top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book home window .jpg
  • Judith D Collins

Letters To A Stranger


By: Sarah Mitchell ISBN: 9781803149530

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 03/09/2023

Format: e-book

My Rating: TBR (ARC)


Dearest E. I thought of you today, like I do every day. I hope you are safe. I’m scared that you are not. And that it’s all my fault. But know this forever – I love you. R. x


It is summer 1939 and, even in rural Norfolk, no one can ignore the fact that the world is on the brink of war. But seventeen-year-old Ruby is trying her best to. She’s young, she’s beautiful, and she’s in love – with her childhood sweetheart Edmondo. She wants to close her eyes to her parents’ fear, her brother’s determination to sign up, and the sudden mistrust from the people in her village towards Edmondo’s Italian family…


But then everything changes. And Ruby makes a decision that will mean she has to keep a secret from everyone she knows, maybe forever…


Until, eighty years later in spring 2020, she finds herself, as an elderly woman, taking part in a letter-writing scheme. It’s simply meant to stave off boredom, but when she begins corresponding with a total stranger – a young single mother named Cassie – an unexpected and beautiful friendship develops. And Ruby realises she has a chance to share that secret – before it dies with her.


But Ruby and Cassie’s lives are connected in ways they could never have imagined. And, as letters fly between them, truths will be revealed. Truths with the power to either destroy their new friendship, or give both women the chance to change their lives forever…


This totally gripping and irresistible story of wartime love and heartbreak will capture the imagination of readers who love Lorna Cook, Fiona Valpy and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.


Buy the Book






Sarah Mitchell Books





About the Author



Sarah grew up in Norfolk and studied law at Cambridge University which led to a career as a barrister, working mainly in the field of human rights. After nearly twenty years she was tempted off-track by a creative writing course at the Open University and fell in love with making up stories instead of constructing arguments. Three years later she completed, with distinction, an MA in Creative Writing – Prose Fiction at the UEA.


Now she lives in Norfolk again, this time with her husband and three almost-grown-up children, where she combines writing with some legal work – and thanking her enormous number of lucky stars. READ MORE


9 views
bottom of page