JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

coffee book glasses SMALL .jpg
transparent dark letter must read books .png
  • Judith D Collins

Take My Husband


By: Ellen Meister

ISBN: 978-0778309871

Publisher: MIRA

Publication Date: 08/30/2022

Format: Other

My Rating: 5 Stars


AUG 2022 MUST-READ BOOKS LIST


"A page-turner with heart—and much needed laughs.” - Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You


Only one thing stands in the way of Laurel Applebaum's happiness…Doug Applebaum.


In this darkly comic novel about a wife whose rope is so frayed it's about to snap, Laurel gets a call that her husband has been in an accident. She imagines the worst. But as she is on the way to the ER, another emotion seizes her. Relief. Doug's death could solve all her problems. No more catering to his incessant demands. Then there's the insurance money. Laurel's dreams seem so close. There's just one problem: Doug is very much alive. Now Laurel has to decide if she is going to do something about it.


Subversive, irreverent and surprisingly poignant, Take My Husband probes the deep corners of a marriage and emerges to find the light. For anyone who's spent a little too much time with a significant other and thought, One of us has got to go.


Buy the Book


#Humor #Satire #HumorousDarkComedy #LaterinLifeRomance #SatireFiction #DomesticSuspense #Comic #Marriage #JDCMustReadBooks #TakeMyHusband #EllenMeister



Praise


“A sharp, laugh-out-loud novel about a doting wife who has finally had enough. Deeply funny and horribly familiar, TAKE MY HUSBAND is not to be missed! Ellen Meister is a modern day Dorothy Parker, a real treasure!”

—Beth Harbison, New York Times Bestselling author of Confessions of the Other Sister


“Take one tantalizing premise (could the death of her husband be a wife’s ticket out? And would or could she ever really do anything to speed that up?) along with Meister’s smartly sparkling writing, and you’ve got a page-turner with heart—and much needed laughs.”

—Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You


"Laugh-out-loud funny and deadly seriously, dark and light, it’s got wild cliffhangers, twisty twists and an unexpected but highly satisfying ending. Do yourself a favor; READ THIS BOOK!"

— David Henry Sterry, bestselling author of Master of Ceremonies: A True Story of Love, Murder, Roller Skates and Chippendales


"You know it’s going to be fun as soon as you hear the title! Take My Husband is the perfect novel for anyone who’s ever been annoyed by the sound of their husband chewing. Laurel, the hero, is the proverbial frog in a pot of water who doesn’t realize it’s boiling until too late. She's the leading lady we need today: a woman over fifty who attracts all kinds of suitors. A trip to Trader Joe's will never be the same."

— Leslie Lehr, bestselling author of A Boob's Life




#TakeMyHusband




My Review


On the look-out for something a bit different? Want to read a light-hearted mystery with a lot of laughs? This is the book!


I adore Ellen Meister's books (her Dorothy Parker and others), I have read and was excited about her (eighth novel) and latest romp/satire, from a skilled comic writer. TAKE MY HUSBAND—exploring the deep secret desires of a wife in a lonely marriage with a twist.


As always, a laugh-out-loud darky comic take on a modern suburban marriage. With wit and charm, wickedly delicious —Meister delivers another highly entertaining summer read.


Laurel (age 52) and Doug Applebaum have been married for thirty years. Doug is lazy and sits home all day (after a dead business from two years earlier) while she works her butt off at Trader Joe's all day. He expects her do everything when she is home. She is at her wit's end. Often she wishes she were single. How differently life would be.


What it would be like to be single again and no dead weight. Maybe a little late life romance? Plus she has other men that find her attractive.


When Laurel receives the call her husband has been in an accident, she thinks this may be a blessing in disguise. She dreams about a cute little apartment, a dog, and she could be there for the birth of her first grandchild. This could solve all her problems and the insurance money.


But, darn, he does not die.


Now she will have to figure out a way to eliminate him. Joining Laurel is a cast of funny side kicks to take her to places she never thought she would go.


However, all of her attempts have the opposite effect. Instead of driving them apart and killing Doug, it brings them closer together.



Deliciously witty and wholeheartedly authentic, the novel depicts marriage's frustrations and triumphs in all its messiness, hilarity, and heartfelt moments with a satisfying conclusion.



I guess this story will hit home for all the marriage partners stuck together during COVID. Even though I have been happily single for 30 years and live alone (heavenly), I was married twice and can relate.


Funny, smart, twisty and surprising. What a fun adventure! I loved it- a nice little escape and highly entertaining! OMG! The doll collecting agoraphobic mother.


The author spins a suspenseful, twisted, hilarious tale that is well plotted, with multiple supporting colorful characters both flawed and believable.


Readers will be swept up in this comic wacky heroine's attempts to make it through her mishap-filled life.


I absolutely love twisty stories with dark humor! A mix of crime, humor, and domestic suspense. No one does it better. For fans of Elle Cosimano's Finlay Donovan, Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Weiner, and Sally Hepworth.


@JudithDCollins | #JDCMustReadBooks

My Rating: 5 Stars ✨✨✨✨✨

Pub Date: 08/30/2022

AUG 2022 MUST-READ BOOKS





About the Author


Forthcoming from HarperCollins, Ellen Meister's newest novel, TAKE MY HUSBAND, is a darkly comic take on a modern suburban marriage. It follows her other critically acclaimed books, including THE ROOFTOP PARTY, which was called "wickedly entertaining" by BookReporter and was selected by Long Island Woman Magazine as Summer Pick of the year, as well as LOVE SOLD SEPARATELY (Mira 2020), DOROTHY PARKER DRANK HERE (Putnam 2015), FAREWELL, DOROTHY PARKER (Putnam 2013), THE OTHER LIFE (Putnam 2011), THE SMART ONE (HarperCollins 2008) and SECRET CONFESSIONS OF THE APPLEWOOD PTA (HarperCollins 2006). She is also the author of SPARKS: 500 Writing Prompts to Ignite Your Imagination. In addition to being a novelist, Ellen is an editor, screenwriter, book coach, creative writing instructor, and ghostwriter. For more information visit ellenmeister.com.


28 views