top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Books. Audiobooks. coffee..png
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

Keep You Safe

Narrator: Sarah Durham

ISBN: 9781835255384

Publisher: Bookouture Audio

Publication Date: 01/10/2024

Format: Audio

My Rating: 4 Stars (ALC)


I have to get my little boy back…


I’ll never forget the feeling of holding him in my arms. The softness of his skin. The sweetness of his smile.


But my husband took our son away. He said it was for the best. He said he’d keep him safe. And he was always a good father... even if he failed me when I needed him most.


I know I should trust him to protect our little boy... so why can’t I?


A totally gripping psychological thriller about the power of a mother’s love, and the lengths she will go to to protect her child – perfect for fans of Big Little Lies, The Girl on the Train and C.L. Taylor.









My Review


Rona Halsall returns following The Bigamist with her latest psychological thriller, KEEP YOU SAFE. When a woman is gaslighted and set up, everything is taken from her, including her most precious son.


How will this mother who has lost it all get her life back in this gripping domestic suspense when everything seems to be working against her?


Natalie was married to a successful businessman, Tom, and she worked for him. They had a son, Harry. After the birth, she was not herself and wanted to stay home longer with the baby, but Tom rushed her into going back to work.


Then, the day all came crumbling down. Her life is in pieces. She is accused of embezzlement and put in prison. Her husband did nothing to support her. She is on her own. She did nothing. Someone has set her up, but how will she have the resources to prove her innocence?


Her husband has stopped all contact and money. She is unable to see her son. And on top of that, if it could not get any worse, she is hooked on OxyContin. Even though she never took drugs— Tom had made her smoothies, so did he intentionally drug her? Why?


Mind-bending, how could this be happening? What motive did Tom have for setting her up, or was it someone else? He did have a gambling problem, though.


Natalie has a best friend, Sasha, an actress, but she is doing little to help support her cause. Can she count on her?


In prison, she meets some colorful characters, some helpful and some not. Her goal is to get out of prison, find her son, and be reunited with him, but it appears Tom has taken him. She thinks Tom is dangerous and must find her son before he takes him out of the country. How will she find the resources to get her life back?


Trust no one!


KEEP YOU SAFE is a cautionary tale of how the smartest women can get pulled into a web of lies, deceit, and gaslighting by a powerful man due to greed and money— when no one is as they appear. Note: Never work for your husband. It is a haunting story of a mother's strong love for her son. You will sympathize and root for her to the end.


I enjoyed the ending and how everything wrapped up!


I listened to the audiobook narrated by the super Sarah Durham, which I enjoyed, making the characters come alive with her performance.


For fans of K.L. Slater, Miranda Rijks, and Emily Shiner.


Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for a gifted ALC in exchange for an honest review.


Note: the original title GUILTY LITTLE SECRETS


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 4 Stars

Pub Date: Jan 10, 2024










About the Author



Rona is the author of Best Selling psychological thrillers published by Bookouture. Her books have hit the top 100 in the UK, USA, Australia, and Canada.

Her challenge is to find domestic storylines with twists that her readers will never guess.

Born in Nottingham, she grew up near Blackpool and went to college in Leeds. A decade later, she moved to Snowdonia, North Wales where she brought up her family while working as a business mentor. She now lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and two guinea pigs.



Rona is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she’s plotting her next book. She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

You can find out more about Rona Halsall on:




7 views
bottom of page