top of page
Top of Blog
coffee book glasses SMALL .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

My Husband's Lies


Narrator: Gabrielle Nellis-Pain

ISBN: 9781837908509

Publisher: Bookouture Audio

Publication Date: 11/20/2023

Format: Audiobook

My Rating: 3 Stars (ARC)



The police are coming, they’re going to arrest me.’ My blood runs cold at his words. My husband is accused of murder. He swears he is innocent – so why won’t he tell me where he really was that night?


I feel so lucky to have my handsome husband Mark and our blue-eyed little boy. Everyone says we’re the perfect family. I used to believe them.


But everything changes when Mark comes home from a work trip with dark circles under his eyes. That night I jump at a hammering at the door. The police want to question him about the murder of a beautiful, blonde young woman. Mark swears he had nothing to do with it, that she was a colleague, nothing more.


Mark is a respected airline pilot, and the model husband and father. It seems impossible that he would be involved in something like this. But he won’t say a word about where he really was. I believe that he’s not a killer – but I know he’s hiding something. It wouldn’t be the first time.


Then my husband is attacked. I sit by his hospital bed praying for him to wake up, tears streaming down my face. The police say it’s an accident. But what if someone has done this to him?


I go rigid with fear when I see someone hidden in the garden, watching the house. Are they coming to hurt us too? I’ll do anything to protect my precious little boy – and I have to start by uncovering my husband’s lies...


An unbelievably tense and twisty psychological thriller that will leave you breathless for more! Perfect for fans of Kathryn Croft, T.M. Logan and Ruth Heald.








My Review


Liz Lawler returns with her latest domestic suspense, MY HUSBAND'S LIES—a marriage is tested when a husband keeps a secret, but why? Who is he protecting, and why? Is someone setting him up for murder? It's a dangerous game of cat and mouse.


Mark is a respected airline pilot— and a perfect husband and father. Kate is a doctor, and they have a young son, Jacob.


A young blonde woman is murdered.


Mark is suspected of murder? Kate cannot believe this. What is Mark hiding? Why won't Mark tell the truth about where he was that night if he is innocent?


Robert steps in to help Kate care for her son with his friend Olivia. Then strange things are happening with Jacob. Can she trust them? What is their agenda?


Then Mark is attacked, and now Kate is sitting by his hospital bed. Was it an accident, or is someone trying to frame him for murder and now trying to kill him? Is he a murderer?


From lies and deception, MY HUSBAND'S LIES had a great setup; however, I felt it was too drawn out and repetitive, with Kate going over and over about why and trying to figure out what was happening.


I appreciated the author's inspiration for the story, and the narrator, Gabrielle Nellis-Pain, did a great job; however, the story lacked something and fell a little flat for me. It was alright; however, I was impatient with the story and how it was drawn out. Kate's character was highly irritating.


Thanks to Bookouture Audio for an advanced listening review copy.



@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

Pub Date: Nov 20, 2023

My Rating: 3 Stars






About the Author



Liz Lawler grew up sharing pants, socks, occasionally a toothbrush, sleeping four to a bed. Born in Chatham and partly raised in Dublin, she is one of fourteen children. She spent over twenty years as a nurse and has since fitted in working as a flight attendant, a general manager of a five star hotel, and is now working with trains. She became an author in 2017 when her debut novel Don’t Wake Up was published by Twenty7. READ MORE




5 views

Comments


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page