Buy the Book





Goodreads Book Giveaway Contest Nov 08 - Nov 22, 2021

ARC (1 of 100 copies) Print Copies. US Only

ENTER HERE


#ItAllComesDownToThis






Praise


"A smart and lively novel, one that had me turning its pages faster and faster, wondering if this indelible family could really untangle the deep lies that reveal an even deeper truth."

––Jess Walter, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Ruins


"It All Comes Down to This answered a need I didn’t even know I had―to read a big-hearted novel about middle-aged women reckoning with their own heavy secrets, and each other. This novel is entertaining, in the best sense of the word, and a true page-turner."

––Ann Napolitano, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Edward


"Fowler writes like a contemporary Edith Wharton, peeling back layers of class and custom to reveal the mysteries of love, longing, and fate. It All Comes Down to This is a stunning tale of people struggling to wring the most from their lives while facing the uncertainty of what their lives should be."

––Wiley Cash, New York Times bestselling author of When Ghosts Come Home


"A compulsively readable, thoroughly enjoyable tale of three sisters, their histories, their problems, and their unraveling secrets. Contemporary, but with a delightfully Austenish tone, I read it in a single gulp."

––Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves


“Fowler sure is fond of setting off big surprise-bombs in her novels―revelations that would have most families looking for a rug to sweep everything under. But you haven’t met the Geller sisters. Three women whose chosen way to deal with sibling betrayals, sub-optimal husbands, artistic and financial failure, perverse directives from their mother’s will, and last-gasp chances for love is to plow right through the middle, the hard way. What it comes down to is this: Fowler’s insight into the way we re-open ourselves for love, time and again, speaks stirringly to the heart."

––Wilton Barnhardt, New York Times bestselling author of Lookaway, Lookaway





About the Author

Photo Credit: John Kessel


Therese Anne Fowler (pronounced ta-reece) is a New York Times and USA Today best selling author whose novels present intriguing people in difficult situations, many of those situations deriving from the pressures and expectations of their cultures as well as from their families.


Her books are available in every format and in multiple languages, and are sold around the world. Z has been adapted for television by Amazon Studios.


Therese earned a BA in sociology and cultural anthropology and an MFA in creative writing, both from North Carolina State University. She has been a visiting professor and occasionally teaches fiction writing at conferences and workshops. A member of Phi Beta Kappa and PEN America, she is married to award-winning professor and author John Kessel. They reside in North Carolina. WEBSITE



7 views

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS