top of page
Top of Blog
wine patio book .jpg
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

My Perfect Marriage

Narrator: Rakkit Studios Ltd

Hachette UK - Bookouture

ISBN: 9781835257302

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 04/08/2024

Format: Audio

My Rating: 4 Stars (ALC)



My husband is accused of killing my best friend. Can I trust anything he says?


It feels like all the air has been knocked out of me. My best friend is dead, killed at her own daughter’s birthday party. All I want to do is run into my husband’s loving arms. But he’s in handcuffs, covered in her blood. His voice quivers, almost sobbing as officers put him in the police car. ‘You don’t think I did this, do you? I was trying to save her.’


At first, I’m sure he couldn’t have done it. The man I love wouldn’t hurt anyone. But as I try to prove that he didn’t murder Lucy, secrets begin unravelling…


It starts with the messages between the two of them. Initially, they seem innocent enough. But the more I look, the more I become convinced they were having an affair. Then I find out about his divorce lawyer…


Suddenly my whole life feels like a lie. If he was hiding his plan to leave me for Lucy, can I believe his protests that he is innocent? And if he really did murder his lover, what else is he capable of?


An unputdownable thriller that will keep you up all night! This gripping read is perfect for fans of The Housemaid, The Perfect Marriage and Shari Lapena.










My Review


A.J. Campbell's latest novel, MY PERFECT MARRIAGE begins with a car crash, and then a child's birthday party turns deadly in this twisty whodunit domestic thriller.


Do you ever honestly know anyone? What happens behind closed doors?


Ashley, Danny, and their son Elliot have a perfect life and marriage and own a successful marketing business. They met in university and have been married for many years.


The family is attending Grace's birthday party. Lucy is the mother, and Elliott and Grace are best friends.


Ashley is in the bouncy house with her son when she hears the commotion coming from the garage. when Lee, Lucy's husband, screams. Lucy's body is covered in blood and Danny is holding a hammer.


Danny is the logical suspect, even though he says he was trying to save her. Do the police believe him, and most importantly, does Ashley?


Lucy was Danny's best friend. What is going on? Does Ashley know her husband, and is he capable of murder? What is the motive?


Thus begins Ashley's investigation into her husband. Can she trust him? Is there something going on between him and Lucy? Maybe their marriage is not so perfect.


MY PERFECT MARRIAGE is my first book by the author, and I enjoyed the audiobook. Dark secrets of a marriage emerge and unravel in this mystery suspense thriller of love and betrayal.


The author does a great job of keeping the reader guessing about the murderer's identity and motive and how they relate to the crash at the beginning of the novel in this popcorn thriller.


Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy for an honest opinion.


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

Pub Date: April 8, 2024








About the Author




AJ CAMPBELL is an Amazon bestselling author of six psychological suspense novels and promises stories full of twists, turns and torment. Her fourth book The Phone Call was released in July 2022, and it topped the Amazon charts for several months. It was shortlisted for the Adult Prize for Fiction at the Selfie Book Awards 2023. She released her fifth novel The Wrong Key in January 2023.


AJ draws inspiration for her stories from seemingly unbelievable situations in which ordinary people find themselves. She creates compelling characters that resonate with her readers. AJ lives in the UK on the Essex / Hertfordshire border with her husband, sons, and cocker spaniel, Max. She is a dog lover, Netflix junkie, and a wine and Asian food enthusiast. And, either reading, watching TV, or writing, AJ enjoys nothing more than getting stuck into a twisty story!


Thank you for visiting my Amazon author page. Click the 'follow' button to hear about my new releases. I love to chat with my readers, so please connect with me via the links below:


INSTAGRAM: ajcampbellauthor

FACEBOOK: ajcampbellauthor




45 views

Comments


JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

bottom of page