top of page
Top of Blog

JDC

MUST

READ

BOOKS

Books. Audiobooks. coffee..png
  • Writer's pictureJudith D Collins

The Bordeaux Book Club

ISBN: 9781805499503

Publisher: Boldwood Books

Publication Date: 03/15/2024

Format: e-book

My Rating: TBR (ARC)


Love books? The Bordeaux Book Club is seeking new members!


When Leah and her husband moved to France, it was with the dream of becoming self-sufficient. But in truth, it’s not the ‘good life’ she’d imagined, as three hours of digging barely yields a single straggly carrot.


Worse, her teenage daughter is acting up, and her husband seems to find every strange excuse under the hot French sun to disappear.


So when her friend entreats her to join the new bookclub she’s forming, Leah decides it’s something she will do for herself. The chance to make new friends, to drink a few glasses of wine, and to escape into stories that take her miles away from the life she’d thought would be her own happy-ever-after.


But the book club is a strange group of misfits. There’s prickly Grace, who lives alone and seems to know everybody and like no-one. Buttoned-up Monica, who says her husband is away and appears to be parenting her baby all alone. Handsome builder George, who has barely read a book before. And Alfie – who is a full two decades younger than everyone else, and is hiding a devastating secret…


As the stories they read begin to bring the new friends closer together, Leah is about to discover that happy-ever-afters don’t always look how you expect them to…


A gorgeously escapist read from the bestselling author of A Year at the French Farmhouse, perfect for fans of Veronica Henry, Jo Thomas and Fiona Valpy.







About the Author



FROM THE AUTHOR:

Welcome to my website! I'm an author and freelance writer living in France.

I write regularly for many national titles in the UK and US, including Woman's Weekly, Take a Break Fiction Feast, Woman and Home Feel Good You and newspapers including Guardian and Independent.

My monthly column 'Under the Covers' is featured in the bestselling 'Writing Magazine' and I have also written columns for Living France and Prima Baby. WEBSITE


2 views
bottom of page