top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Books. Audiobooks. coffee..png
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

One of Our Own

An Audio Original Thriller

Narrators: A.J. Cook & Tessa Albertson

ISBN: 9781797160900

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Publication Date: 03/12/2024

Format: Audio

My Rating: 5 Stars (ALC)


A suicide prevention hotline volunteer answers a call that may implicate her own son in a serious crime, in this edge-of-your-seat audio original thriller by the bestselling author of The Perfect Child and The Best of Friends, performed by A.J. Cook (Criminal Minds) and Tessa Albertson (Younger).


Felicia, a single mother and lawyer by day, volunteers at a local crisis center to give back to her tightknit community in a small Wisconsin town. One night, a phone call turns her life upside down: through tears, a frantic teenage girl tells her that she was a victim of sexual assault at a local house party.


Felicia is shocked, and breaking protocol, she begins communicating with the girl on her own, determined to keep her safe and hold her assailants accountable. But she can’t shake the potential connections being drawn to her son, Hunter, who she knows attended the same party. Felicia and her only child, Hunter—a straight-A student and star athlete—are incredibly close. He couldn’t possibly be involved in such a violent crime.


As Felicia earns the girl’s trust and more details emerge about the incident, she faces a gut-wrenching battle between the maternal instincts to protect her child and the moral responsibility to do what’s right. This taut thriller is the perfect listen for fans of The Push, Wrong Place Wrong Time, and We Need to Talk About Kevin.


Buy the Book REVIEW COMING




BELOVED #BOOKTOK AUTHOR: Lucinda Berry is the author of ten popular thrillers and has built a loyal fan base of readers and listeners with the help of #BookTok – there are over 15 MILLION views on #LucindaBerry. She can discuss how she uses TikTok and Instagram to market her books and connect with her readers/listeners.


A GRIPPING LISTEN MADE FOR THE AUDIO FORMAT: ONE OF OUR OWN takes the listening experience to the next level with a combination of first-person prose and phone calls between the protagonist and the desperate young woman she's determined to protect. Lucinda can discuss what it’s like to write for the ear instead of the eye, as well as the challenges and advantages of writing for the audio format.


PSYCHOLOGIST TURNED NOVELIST: Lucinda Berry is pen name for Dr. Heather Harrison, a former child psychologist and researcher. She brings compelling themes like nature vs. nurture, maternal instincts, and family trauma to her work with a deep understanding of how they really impact people's lives. She can talk about how her background influences her storytelling and in particular how it informed the character development in ONE OF OUR OWN.





Praise


"Wrenching, psychologically complex and utterly compelling. I could not stop listening to One of Our Own - and now I can't stop thinking about it. Lucinda Berry's novella is the perfect binge listen."

– Sarah Pekkanen, co-author of #1 New York Times bestselling The Wife Between Us and author of Gone Tonight


“One of Our Own is fast-paced, gripping, and written with heart. It hooked me from the first chapter and didn’t let me hit pause until the edge-of-your-seat ending.”

– Clémence Michallon, internationally bestselling author of The Quiet Tenant


"A dark and chilling look behind the scenes of a suicide prevention hotline and a single mother whose best intentions lead her down a dangerous path. Hypnotic and haunting, with a powerhouse performance and a cast of twisted characters Berry’s fans will adore, One of Our Own is a live-wire of a thriller — and every parent’s worst nightmare. 100% bingeworthy."

– Kimberly Belle, internationally bestselling author of The Paris Widow


"One of Our Own is a sharply written thriller about the lengths one mother will go to seek justice for a troubled teenager she's never met. The tension crackles from the first chilling scene and doesn’t let up as it hurtles toward the shocking conclusion."

– Margot Hunt, author of The Guests and Lovely Girls


"With real emotion and propulsive pacing, One of Our Own explores the painful aftershocks of trauma, challenging the listener to confront the unsettling possibility of what it would be like to suspect someone you love of doing the unthinkable. From its gut-wrenching opening scene to its unnerving end, this is an urgent, breathless listen that I found near impossible to pause."

– Alex Kiester, author of In Her Skin and The Truth About Ben and June





About the Author



Dr. Lucinda Berry is a former clinical psychologist and leading researcher in childhood trauma. Now, she spends her days writing full time where she uses her clinical experience to blur the line between fiction and nonfiction. She enjoys taking her readers on a journey through the dark recesses of the human psyche. Her work has been optioned for film and translated into multiple languages. If Berry isn’t chasing after her son, you can find her running through Los Angeles, prepping for her next marathon.


To hear about her upcoming releases and other author news, visit her on social media or sign up for her newsletter at LucindaBerry.com






8 views
bottom of page